Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€80 for Croke Park 6 nations tickets?!!

• 14-07-2006 9:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Was just on the news, corporate box tickets €850 ex tax & stand tickets starting at €80 :eek:

To be fair it was 2FM news and they can't really be trusted to know much about anything, but has anyone heard any more about it? The IRFU website won't open for me for some reason :(

I'd be highly feckin discusted if those prices were true

*spits on ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

30 euro for The Hill is grand.

They are grand prices for a stadium with good facilities.

Tickets average less than for Lansdowne at the minute. Athough they will obviously get higher attendences they have to pay rent.

http://www.irishrugby.ie/htmlpage/62442.html
    Tickets for Six Nations matches in Croke Park will be distributed through the rugby clubs of Ireland; the Visiting Union will also receive an allocation for their own game which they will distribute through their own clubs. Tickets for the Irish away games will be distributed by the IRFU to the provincial branches who will distribute them through the rugby clubs. You must be a member of a rugby club in order to purchase tickets from them.

Ireland v France - 11th February, 2007 Kick off 15.00hrs

and

Ireland v England - 24th February, 2007 Kick off 17.30hrs

Premium - €110;
    Stand - €80;
    Terrace - €30;
    Schoolboy/girls - €10

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Get used to paying those prices for a decent stadium with decent facilities. I have paid that for tickets for many gaa matches at headquarters and have no problem paying it.
    If the rugby and soccer fans dont like it then how about they build their own stadium?????

Get used to paying those prices for a decent stadium with decent facilities. I have paid that for tickets for many gaa matches at headquarters and have no problem paying it.
    If the rugby and soccer fans dont like it then how about they build their own stadium?????

Can of worms...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Better believe it!
    And it is not the GAA who set those prices...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭spanner_head

any idea how they will distribute these tickets?
    is it worth my while joining the suporters club?

Have to be a member of a rugby club or know someone who can get hold of tickets! you know the people I am talking about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

It's always seems to be the case of you need to know someone :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Who cares what the corpo-knobs pay?? it's not as if they'll actually watch the match anyway...too busy scarfing prawn sambos and fellating the great corporate satan.... The other prices are in line with major stadiums in Europe and totally justifiable...(incidentally I'm not noted for my love of the IRFU and their policies, but in this case its a storm in a tea cup)....

spanner_head,For tickets against the French, a good bet can sometimes be to buy 'em off the FFR web site...they're far more egalitarian in their approach to ticket distribution largely because it's not their only cash-cow....

Failing that get involved with your local rugby club at any level, you dont have to be a member...its all about contacts on the ground..and if you do go the membership route, fees for most Irish clubs are a pittance...well worth it come match day...

Generally except for matches where the leprechauns come out in force (i.e Munster Heino cup, later stages and Ireland/England internationals) you should be able to get a ticket with a little bit of endeavour.....Ok the novelty value of a croker rugby fixture will have a lot of non-rugby types queueing, but I really cant see too much of a problem if you get the head down and work at it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

any idea how they will distribute these tickets?

What is it with people not reading the posts above them?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=51722968&postcount=2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

daveirl wrote:

?????

Am I a member of a rugby club? Nope!

daveirl wrote:

Where did I hear that before :confused: oh I know join the FAI waiting list ill be lucky if I will get on it before im 50.

http://supportersclub.irishrugby.ie/login.jsp could ya get tickets that way? Or is it just a club like Buccanners (spelt wrong) that get the tickets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

All clubs with affiliation to their Branch get tickets, but not all clubs give their members the tickets. Some sell them at a premium to raise funds.

The number of tickets each club gets varies, afaIk.

The supporters' club is another avenue for getting tickets. It's lottery based but I don't know how many tickets are actually available to the club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Joining a club needn't be a chore!!! Join one that gives back to your local area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭An Tarbh

I wonder will the IRFU have the same gall as the GAA in charging the same price for a uncovered seat as they do for a covered one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Better believe it!
    And it is not the GAA who set those prices...

By charging 1.5 million per game i would say they did set those prices.

Fair play to the IRFU for charging neraly a grand for the boxes, kudos. Fill em all and you make 1.5 million BEFORE the 80 quid tickets and others are sold.

Well done tbh, rugger and soccer fans are going to see how stadiums should be made.

kdjac

?????

Am I a member of a rugby club? Nope!

Well tbh if your a fan you should be.... I get tickets for all Ireland soccer games by being a season ticket holder with St Pats, makes perfect sense that they should get tickets 1st.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭hargo

Surely a new stadium today should be completely covered?

hargo wrote:
    Surely a new stadium today should be completely covered?

When finished yes Croker is not finished.

kdjac

KdjaC wrote:
    Well tbh if your a fan you should be.... I get tickets for all Ireland soccer games by being a season ticket holder with St Pats, makes perfect sense that they should get tickets 1st.
    kdjac

Yes of course I just believe that some should go on sale rather doing deals with companys such as http://www.cslhospitality.ie/soccer/GermanyvROIOfficialTrip.htm look at the price it is VIP though but its crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

the ticket distribution is a sham. My bro played AIL 1 for 1 year, Ail2 for 2 and J1s for the previous few also. He plaed with 2 clubs during that period. he was a top try scorer for his team when winning promotion to AIL 1.
    He never got his hands on tickets ever!! The blazers always got them and obviously a fair few were sold.
    I am a Leinster season ticket holder since they introduced them and the only way I can get tickets is through work and friends who know..ho know...etc etc..... I am very lucky to get to 95% of home games and I do show my support by going to ALL the "public issue" ticket matches also, such as USA and Romania etc games.......
    Tickets should be sold at the less attractive games also. for example Leinster did a great job in selling ERC Semi tickets at a Celtic League game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

toomevara wrote:
    Who cares what the corpo-knobs pay??

Actually we all should care, because it's ultimately coming out of your pocket and mine. All the PermoTSB hospitality came out of the fees I was payin those feckers for all the years. It's not like it's free money ...

hc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

hughchal wrote:
    Actually we all should care, because it's ultimately coming out of your pocket and mine. All the PermoTSB hospitality came out of the fees I was payin those feckers for all the years. It's not like it's free money ...

hc

Bloody hell, you've got me there...now how does that account switching business work again.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

the ticket distribution is a sham. My bro played AIL 1 for 1 year, Ail2 for 2 and J1s for the previous few also. He plaed with 2 clubs during that period. he was a top try scorer for his team when winning promotion to AIL 1.
    He never got his hands on tickets ever!! The blazers always got them and obviously a fair few were sold.
    I am a Leinster season ticket holder since they introduced them and the only way I can get tickets is through work and friends who know..ho know...etc etc..... I am very lucky to get to 95% of home games and I do show my support by going to ALL the "public issue" ticket matches also, such as USA and Romania etc games.......
    Tickets should be sold at the less attractive games also. for example Leinster did a great job in selling ERC Semi tickets at a Celtic League game.
    what club did he play for? name and shame, i only play u20 and had my choice of about 4 tickets for the munster-leinster heino final... some clubs just look after you better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭kermitdfrog

The ticket distribution is not a sham then, his club was. In my club the players all get tickets if they apply for them, and those who expressed an interest were looked after for the HEC semi final. The club could make good money by selling them on to corporate interests, but they dont. Out blazers get some (and why shouldnt they? Without them the club wouldn't exist), and the players get most. Fair enough I say,

I don't get the controversy over the prices - they aren't much of a step up from the Lansdowne Road prices, which have remanined stagnant for a few years now. 30euro for terrace instead of 25euro is a fair stepup I say. 80euro only sounds expensive if you havent bought International tickets in the last few years - weren't they 75euro anyway?

And to those complaining they can't get tickets, and "contacts" are needed - maybe if you joined a club and got involved rather than complaining, you could get them yourself. Unless you think that those club members who do get them, who are the lifeblood of the sport in the country, be they players or administrators or supporters, don't deserve tickets?