Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trip Report

• 13-07-2006 3:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭

So I arrived in Vegas 28 hours ago after a 28 hour journey, walked into the Rio, checked in and went straight down to the WSOP hall for a look around, exact same setup as last year, only person I saw that I knew was Leslie but he was busy playing a sattelite so I went back to my room winning $125 at blackjack on my way, managed to get 13 hours sleep and woke up still half asleep at 9 this morning.
    Had breakfast at the Rio Buffet which was 100 times better than the Gold Kips, checked out and after a lot of hassle I finally managed to check into the Flamingo - $7 taxi ride. The rooms arent bad but not a patch on the Rio, it is very central however - 2 minute walk to the Bellagio, Ballys and Caesars.
    Decided to go to the Bellagio and was just in time for the last sattelite to the $1000 FO at 2. 10 handed $240 Sat with 2 tickets - blinds were 10 minutes as it was the last one but they start at 9am and have a better structure then. My table was fairly tight with maybe 2 below average player and it quickly turned into a turbo tournament, I went out 7th after first doubling up with a 50 50 and then losing a 60 40 my AQs no good against KJ on an AQT board.
    Got into the 2/5 NL game in the Bellagio which is no longer capped at 200, theres now a $200 min 500max with a few regulars/locals but plenty of fish, after not playing a single hand for 3 rounds of the table I finally hit some cards and got my stack up to $800, a very drunk English player then joined playing very aggresively with a large range preflop from any position, got involved in a few pots with him till I hit an A high flop with AJ, I played it fairly cautiosly oop checkcalling the flop but when we both checked the turn I was sure I was ahead so bet the turn and called his allin - he had rivered a 7 holding A7, reloaded and minutes later after nearly no action for hours I flopped a set of 5s on a flop of AK5 after it had been raised preflop, I bet half the pot hoping the raiser would push. He flatcalled when the turn paired the kings I bet the pot -app120 leaving 80 behind, he thought about it for a while and after debating that I could have 55 he gave a crying call, the river was an ace, I checkfolded showing my hand he showed his AT, got my last 80 allin preflop with TT against drunkEnglishguys AJs - he had gotten his stack up to well over 2k in 20 minutes at the table. The Jack flopped and I left in frustration. I will definitely play the majority of my poker in the Bellagio.

So after 1 day in Vegas Im up $125 at blackjack but down $1040 at poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭Mr. Flibble

a good read. keep it coming. unlucky in the cash game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

bohsman wrote:

ul. I think I'm gona need a bigger banklroll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

NickyOD wrote:
    ul. I think I'm gona need a bigger banklroll.

good thing you have 10 days or so before you get there!

Ah yeah I'll just rustle up another 5K on Party before then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

NickyOD wrote:
    Ah yeah I'll just rustle up another 5K on Party before then. :)

Are you saying you could win 5 sngs in a row?

bohsman wrote:
    Are you saying you could win 5 sngs in a row?

Good lord no. What kind of fool would make such a ridiculous claim? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

The calm before the storm, thats all. Good to hear a report. Its easier to write a winning report so fair play for posting.

GL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Glad to hear the Rio's breakfast is a step up in class from the GK's :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

You been to watch any of the HORSE event yet. I believe it is full of all the top players.

Just wondering if Gus Hansen is playing many events at moment as aint seen his name mentioned at all this year at the WSOP. Thought the HORSE event would have been a definite game for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Keep plugging away Oscar it sounds like a little variance thats all. Keep the mind fresh though as Jessie May likes to say "It's a marathon not a sprint!"

GL :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

bohsman wrote:
    So I arrived in Vegas 28 hours ago after a 28 hour journey, walked into the Rio, checked in and went straight down to the WSOP hall for a look around, exact same setup as last year, only person I saw that I knew was Leslie but he was busy playing a sattelite so I went back to my room winning $125 at blackjack on my way, managed to get 13 hours sleep and woke up still half asleep at 9 this morning.
    Had breakfast at the Rio Buffet which was 100 times better than the Gold Kips, checked out and after a lot of hassle I finally managed to check into the Flamingo - $7 taxi ride. The rooms arent bad but not a patch on the Rio, it is very central however - 2 minute walk to the Bellagio, Ballys and Caesars.
    Decided to go to the Bellagio and was just in time for the last sattelite to the $1000 FO at 2. 10 handed $240 Sat with 2 tickets - blinds were 10 minutes as it was the last one but they start at 9am and have a better structure then. My table was fairly tight with maybe 2 below average player and it quickly turned into a turbo tournament, I went out 7th after first doubling up with a 50 50 and then losing a 60 40 my AQs no good against KJ on an AQT board.
    Got into the 2/5 NL game in the Bellagio which is no longer capped at 200, theres now a $200 min 500max with a few regulars/locals but plenty of fish, after not playing a single hand for 3 rounds of the table I finally hit some cards and got my stack up to $800, a very drunk English player then joined playing very aggresively with a large range preflop from any position, got involved in a few pots with him till I hit an A high flop with AJ, I played it fairly cautiosly oop checkcalling the flop but when we both checked the turn I was sure I was ahead so bet the turn and called his allin - he had rivered a 7 holding A7, reloaded and minutes later after nearly no action for hours I flopped a set of 5s on a flop of AK5 after it had been raised preflop, I bet half the pot hoping the raiser would push. He flatcalled when the turn paired the kings I bet the pot -app120 leaving 80 behind, he thought about it for a while and after debating that I could have 55 he gave a crying call, the river was an ace, I checkfolded showing my hand he showed his AT, got my last 80 allin preflop with TT against drunkEnglishguys AJs - he had gotten his stack up to well over 2k in 20 minutes at the table. The Jack flopped and I left in frustration. I will definitely play the majority of my poker in the Bellagio.

Find something salmon ASAP its the only thing known to men that can combat variance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

Iceman78 wrote:
    You been to watch any of the HORSE event yet. I believe it is full of all the top players.

Just wondering if Gus Hansen is playing many events at moment as aint seen his name mentioned at all this year at the WSOP. Thought the HORSE event would have been a definite game for him.

He only played the main event I think according to ESPN last year(rumours that he went broke). Id say he is playing all the side games.

BTW Oscar, nice report and keep em coming as often as possible...yer living the dream!!Enjoy and gl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

Nice report , looking forward to them on a daily basis.

Still 13 days to go anyone know how to invent a time machine I want be there now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭loosecannon

Nice to hear from someone who has finally got into vegas!

hope it's hot and sizzling as it was last year!!

very ul in the cash games and as nicky was saying I think that a bankroll extension of some kind is going to be needed!

can you let me know what you think of the Flamingo in general please mate? fairly sure i will be staying there and just wanted to be re-assured it's not a dump as i'll have the girlfriend and a few mates staying with me too! oh yeah and is the pool nice too?

cheers

The Flamingo is fine, rooms are nice enough and the pools look nice. There is also a safe in every room which is handy

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Bohsman, or anyone, I need to get a room for the 21st to the 24th july if anyone wants to share during that time?

What tournies are you going to play that have we a share of you in? (or is it all of them?).

DeV.

carrigeen wrote:
    Nice report , looking forward to them on a daily basis.

Still 13 days to go anyone know how to invent a time machine I want be there now :(

I hear ya!! I'm too excited.

BTW Has anyone here stayed at the Orleans? I seem to be the only one staying there and a little worried now that I don't have any first hand info on the rooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I just arranged to share with Dave Masters this afternoon from the 19th to the 22nd but if you cant find a spare bed then your more than welcome to bunk in.

DeVore wrote:
    Bohsman, or anyone, I need to get a room for the 21st to the 24th july if anyone wants to share during that time?

What tournies are you going to play that have we a share of you in? (or is it all of them?).

DeV.

Talk to Joe O Neill, cant remember what date he is coming in on but theres 3 of them to 2 rooms, otherwise Im sure there will be room made somewhere.

You've a share in all tournies I play, I was planning on playing either the 2k FO in the WSOP or the 1k in the Bellagio tommorrow but not feeling very well so will probably be a few days before I play one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

NickyOD wrote:
    I hear ya!! I'm too excited.

BTW Has anyone here stayed at the Orleans? I seem to be the only one staying there and a little worried now that I don't have any first hand info on the rooms.

Nicky,

I stayed there last year, the rooms are grand and big and the poker room is good only draw back was no safe in the room but they had safety deposits in the cashiers cage its all good

also very near the rio (10 minute walk) but so hot you'll still have to get a taxi:)

PS just looked at the new antes up - wsop version - very nice lads

Got up fairly early after playing a wild 3/6NL game online till the early hours making back most of the losses from yesterday, got up, relaxed for a while took a walk around the pools and animal enclosures before breakfast, had a look around Caesars new poker room after giving back all of my online winnings 3tabling 2/4NL - Im fighting a losing battle to qualify for a WSOP freeroll on pokershare for the top 50 fpp players.
    The Caesars pokerroom was ok very little cash game action but there seemed to be a decent crowd for the morning tournament. Ended up walking the 20 minutes odd to the Rio because there was a queue for taxis which turned out to be a mistake as I currently have a bad headache. Walked around the Rio for a while, huge crowd gawking at the HORSE players, didnt see anyone I know so left fairly quickly getting a taxi to the Bellagio and was in the 2/5 NL within minutes. Far tighter table today bar the odd pot where 7 people would call a 3or4bb raise preflop. Frustrating 5 hours in the game where I couldnt hit a draw, missed in a massive 3 way pot with a gutshot and flushdraw towards the end, I really wasnt feeling well and tilted away 100$ or so more before leaving - started with $500 left with $135 so down another $365.
    If Im not feeling better tommorow morning Ill try to take the day off from poker.

After 2 days Im down $1405 in live poker, down $81 online and still up $125 at blackjack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

is there anywhere to pay football or tennis?

kinaldo wrote:
    is there anywhere to pay football or tennis?

Tennis yes. Someone else mention ed football but I havent seen it anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

if you're not feeling well for poker u should take a trip to the Grand Canyon by helicopter listening to Ride of the Valkyries

carrigeen wrote:
    Nicky,

I stayed there last year, the rooms are grand and big and the poker room is good only draw back was no safe in the room but they had safety deposits in the cashiers cage its all good

also very near the rio (10 minute walk) but so hot you'll still have to get a taxi:)

PS just looked at the new antes up - wsop version - very nice lads

Cool, thanks pat. I know you recommended the place to me but I couldn't remember if you'd stayed there or not. I made sure I got a king room and I've seen the layout. Looks really sweet. :)

you and the galway crew are on my flight right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

bohsman wrote:
    After 2 days Im down $1405 in live poker, down $81 online and still up $125 at blackjack.
    fúcking hell. You know what you're winning and losing! Is this actually Oscar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

yo marq, sorry I can't fit an extra panama, it's just too much hassle to pack, you'll understand when you see the bag i'm bringing, it's what most people would take for a weekend, simply too small! plenty good hat stores in vegas!
    gotta dash to airport, i check into the rio tonight :)
    cya soon,
    nuts

Latest update now up in the antesup blog section, antesup have very kindly offered to pay my internet charges so will try and have a daily report up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Oscar, me and kp are here, in the Rio room 8024. Knackered tonight so just gonna have a kip, but will be up and in the room from 10am tomorrow for betfair's ridiculously good value sats, call up.

Daithio wrote:
    Oscar, me and kp are here, in the Rio room 8024. Knackered tonight so just gonna have a kip, but will be up and in the room from 10am tomorrow for betfair's ridiculously good value sats, call up.

Will do.