Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Karting

• 11-07-2006 9:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭

Hello,
    I'm in Dublin at the moment and I'm wondering if there are good Karting tracks around...

Also, would any members here like to meet up for race days/nights? Any skill level and any body welcome!

Just throwing the suggestion out there anyway...

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Emm, well there's karting tracks. No good ones though IMO. The best in Dublin would be kylemore in ballyfermot. It's "okay"

Puddin Hill is meant to be good, but ive never seen it.

Id be up for an event if there was enough interest. Last time I asked not many seemed to be ar$ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The Tynagh track is class it's a bit far for ye though. It's suppossedly the largest outdoor go cart track in Europe.

http://www.pallaskarting.com/

I've been there twice on GP days orginised by work the first time and just a group of freinds the secound time well worth €50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Scumlord would you be up for a race too?

It's usually the people you race with that make it good or not (rain can also add an extra edge!!!) rather than the track...

Ok, I have a friend that would be interested too so that is ~4...If we get a few more we can discuss track and date and everything!

🤪

If its going to be outside Dublin, then Kiltorcan (Kilkenny) or Watergrasshill (Cork) are the places to go.

Tynagh is boring in the karts they provide, its way too wide. You'll fall asleep :)

Not sure what the situation is in Athboy, good circuit and they may have hire karts.

[edit] HeHe, look, its a photo of Michael Devaney from a few years back http://www.pallaskarting.com/karts.html [/edit]

Tynagh looks pretty big from their maps anyway!

Let's try and get numbers anyway then we can see about day and track, etc...

🤪

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

I'd be well up for it.
    Athboy is good - but I'm form meath :D
    Als Kiltorcan is very good too - used to go there with the college Karting team from Waterford:cool:

So in theory that's 4-5...Shall we try to get 8+ and then start organising a track and date or go for that now...

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭TimG

Kylemore is prob'ly your best bet in dublin, the only other "proper" track is in santry, The track is muck and the lawnmowers they give you are totally crap. The karts are still slow in kylemore, but at least the track is tight enough not to need much power. You really have to keep you speed up going around the 1st corner, If ya dont, the kart will nearly stall going up the ramp! We really need something like club100 or proper karts like rotax in buckmore park here in Ireland to bridge the gap between corpo karts and proper racing.
    Tim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Scober11

If its a mid week evening in Kylemore count me in and maybe 1 more.

We really need something like club100 or proper karts like rotax in buckmore park here in Ireland to bridge the gap between corpo karts and proper racing.

The problem in my experience is that there are not enough competant karters to fill a grid. Most people at that level decide to go and compete. Shame really, I woudnt mind doing club100 at Watergrasshill. Doubt ill be seeing 30's like the old days though!

Right then oviously i won't clean my visor this week!

IIRC when the track in Athboy opened the guys had a few Max's. Not sure if it was just for us seasoned campaigners or for joe public's who showed the ability to no break themselves in half in one. That was a few years ago though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

How are we doing on this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭jamescrombie

i would be interested but i would be a novice

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I'd def be on for this, kinda the same, a novice as in I've never raced, but gone karting with work/mates etc about 40 times..

Would have been cheaper to buy and kart and race:D

So, yep, I'd be on for it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

If it's west of the Shannon, I'd consider it. Like Soupercomputer, I have some proper kart racing experience but that was 6 years and 3 stone ago. :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Might be an idea to make a day of this.. karting then beers.. anyone up for that?

ToxicPaddy wrote:
    Might be an idea to make a day of this.. karting then beers.. anyone up for that?

mmmm..... beeer

Ssshhhh not too loudly.. the rest will hear you!!!! :D

Somebody suggest a date and the rest of us will see if we can fit in.

Scober11 wrote:
    Somebody suggest a date and the rest of us will see if we can fit in.

Would a weekend day suit better or an evening mid week?

Depending on how many are going, I'd say a Saturday avo might be best..

how about the next Friday 13th :D

Any week day evening or weekend,there that narrows it down a bit:D

I can do it any weekday evening and should be able to get 1 or 2 more, prefer it to be in Kylemore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Lucky1.4ever

We really need something like club100 or proper karts like rotax in buckmore park here in Ireland to bridge the gap between corpo karts and proper racing.

Who's interested. We could make it happen and open up a new, cheap way for people to go racing in Ireland. People who want budget kart racing go for Pro-Karts or the huge beasts called Super Pro-Karts. The people who race these spend roughly the same amount of money that people in the UK pay for the same number of club100 races,

Actually this was discussed earlier in the thread. Having raced and worked the corporate side of things, I can safely say that there not enough demand to make a sustainable business running 100cc or 125rotax karts. Also insurance is an issue. Most of the drivers competant enough to drive these machines already have a competition licence, and technically could have it removed by taking part in such events.

Closest you will get to this kind of racing without an MI licence are the races run in edgeworthstown. But you have to have your own gear, and again you run the risk of having you MI licence revoked if you take part in a non-MI sanctioned event.

ProKarts are a good, economical class, with close racing im surprised that they died so quickly down south. Awfully slow though!

Superpros, provide decent racing, but go against the spirt of karting IMO. They are way too heavy, cumbersome and goddawm ugly!

Now FA is switching to TAG, they should feckin' have to rename it for that! :(

/pukes

Anyway, back OT....

Maybe a multichoice poll for dates? It looks like kylemore is the favoured place.

..Maybe a multichoice poll for dates? It looks like kylemore is the favoured place.

Kylemore works for me.. only down the road.. as for the Friday the 13th suggestion.. ehhh no!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

I'd agree on kylemore!

OK work with me guys......

Weekday or weekend (weekend much harder to get)

Mondays and tuesdays are usually pretty quiet at these places, how about (scratches head)

Tuesday 29th August at about 8:00PM?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭jamescrombie

grand Tuesday 29th would be grand for me......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

How much does it cost?

damnyanks wrote:
    How much does it cost?

http://www.kylemore-karting.com/prices.html

The Full Grand Prix costs €45. Bear in mind its prettymuch a complete night of entertainment.

Ive decided to organise this, provided I have people's support of course.

Ye'all need to tell me roughly what you want and when. Then ill put up a multi-choice poll and we'll run with the most popular results.

I called Kylemore to see if they have availablility on the Tuesday 29th August , just waiting to hear back from them.

Pudden Hill near Ashbourne is also worth considering. I haven't been there myself but have heard good reports.

Anyone have firsthand, recent experience with this place?

29th August is good for me too.. Might be able to bring a mate or two along if we are stuck for numbers..

Hi guys...Wow! It's been a while since I was here - sorry, some personal stuff crept up on me...

Would you guys mind if I also partake in the excursion? (even though I seemingly jumped ship!). I was on the Kylemore website and it looks quite good! 29th at 8 works for me too...

🤪

ToxicPaddy wrote:
    29th August is good for me too.. Might be able to bring a mate or two along if we are stuck for numbers..

bring-em along anyway, the more the merrier so long as they aren't messers!
    Sabre0001 wrote:
    Hi guys...Wow! It's been a while since I was here - sorry, some personal stuff crept up on me...

As above, the more the merrier. If you can get the friends that you mentioned earlier to come along as well that would be good.

Ill wait for a bit more feedback and then ill firm up the details.

Only other issue is the need for a deposit.

bring-em along anyway, the more the merrier so long as they aren't messers!

Nope, no messers, but good craic.. I'll spread the word so..

Right, just consulted my Girls Aloud calendar and Tues 29 is good for me. I'll see if i can get 1 or 2 more (mind you one of them is in the traffic corp so ye all better have your road tax up to date:D ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

awww.....can't go

if you cant go, suggest dates that you can and we'll have a pole to decide what is the most popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

As someone who has dabbled in Karting over the past few years, I'd be very interested in this. I'm down in Waterford though, so transport would be a bit of a problem given the fact I have no car, but I'm sure something could be worked out. The date looks to be fine

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

29th Sounds good for me too
    Prob will bring a mate too:)

Well Kylemore haven't bothered their backside to call me back. Ill try again tomorrow.

Guess they dont need the business..

Great customer service :rolleyes:

Any update on this????

ToxicPaddy wrote:
    Any update on this????

Friad not. Im emigrating in a few weeks and im lookign tight on time. I had hoped to be able to organise it, but I think reality is settling in.

Emigrating??? jeez, when did all this happen?

Where ya off to???