Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ball speed

Options
  • 08-07-2006 10:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

on thursday i bought my self a driver im new to golf and in the shop they done
    a speed check on my swing to see what driver would suit me best. my speed was reading 148mph is this ok i only started playing 3 week ago. thanks
    for any info..

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

firstly if you want qualified advice ask a pro,
    but are you talking about swing speed or ball speed cause they're two different things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭css

Agreed JRH.

I had my speed measured once too, and was told that swing speed was approximately 2/3's of ball speed.. As a rough guide. I've no idea if this is true or not however.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I find that a slower swing usually results in a better drive. People who tend to rush their swing seem to slice alot more . But thats just me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭Poker & Pints

In answer to the OP....the guy at the golf shop woule have been talking about your ball speed.

On average professional golfers generally achieve a club head speed of 100 M.P.H. at the bottom of their swing. Tiger Woods has been noted to reach up to 125 M.P.H.

The faster your club head is going at the bottom of your swing, the greater the amount of kinetic energy that will be transferred from club head to the ball because the kinetic energy is proportional to the mass of the club head and the square of its velocity.

A club head with a speed of about 100 M.P.H. - The ball leaves the tee at about 140 mph.