Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do pay for trainers or shoes?

• 08-07-2006 4:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭

I know my brother wouldn't pay anything less than around €120! I think thats mad no matter how "kewl" they are. :mad:Personally I don't pay anything more than $60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Paying €120 for a pair of shoes is pathetic and I can't understand how so many people do it. I wonder how your brother would feel walking through Somalia or Rwanda with shoes like that on with people all around literally dying of hunger? We all need clothes, and if you work for your money, it's fair enough getting something nice for yourself, but that kind of ridiculous, wasteful over-spending really pisses me off. To add insult to injury, most of these €120+ runners look disgusting.

Personally, I don't even look at shoes that are over €50, which is about as low as you can go and still get something decent-looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

€50 is about my limit. I don't like the idea of spending over €100 for just another pair of Nikes; I don't want loads of money going to sweatshop owners. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭*Oul_Doll_Cork*

I don't have a set budget for buying shoes!! I just buy things that I like... If i saw a nice pair for €10 I'd buy them but It wouldn't bother me to spend a couple of hundred on a pair if I really liked them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

The most I ever spent was $50 on a pair of Asics Onitsuka Tigers, but that included $35 shipping from USA

I try t look for pairs for around €25, cos they'll all end up the same way

Oh, got some nice black suede slipons in Dunnes for €5! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

don't really have a budget but i don't mind paying 100 euros for shoes as the pairs i buy at 100 euros tend to last me like 2 years. (DVS)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

last time i bought footwear was 3 pair for E155 with a discount.

EDIT: I never look at the price until I have decided what ones I like best, then buy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Cremo wrote:
    don't really have a budget but i don't mind paying 100 euros for shoes as the pairs i buy at 100 euros tend to last me like 2 years. (DVS)

Yup, i dont mind spending the extra cash for a quality pair of shoes, they will last longer than a 50euro pair...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I very rarely tend to buy full-price shoes as I usually prowl for sales and bargain-racks. The most I would pay for runners is approximately E40.

However, for the last couple of years I've bought pairs of designer shoes in the summer and winter sales. I have no problem paying 200+ when I particularly like a pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Rogueish

My last pair of runners cost €140. But I would like to qualify that they were not 'fashion' runners. In my line of work I am in runners everyday (including weekends). So comfort and support are paramount.

For shoes I will pay as much as needed to get a comfortable pair of shoes for everyday wear. The last 'everyday' flat shoes I bought were about €70 bought four years ago and I'm still wearing them.

For goining out or fashion shoes I will not buy expensive shoes. I will only have them on for a few short hours. I bought a pair of knee high boots for €28. They were the only boot I had found that fitted properly on the ankle and calf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Most I ever paid was €80 for boots.

/edit: actually, I just remembered - paid €100 for a different pair of boots!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

^^^^^^

In relation to the thread, how many pairs do people have?
    People may get a lot of cheap ones or one pair of good ones etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Rogueish

emmm I have two pairs of 'good' flat shoes. One pair of work runners. Three pairs of high boots (one pair knee high another calf high and another chunky wear all day pair). Assorted sandals and flip flops. oh and two pair of black dressy shoes. About ten pairs of footwear.

And that is very few compared to pretty much all my female friends (one or two exceptions) and my brother has more shoes that I.

edit: I forgot I have an old pair of timberlands for bad weather work wear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

In relation to the thread, how many pairs do people have?
    People may get a lot of cheap ones or one pair of good ones etc.

I've about 90 pairs, and the only reason that I have so many is that I buy them as cheap as possible. Most are good quality, but bought in sales. However, I just bought a pair of red sparkly peep-toes in a small cheapy shoe shop for E15!! A girl just can't resist that!

I got a gorgeous pair of black patent peep-toe platforms today from Penneys for the grand sum of E22. I'd just come out of BT where I'd been on the quest for an expensive pair. I couldn't find any I liked, and instead found a far better pair in Penneys. Go Figure!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

3 pairs of trainers and 2 pairs of shoes, most of them under $60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i've three pairs of skate shoes but only one pair that i actually wear.

i've only one pair of shoe shoes which only cost about 50 euros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

I usually pay around €80-€100 for runners but then a bit more for shoes as they last longer cause i use them less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Hmmm have paid up to 180 but that was a silly phase of NewRock..

Currently have 3 pais of runners - 2x addidas and 1x k-swiss. They were all bought in New York for about 60 dollars each.

Have 2 pairs of shoes. 1 black pair of Timberland that cost about 120 euro. 1 dark brown pair that cost about 130 euro, can't remember the brand.

Have 2 pairs of Timberland boots. 1 desert colour boots and 1 dark brown suede. Both cost about 80/90 dollars in New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I have two pairs of shoes; One pair for work and another for good nights out/formal occasions. I have two pairs of "trainers"; One for the gym, cost me €70 on discount cos they were the show pair (great pair of runners), the other pair are my "good" runners; cost me €85 recently.

I cannot buy a pair of trainers that cost less than €80. For men, such things simply don't exist. My gf has tiny feet and regularly buys shoes (and trainers) for less than €30 - she gets children's sizes so pays no tax on them :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

As little as possible tbh, I try to get the sales, but because I have wide feet, it normally takes me ages to find even plain black shoes (in a style that I like) so notmally pay around £60 for Clarks or something along those lines.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The most expensive pair I own was €85, but usually I spend around €50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭complicit

shoes are an area where i prefer to invest . when it comes to formal wear mens shoes i would recommend brands like loakes barkers etc in the ~ 150 euro range . they look better feel better last longer. if you are well and truly minted , then canali shoes are way to go ( ~ 400 euro)

with runners , the good brands are often available on sale - the mark ups mus be very high on these items cause lifsetyle sports seems to always have a pair for cheap .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i am a size 5 so when buying runners, its usually the kids section i go to, you could buy a pair there that would cost €40 and you could buy the exact same pair in the womens section for anything from €60 to €80.

i wear runners at work everyday, so i have about 3 or 4 pairs. i have 4 pairs of boots...a few pairs of sandals and flip flops....and 1 pair of black flat shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Toolach

What we are talking about are trainers - many pay crazy money for these.

€50 is plently.

I see many with velco and swede - not really suitable for the Irish climate.

complicit wrote:
    shoes are an area where i prefer to invest . when it comes to formal wear mens shoes i would recommend brands like loakes barkers etc in the ~ 150 euro range . they look better feel better last longer. if you are well and truly minted , then canali shoes are way to go ( ~ 400 euro)

with runners , the good brands are often available on sale - the mark ups mus be very high on these items cause lifsetyle sports seems to always have a pair for cheap .

Ah here, €400 eurons *faint*!:)

I think a lot of people have crazy amounts, I could name some people off boards coughisthereafloorunderyourshoes?cough

I think I have too many at three pairs of cons(155e), pair of shoes(60e) and a pair of boots(free).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

seamus wrote:
    I have two pairs of shoes; One pair for work and another for good nights out/formal occasions. I have two pairs of "trainers"; One for the gym, cost me €70 on discount cos they were the show pair (great pair of runners), the other pair are my "good" runners; cost me €85 recently.

I cannot buy a pair of trainers that cost less than €80. For men, such things simply don't exist. My gf has tiny feet and regularly buys shoes (and trainers) for less than €30 - she gets children's sizes so pays no tax on them :/

I hear ya.. Am between size 12 and 12.5 and its hard enough work finding decent shoes for a reasonable price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I think a lot of people have crazy amounts, I could name some people off boards coughisthereafloorunderyourshoes?cough

I think I have too many at three pairs of cons(155e), pair of shoes(60e) and a pair of boots(free).

pfft! :-p

I doubt I have more than 20!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I just have the one pair of boots and that's it... I replace them about once every 3 years.

It does me just fine... I've only got two feet after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

seamus wrote:

You really have to start thinking outside of the box; cut off your toes.

I think the last pair I bought we 80 in a sale, recently got a pair of footie boots for 55 though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

for normal shoes it depends how much I like them - bout 30/40 euro is average. for runners i buy em in penneys they are about 13 euro a pair and look lovely ive lots of different colors. people who pay 70+ for runners are mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I buy Camel Active or Timberlands usually for between 100-130 euro.

I take size 12 so don't usually have the choices that most people do. Normally when I go to buy shoes it's a case of
    "What have you got in a 12?"
    "We have this pair"
    "Nothing else?"
    "No"
    "I'll take them"

I used to buy cheaper shoes but they really do need to be a quality make as I have nuclear powered feet. I bought a pair of Pepe shoes once but they literally fell apart after two weeks. I mean the stitching all came out and I never bought cheap shoes again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

Depends what I'm using them for......I paid 70 for my last pair...I prefere converse though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

For runners there's no way I'll pay more than 60/50 euro for a pair. I think it's pointless. Now in saying that I have more expensive taste in nice shoes. I like my stilletos and usually will buy in the likes of Faith etc but I did treat myself last Xmas and bought a pair of Jimmy Choo's that were on sale and I had some BT vouchers to spend too. They cost 275 big ones but they are so precious. I spent a night on the tiles a few weeks ago with them and my feet didn't hurt as much at the end of the night, which I put down to the engineering in the shoe. That's what I pay my money for and because they cost so much I treat them with a lot of care. Some people will say I've wasted my money but I don't think so if they last even a few years I'll get my money's worth from them. And they're fabulous and very high!!! :D

Regarding my brother that I mentioned at the beginning of this. Oh how I roffled when my Mam brought home a pair of trainers from the US (no particular brand). When he heard they were under $50, he wouldnt wear them.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

€50-€60 for me. And they'd have to be great for me to pay that price. The last 2 pairs I got were €30 each and they're fantastic. TK Maxx ftw! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭vector

about € 60, but I have the time to look around, I'd say busy people could easily spend € 110+ in a shop like echo for the same pair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Sico wrote:
    Paying €120 for a pair of shoes is pathetic and I can't understand how so many people do it. I wonder how your brother would feel walking through Somalia or Rwanda with shoes like that on with people all around literally dying of hunger? We all need clothes, and if you work for your money, it's fair enough getting something nice for yourself, but that kind of ridiculous, wasteful over-spending really pisses me off. To add insult to injury, most of these €120+ runners look disgusting.

Personally, I don't even look at shoes that are over €50, which is about as low as you can go and still get something decent-looking.

Jeez, thanks for the lecture. I hope you don't spend any money on beer or anything with all those people dying in the world or sitting around watching tv while you could be out collecting money for them. :rolleyes:

I've seven pairs of shoes/runners and they average out at a ton each. All top quality might I add. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Trainers €30 -35 in kids section (on sale ) in lifestyle sports. i'm size 5.5

Shoes €90 (bearing in mind i'm not har on shoes and they last about 5 yrs so i get my money's worth!