Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda pay scales

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Basic is fairly ****ty, but the overtime is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irrelevant

If I was in a job for 17 years you can be damn sure I'd be getting €40k +

Does the OP actually have a problem with the pay scale or should this be moved to work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

You could double those when you factor in Saturday/Sunday/Bank Holidays/Night premiums as well as the multitude of allowances etc.

DART drivers get €50k, and they're probably even thicker and less educated than Guards......

.....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

OP, what's your point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Just The One

OP, what's your point?

I don't have a problem with it.... in fact I think that they have a tough job at times when faced with some dodgy feckers and thought that they earned more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

What does an ordinary member actually come out with a year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Any dart drivers browsing the forum? I hope not. Jesus
    magpie wrote:
    DART drivers get €50k, and they're probably even thicker and less educated than Guards......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I don't have a problem with it.... in fact I think that they have a tough job at times when faced with some dodgy feckers and thought that they earned more than that.
    I'm sure I've seen some thing from some official government type web page that showed them earning an average of more like twice that once you add on all the overtime etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Dr Pepper

I know the hyper-sensitive Boards Garda-protection brigade are gonna pounce on me but.. There's something a bit daft about getting paid relative to the number of years you have been in a job (regardless of how good/bad you are at it or how much work you actually do). It seems to be the case in all govt. jobs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

It's not just government jobs that have pay scales. Lot's of companies pay staff on the basis of experience gained in order to retain skilled workers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Thats quite low isnt it? I suppose they do overtime which probably makes a good difference. Docs and Nurses really improve their basic salary this way too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Dont forget all additional benefits of being a civil servant and the fringe benefits of being a garda, especially if you dont have any scruples :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gator

Sure they get to beat the shít out of everyone...thats a nice little bonus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

yes there was a garda on the news recently (donegal I think) who kept thousands of euro of public fines for himself!

the idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭gary the great

You never see a poor Garda is what my da would always say...

Any dart drivers browsing the forum? I hope not. Jesus

No, they can't operate anything with more than two buttons.

Start Train/Stop Train
    Open Doors/Close Doors

They earn their money alright :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

daveirl wrote:
    I'm in the same position in my job. I can make about 40% of my annual salary in additional overtime payments in a given month. Overtime isn't a walk in the park though, and I imagine it's even tougher for the Gardai. When you're working shifts working overtime essentially means removing any kind of decent downtime between them. It's knackering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

You never see a poor Garda is what my da would always say...

Indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

I can make about 40% of my annual salary in additional overtime payments in a given month

Woah! So if you went for it you could make 480% of your annual salary in overtime over the course of a year? That's something else.

daveirl wrote:
    Mine is a salary position. Overtime is additional shift, so if I do one (as i'm doing right now) I work an additional 12 hours. I realise a lot of people who work more traditional 9 to 5 based hours tend to work extra for nothing, but highly paid overtime isn't unusual in shift based work.

magpie wrote:
    Woah! So if you went for it you could make 480% of your annual salary in overtime over the course of a year? That's something else.
    Doh! 40% of my monthly pay.

OK, that makes more sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

magpie wrote:

are ya mad?? no other public sector has a dumber workforce than the gaurds!!! FACT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

are ya mad?? no other public sector has a dumber workforce than the gaurds!!! FACT!

It amuses me that you make that statment, and still cannot spell 'guards'. Also, what other public sector is there? The private one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

magpie wrote:

i doubt that.... some right ticko guards around...

besides the DART drivers achieve what they set out to do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Dallan2000

I love how people berate Guards for being thick, I used to get awful abuse from my ex girlfriends family for wanting to be a Guard.

Sure what happened when their house was broken into?? They called the Guards!!

What did the Guards do?? They caught the f**kers!!

What did the Guards get for it?? ****ty pay a fractured shin from the scumbag and a box of roses from the Mammy!!

Who loves the Guards now?? Mammy does!!

We all give out! but who do we all call when we're in trouble????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Dallan2000 wrote: »

The Citizen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Kernel wrote: »
    It amuses me that you make that statment, and still cannot spell 'guards'. Also, what other public sector is there? The private one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Why The fnuck was a 5 yr old thread resurrected especially considering it was sh1te to begin with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

The grammar police are out again... :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I love how people berate Guards for being thick, I used to get awful abuse from my ex girlfriends family for wanting to be a Guard.

What did the Guards get for it?? ****ty pay a fractured shin from the scumbag and a box of roses from the Mammy!!

A response time of five years is impressive, even for a garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭human repellent

GHOSTBUSTERS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

about fair for a line of work that may involve interacting with heroin users.
    id want more, risk of a needle in the neck and all that.

(ibf prik in the mouth)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Any job that relies on overtime is not a good job.
    If you were paid a decent wage you would not have to rely on overtime.
    Overtime is the Governments way of making sure you are there when called just because you rely on it to make up for a poor wage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Jesus divine , who put that website together. Looks like something from 1999.. Maybe they have the right idea but a HTML class wouldn't go amiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

The grammar police are out again... :D

Probably teachers, the have plenty of spare time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

This thread was from 2006...
    Necrolock