Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tax Question regarding imported car

• 04-07-2006 1:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭

Need some help guys. Cant get thru to the tax office all morning :mad:

I brought in my car last month, payed my VRT and registered it on Dublin Plates (1972). Now I assumed I would be receiving some form of tax notice in the post or at least the guys in the VRT office would give me some guidance.

Do i need to go down the tax office and hand in my docs??

Sorry if this is a dumb question, Ive never imported a classic before, so i dont know how it works and i dont want to take holiday time to stand in a Q for 2hours to be told, nah your forms should be with you soon.

Cheers :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mustang68

Yep, you need to go down and tax it as far as I remember, intergrated taxing !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭PaulK_CCI

You don't get a notification, it's up to you to ensure the car is taxed.

When you registered your car, you filled in a yellow form (RF105 I think) and after the registration, you received a white carbon copy of that same form back. THAT is your first taxation form, and you take that, together with the vehicle registration document you should have received in the post for your car, and the insurance certificate to your nearest tax office.

That should do the trick. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭1275gt

cheers guys. i love the way they tell you!!!

errr, hang on. i never got a new registration doc.

anybody know how long it usually takes???

Don't remember it being too long to come in

...you take that, together with the vehicle registration document you should have received in the post for your car, and the insurance certificate, you'll need a 47-f form that is pink and a copy of your passport or drivers licence. To get a 47-f you have to apply in writing to the excise office, stating the type of car, this statement must be signed by a Garda, the Garda will need to see a certification of roadworthyness, signed by a mechanic. The tax office won't take cash, the will take postal orders or bin tags, the tax office will need 5 working days.......

[edit: this was a joke, do not take as advise, do not hold near naked flame, do not ingest]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

mustang68 wrote:
    Don't remember it being too long to come in

...you take that, together with the vehicle registration document you should have received in the post for your car, and the insurance certificate, you'll need a 47-f form that is pink and a copy of your passport or drivers licence. To get a 47-f you have to apply in writing to the excise office, stating the type of car, this statement must be signed by a Garda, the Garda will need to see a certification of roadworthyness, signed by a mechanic. The tax office won't take cash, the will take postal orders or bin tags, the tax office will need 5 working days.......

WTF?
    passport?cert of fitness? no you dont and Ive re-reg'd loads of cars.....just send the Ins Cert and the form from the Customs and the €42 to the tax office and they send you a disc.Shortly after you will get the Reg Doc posted to you....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

hey maxi

the form they gave you with your reg number on it is what you need to tax teh car, they wont send you an owners doc until you tax the car. Its a ploy to make sure you tax it asap so that you dont sell it on with out taxing it... sneaky huh

oh they will want teh back tax for the last month, so either get down the garda station and have it stamped off the road until the end of June, or you can pay the 4 euro back tax...hahahahah

corktina wrote:
    WTF?
    passport?cert of fitness? no you dont and Ive re-reg'd loads of cars.

That was a joke. Its a sad state of affairs when people actually believe that you'd need bin tags to pay for your tax :rolleyes: , goes to show that registering classic cars is a mess here.

mustang68 wrote:
    That was a joke. Its a sad state of affairs when people actually believe that you'd need bin tags to pay for your tax :rolleyes: , goes to show that registering classic cars is a mess here.

yep, im finding that out now :rolleyes: makes you wonder what you pay tax for :o:o

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

1275gt wrote:
    makes you wonder what you pay tax for :o:o
    Says you about to pay only €42 for your road tax! ;)

dont worry, ive paid my share over the years :p but yeah 42 bricks a year :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ta2kev

1275gt wrote:
    dont worry, ive paid my share over the years :p but yeah 42 bricks a year :D:D:D
    lets all goge banaza and get high and bang all the babes

mustang68 wrote:

amess? Oh I get it, you are joking again.......

I've re-reged loads of classics....it takes about 10 mins in the customs office, you pays your €50 VRT and they give you a form which you fill in and post with your Ins Cert and €42 to the Motor Tax Office who send you a disc and then Shannon send you a logbook....dead simple......

corktina wrote:
    amess? Oh I get it, you are joking again.......
    ...dead simple......

You are correct it actually couldn't be simpler, it took me only a few mins to do.

ta2kev wrote:
    lets all goge banaza and get high and bang all the babes

:D dude, you need to give up the bottle of scotch before lunch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ta2kev

I need to apologise for my posting in this thread also, from now on I better lock my computer before I leave my desk. At least I'm leaving the place in a week, woo hoo!!!

mustang68 wrote:
    You are correct it actually couldn't be simpler, it took me only a few mins to do.
    I can tell youare a fellow sensible Ford man ......psychic you see:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

And just for anyone who's trying to get through to the V.R.O. in Shannon, they now only answer the phone up to one o'clock during the day.....you just can't beat the civil service for customer service, they're nearly as bad as Eircom.:rolleyes:

Hey Lads and ladies. Forget the forms, guards and all that.

Was supposed to get into the tax office during the week but have been too busy in work. Logged onto www.motortax.ie and taxed up in 2minutes flat :D:D

If you have paid your VRT on the car and been issued with an Irish Reg, you simply type in your REG and last SIX DIGITS of your CHASSIS NO (into the PIN section) and bobs your auntie!!

Should have the disk and Logbook in 4working days!!!

Result :cool: