Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

classic mini??pros and cons

• 03-07-2006 8:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭

first post!!!
    i am going to splash out on a mini, just wonderin as most people here prob have experience of one, what are the best and worst parts of owning them, id imagine rust and mechanics are crap,but what are they like to drive??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭coolcon

Id recommend visiting these forums http://www.miniresource.com > MiniResource is a great forum and I have no doubt that youll find all the info you need on there about owning minis! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭1275gt

kona wrote:
    first post!!!
    i am going to splash out on a mini, just wonderin as most people here prob have experience of one, what are the best and worst parts of owning them, id imagine rust and mechanics are crap,but what are they like to drive??

like anything else, if your prepared to look after it properly and have no desire to have a girlfriend for 3 years (joke) you'll have nothing no problems!! one of the cheapest seat of your pants thrills to be had without being arrested :D set up properly, they handle like a go kart and you can be guaranteed to bring a smile to passers by everytime you go for a spin. like most cars on the boards i imagine.

if you need to know anything specific, post it up here and if i cant answer it one of the other mini owners on the site can help you out.

as conor said, definetely check out miniresource. nearly 2000 members from all around the world with a HUGE contingent from Ireland. theres a buying guide and everything.

just out of interest, what era of mini u after?? (ie 60's, 70s or the 90's)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Best Parts of owning one:
    Driving them
    Constantly turning heads
    The noise
    Everytime you stop the car, someone either offering to buy it or coming over to ask you about the car and tell you a story about when they owned theirs.

Worst Parts of owning one:
    Rust
    A bit noisey on the motorway
    Everytime you stop the car, someone either offering to buy it or coming over to ask you about the car and tell you a story about when they owned theirs. :D

I use mine daily, do alot of miles and love every minute of it. Just came back from doing 400 miles over the weekend without any bother. In fact I've done 5500 miles now in 5 months with no bother (except myself deciding to change something that didnt need to be changed :rolleyes: )

Check out MiniResource - bound to be someone in your area that can help you or knows of one for sale.
    Out of interest - whats your budget and what kind of Mini are you looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

And check out miniclub.ie too - a new club in Ireland, who will try their best to answer any questions you have. Lots of the members have classics and new MINIs too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

GF had a 95 cooper 1.3i

Best:

Looks
    Great fun to drive

Worst:

Seriously high maintenance
    The ride gets tiresome, espeicially on a long journey or over the endless, endless streets of speedbumps in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

thanks lads!!! i wont be using much on motorway at all to be honest,
    what i am lookin for is a bit of fun while at the same time learning about the mechanics of a engine. wouldnt mind having women around it but if they dont like it **** them, but they must as a classic is a million times sexier than a heap of plastic muppet mobile!!
    i was looking at a 1987 mayfair with a 1275 mg metro lump, what wil that set up be like?? it has 5x12" wheels but i wanna put 6x10"s on with miglia arches what will the handling be like on the mini wih those wheels and will i nees to put new dampers etc in if i wanna lower it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

My brother was goin to run a Mini everyday to replace a Fiat C*nttogetinto but eventually bought a tatty but sound Wolseley Hornet with a 1275 engine, its brilliant fun but probably high maintenance if he bothered to maintain it:D Hes running it on a vintage insurance policy, handy to have as his 'reliable' everyday Merc has spent more time at the garage than on the road;)

kona wrote:
    i was looking at a 1987 mayfair with a 1275 mg metro lump, what wil that set up be like?? it has 5x12" wheels but i wanna put 6x10"s on with miglia arches what will the handling be like on the mini wih those wheels and will i nees to put new dampers etc in if i wanna lower it??
    Is it black?
    It's a good car - just been totally restored :)

10s handle better than 12s with the same suspension set up. If you want to lower it, you dont need different shocks, just hi-los.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭kikel

My sister just bought one. i love driving it. Brings a smile to my face. It's great fun and a blast to drive. another poster said ya don't get women which is strange because they all smile (maybe their laughing at me. ummmmm)

Still great fun, i was laughing too.

Don't know about mechanics yet. we'll see what the years hold

commited wrote:
    Is it black?
    It's a good car - just been totally restored :)

10s handle better than 12s with the same suspension set up. If you want to lower it, you dont need different shocks, just hi-los.

yup thats the one!!! however i am looking at 2 black 998cc and a red 1275 sprite also. basically i just want somthing with no rot and a nippy little engine.
    i take it you run a mini too?? what is yours??

I reckon that black one is just the ticket - I was considering it for myself. Check insurance though.

Avoid the 998s in my opinion - no torque at all. Go 1275.

Mines a 92 1275 Mayfair - got it in the UK last year and hasnt let me down yet :)
    Are you coming to Terenure?

commited wrote:
    I reckon that black one is just the ticket - I was considering it for myself. Check insurance though.

Avoid the 998s in my opinion - no torque at all. Go 1275.

Mines a 92 1275 Mayfair - got it in the UK last year and hasnt let me down yet :)
    Are you coming to Terenure?

i would but i have to work:mad: :mad: :mad: , have you done any mods to the mayfair???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

Get the latest possible model with the largest engine you can - I've had 2 standard 1000cc minis (skin rice pudding, wouldn't pull etc) an 1100 clubman estate (not standard) and one with a 1275 - much better! I had an 850cc for about a week til I offloaded it - you'd be better off with a golf cart etc.

Most important parts to check are the subframes front and rear, especially where they bolt to the body. Older models had a SERIOUS problem with the sills below the doors and these are structural so check them thoroughly for rust. Floor pan can also get rusty but is easily sorted even if there's holes!

Been to Donegal, Clare, Kerry etc but long rides can be tiring and noisy. Round Dublin they're grand

milod wrote:
    Get the latest possible model with the largest engine you can - I've had 2 standard 1000cc minis (skin rice pudding, wouldn't pull etc) an 1100 clubman estate (not standard) and one with a 1275 - much better! I had an 850cc for about a week til I offloaded it - you'd be better off with a golf cart etc.

Most important parts to check are the subframes front and rear, especially where they bolt to the body. Older models had a SERIOUS problem with the sills below the doors and these are structural so check them thoroughly for rust. Floor pan can also get rusty but is easily sorted even if there's holes!

Been to Donegal, Clare, Kerry etc but long rides can be tiring and noisy. Round Dublin they're grand

i heard the later one were total crap:confused: i was told they were rotten leaving longbridge and slow due to the sportspack wheels and also handled like crap?? or i this just the 13" wheels??
    when checking for rust whats the best way?? a magnet and cloth?? also how much would i be charged for somebody to weld the panels needed???

milod - 850s with a higher final drive can actually be great fun. The late 1275 MPI's are ridiculously slow - I just picked one up in the UK the other day with a friend and they are great on the motorways but brutal for acceleration. 2.9 diff doesnt help. That was on 12" wheels. Sportspacks are even worse.

Personally, I reckon the floors and sills are far worse to sort than the subframes - you can pick up a cheap subframe and fit it yourself with no special skills, but welding is a costly thing to get done if you dont have the know how.

Bottom line is - get something as solid as you can. It'll always save you money buying the most solid car in the first place

I dont mind long drives in my yoke, even with a free flow manifold that makes a serious amount of noise.

Mods done:

Mini Mayfair 1275cc with 44200 miles
    New engine steady bushes
    New subby mounts
    New thermostat
    New Front knuckle joints
    Half leather seats
    Black Cord rear seats
    Black dash rails
    Black door cards
    Red Dash
    Chrome door furniture
    JVC Head unit
    Infinity Components
    Clear side repeaters
    Angel Eyes
    K&N element
    Minisport heated inlet manifold
    Maniflow LCB
    RC40 twin box exhaust
    Ultimate head steady
    12" Cooper alloys with yoko A539s
    New front pads
    Front Hi-los
    KYB front shocks
    competition tie rods
    Tailored Mini cover

Stuff I have that I'm still to fit:
    Steering drop bracket
    Alpine V12 amp & Wiring Kit
    10" JBL Sub
    Walnut Dash
    Black Carpets
    Clear front indicators (on the post)
    New Track rod ends
    New balljoints
    New rear brake shoes
    Rear hi-los
    12 x 5.5" alloys

Future plans:
    Green/black stuff pads
    Boot board
    Soundproofing
    New cones
    SW5 cam & 1.5 rockers

That's all I can remember for now - there is more stuff that I've done. Bought the car 100% standard and with 38500 miles last year.

Went to a rolling road day a while back and the car made 60bhp@4700rpm, 77.5 ftlb @ 2950, which isnt bad considering it was 50bhp standard and isnt properly set up right. Operator said it'd be good for another 6bhp.

commited wrote:
    milod - 850s with a higher final drive can actually be great fun. The late 1275 MPI's are ridiculously slow - I just picked one up in the UK the other day with a friend and they are great on the motorways but brutal for acceleration. 2.9 diff doesnt help. That was on 12" wheels. Sportspacks are even worse.

Personally, I reckon the floors and sills are far worse to sort than the subframes - you can pick up a cheap subframe and fit it yourself with no special skills, but welding is a costly thing to get done if you dont have the know how.

Bottom line is - get something as solid as you can. It'll always save you money buying the most solid car in the first place

I dont mind long drives in my yoke, even with a free flow manifold that makes a serious amount of noise.

Mods done:

Mini Mayfair 1275cc with 44200 miles
    New engine steady bushes
    New subby mounts
    New thermostat
    New Front knuckle joints
    Half leather seats
    Black Cord rear seats
    Black dash rails
    Black door cards
    Red Dash
    Chrome door furniture
    JVC Head unit
    Infinity Components
    Clear side repeaters
    Angel Eyes
    K&N element
    Minisport heated inlet manifold
    Maniflow LCB
    RC40 twin box exhaust
    Ultimate head steady
    12" Cooper alloys with yoko A539s
    New front pads
    Front Hi-los
    KYB front shocks
    competition tie rods
    Tailored Mini cover

Stuff I have that I'm still to fit:
    Steering drop bracket
    Alpine V12 amp & Wiring Kit
    10" JBL Sub
    Walnut Dash
    Black Carpets
    Clear front indicators (on the post)
    New Track rod ends
    New balljoints
    New rear brake shoes
    Rear hi-los
    12 x 5.5" alloys

Future plans:
    Green/black stuff pads
    Boot board
    Soundproofing
    New cones
    SW5 cam & 1.5 rockers

That's all I can remember for now - there is more stuff that I've done. Bought the car 100% standard and with 38500 miles last year.

Went to a rolling road day a while back and the car made 60bhp@4700rpm, 77.5 ftlb @ 2950, which isnt bad considering it was 50bhp standard and isnt properly set up right. Operator said it'd be good for another 6bhp.

thats ALOT of stuff!!!, how much have you spent on the car if you dont mind me asking????
    as regards the sounds in the car whats the best set up for non hip-hop /pop/ rap???? i mainly listen to metal so i was just wondering the best set up amd where to put the speakers etc...
    how much was the rolling road??

I havent added up what I've spent on the car. It scares me to do so! Got her for a relatively bargain price, with no rust, 2 lady owners etc. One wing has bubbling on it now, so I need to get that sorted. Apart from that it's solid as a rock.

For stereo set up - you're always best with some high quality Components up front, powered by a decent amp and controlled by a reasonable headunit I feel. Subs are optional, I'm fitting mine as my Components are only 10cm, so not much bass, but having the components (and thus the sound) in front of you is the most important thing.

Rolling road was a mag feature so it was only about €40.

commited wrote:
    I havent added up what I've spent on the car. It scares me to do so! Got her for a relatively bargain price, with no rust, 2 lady owners etc. One wing has bubbling on it now, so I need to get that sorted. Apart from that it's solid as a rock.

For stereo set up - you're always best with some high quality Components up front, powered by a decent amp and controlled by a reasonable headunit I feel. Subs are optional, I'm fitting mine as my Components are only 10cm, so not much bass, but having the components (and thus the sound) in front of you is the most important thing.

Rolling road was a mag feature so it was only about €40.

what mag was it,will we be seenin ya in mini world and the like??? do you really need a amp??? do the headunits not have amps in them??? and when you get the headunit dont you need iso leads or sumthin like that??

Yup - Miniworld, September edition :eek:

Headunit amps are brutal quality compared to proper amps ;) It's like the difference between a ghetto blaster and a set of separates in your house.

Fitting a stereo is easssy in a Mini - Mine came with an Iso type setup, but I still had to fit a new one as the connector didnt have inputs for Front speakers :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

commited wrote:

You may be right - my info is based on ownership from 84 - 93!! so I can't comment on later editions with any real experience (except for the MG Metro which is a pile of sh1te).

My 850 experience was a recond unit dropped into a 1000 model, so maybe it was only block and head and original gearbox/sump - dunno for sure. I never ran wheels over 10" either so didn't experience handling issues.

True on the subframes too, at least they can be replaced but have you ever tried?! bit too much work for me, so I prefer to find a car I don't have to totally disassemble!

The MG Metro engine is crap? It was 72bhp and dropped into a Mini it is an absolute rocket :)

I love the old 60s 850s - so much fun - the epitomy of what a Mini is. Unfortunately cant justify one as a daily driver, just too hard on the classic.

I have never replaced one - but I know there is no hocus pocus there as long as you have the right tools! I agree with you about the totally disassemble, however generally for welding alot of the interior will have to come out etc. So basically - buy one with no rust :D

commited wrote:
    buy one with no rust :D

easier said than done;) :mad: as for the MG metro engine could it be a bit too much for the mini??bit too fast or does it just make it more fun:D
    and in comparision to the likes of 1.4 golfs, fiestas and 106s would in burn them??:p

That black one would be rust free ;)
    God no - not too much for the Mini at all. MG Metro is only 72bhp. I hope to have about 80bhp by the end of the summer. 120bhp still isnt too much for a Mini.
    A 1.4 golf is slow as feck :D 0-50 in Minis is ridiculously quick. It's the next 10mph that take the time, so in day to day driving very few small cars will beat it from the lights. It's in the corners where it'll really count.

commited wrote:
    That black one would be rust free ;)
    God no - not too much for the Mini at all. MG Metro is only 72bhp. I hope to have about 80bhp by the end of the summer. 120bhp still isnt too much for a Mini.
    A 1.4 golf is slow as feck :D 0-50 in Minis is ridiculously quick. It's the next 10mph that take the time, so in day to day driving very few small cars will beat it from the lights. It's in the corners where it'll really count.

sure thats grand wont be goin much over 50 much anyways,does anybody in ireland have a v-tec in the mini?? id say they are fun!!:D

There are a couple of vtecs up north.

Saw one a couple of weekends ago.

Stunning job -
    2.jpg
    3.jpg

Are you in Dublin? Are you getting this as a second car?

commited wrote:
    There are a couple of vtecs up north.

Saw one a couple of weekends ago.

Stunning job -
    2.jpg
    3.jpg

Are you in Dublin? Are you getting this as a second car?

that car looks like one i saw in miniworld a few years ago, yea its amazing looking, id say some amount of work went into it!!
    ye i am in dublin, itl be my only car but i cycle alot so it wont be used in traffic daily its more for weekend type of driving fun:D .

I think the green one is recently finished. Used a standard Mini subframe so it was attracting alot of interest.
    My advice to you is test drive a few cars!