Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice Needed please!

• 03-07-2006 1:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭

hey everyone,
    as i posted on here before, i'm in the states on an internship with a visa. My girlfriend is coming to me here in a week. She's flying out with my parents. she hasn't got a visa, but she's staying for less than 90 days on a holiday so she doesn't need one. ( The visa waiver program - http://www.travel.state.gov/visa/temp/without/without_1990.html#1 )

but she's really worried that because she has her return booked for 2 months after she arrives that they will stop her coming through. even though she's less than the 90 days permitted. She is coming home and she has a loan taken out to support herself while here.

what steps could she take to ensure that she gets through ok? Should she bring a letter about returning home for employment? should she bring a copy of a bank statement to show she can support herself with the loan?

has anyone else done this before cause we are just nervous that she won't get through for some reason.

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm pretty sure that a return ticket to Ireland would be sufficient proof of her intention to go home.

Just make sure that everything's OK - Name(s) on passport correct, she has a new passport with the information that U.S. immigration require, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Speedway

seamus when you say a new passport, do you mean one of the new ones that are being issued now? because i came in with a standard irish passport which is in date.that's what she has too. that's what she used last year when going to new york for 2 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

Yup, I am here right now for a month and a half... the 90 day waiver is the same for all travelling, just be clear when they ask 'will u be working?' clear answer 'NO', they ask 'why u coming?' clear answer 'leisure', there and the check in desk are d only places that know ur details... so dont worry about it.

The 90 day waiver covers you for 90 days (surpise, surpise)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I wouldnt have her worry about it. I think seamus means the machine readable passports (most people have them anyway). Have her at the US Immigration early, forms filled out and she will be grand. Some people give immigration a hard time, they are just doing their job despite everything they are not out to get you. She will have her photo taken and fingerprints in Dublin (if flying direct).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I did the same last summer, travelled around for July and August and it was mad craic, she'll be fine. All she needs to say is that she is not working and going for leisure as another poster has already pointed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Ruu wrote:
    I wouldnt have her worry about it. I think seamus means the machine readable passports (most people have them anyway).
    Yeah. Haven't done the America thing myself, but have seen a few people in work freak because they didn't have these.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

this would be better in the Travel Forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Strokesfan

i know some guys that go over on that kind of 90 day thing and they were told that if they had any worries about getting in they should try London airport where they're not so strict! They stop people going in the country of departure so if she doesn't make it just tell her to go through London. Plus she's coming with your parents so that totally makes her look legit and that she's not coming to find work. good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Speedway

excellent thanks everyone for the advice