Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help getting on to live

• 02-07-2006 3:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭

Hi everybody,

Just trying to get a mate's 360 onto live for him and I'm stuck!:o

First the setup is over cable to the eircom netopia 3347wg but his connection is provided by esat! I know very unusual, but basically he switched provider and they sent him a crappy modem with no wireless so he decided to stay using the netopia so he could use it with his laptop which works fine after he changed some settings.

I setup the Netopia same as my own eircom connection just changing the ip & DNS details etc but it won't connect, it keeps crapping out on the ip settings test, with the usual list of things to check and I have checked them all and there all as they should be!!!:confused:

Is anybody else using the eircom netopia yoke with esat broadband and if so any help, tips or tricks would be much appreciated. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

try fixing the ip address on the xbox.

if the modem / router allows you add the new xbox IP into the DMZ

example :

xbox ip : 192.168.0.50 or what ever subnet your running
    mask : 255.255.255.0

then in the router enter the ip of 192.168.0.50 into the DMZ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

there are 3 ports the xbox uses you need to enter into the netopia they can be found on the eircom site in the support section. Or as mentioned setup the dmz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Alnilam

Nice one guys, I had tried using the "xbox live games" setting on the netopia with fixed ip etc. but no joy, I'll give these a try tonight and let you know how it goes ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

just a word of warning the nat on the netopia screws up playing people on the same server as you (ie people on an eircom account like you) dont know why it happens but my mate and i could never play each other on any games with nat on the netopia yet we had no problems playing anyone else (ie americans and brits)

Gawd, Murphy's law, I finally get back round to my friends gaff to get him on live we go to power up the 360 and 3 red lights :(

Moral of the story if you wanna save a few quid by buying on ebay, beware.

He's gonna call microsoft today and see if he can get it sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

MS dont care where the xbox was bought from, all they ask for is a serial number. Also I think alot of XBOX are breaking in and around this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Mine STILL hasn't crapped out :p I wouldn't care either, no decent games for a while, and If I do get a replacement, at least it will be quieter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

Mine hasn't either but I love it so I hope it never does..

Although, there hasn't been much good games except BF2 and COD2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

Mine STILL hasn't crapped out :p I wouldn't care either, no decent games for a while, and If I do get a replacement, at least it will be quieter.

I wouldn't bet on it, my replacement was louder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Stokolan

mine was quieter untill i put someting into the drive :P then it gets load. But I would bet on getting a better one from the one youve had if you do send it back. Also i would prefer it to go now before it goes out of warranty.

The irony of this is that my 360 is fine!

Grumpy, whatdya mean there's no decent games? there's plenty maybe not your type of games but there are plenty out there, to many FPS's imho but then I haven't enjoyed an FPS since Quake 2. I find them boring and repitive, seen one seen them all, some just have bigger guns! :D

PGR 3 was/is fantastic and it's still getting better (new cars, new game modes etc.) Amped 3, Oblivion and table tennis are my own favs and with TDU, dead rising and Forza 2 coming this side of christmas I'm well happy, I have to say I don't remember having so many games that I really enjoyed and kept me coming back to my PS2 in the first year that I had it, or for that matter my PS1, N64, Sega Mega Drive... need I go on?

Alnilam wrote:
    need I go on?

Yes :rolleyes: So your saying 7 months after release of all those other consoles, there WASNT a better selection of games? The 360 has maybe two, or three "must play" games, I reckon 7 months into the ps3's launch, there will be more than graw and oblivion to keep me happy.

Your a "the glass is half empty kinda guy" ain't ye :)

No, I expect it to be half full and it aint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭god's toy

Just on the router prob, did you UN-check the 'UPnP' in' Connection Configuration' and save changes?