Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Right, am I forgetting anything?

• 30-06-2006 4:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭

Hi all!

As most of you will know by now I will be going down to Wexford tomorrow morning to pick up my new (well new to me anyway!) Suzuki Bandit 600! :D
    A friend of mine will be giving me a lift down in the morning and he will be driving back up with me also (which is comforting as I will be riding behind him and he droves slowly). But am I forgetting anything?

I will be bringing:

- The money to pay the dealer
    - My Richa Jacket & gloves (buying the helmet tomorrow)
    - My A license
    - My motorbike lock (for when we stop to eat/rest as I don't intend riding all the way back up as soon as I get the bike!)
    - My sunglasses (you never know...)
    - Mobile phone to ring Carole Nash and get insured

Have I thought of everything? And don't say "Yeah, you forgot to mention riding pants & boots" cos I can't afford them this month. Caterpillars and jeans will have to do for now I'm afraid... :(

Furthermore, any advice for my first journey on a big bike?

Thank you in advance and wish me luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,548 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Rain gear. A cheap pair of leggings from Dunnes or a camping shop will do (that's what I still use over my leathers on a wet day.) Also a cheap windcheater for over your jacket. Cost about a tenner each, buy very large sizes so when you get leathers they'll fit over them...

Also I wouldn't go on any long journey without earplugs, as well as being damaging to your hearing, wind noise is tiring. You'll still be able to hear traffic etc.

Edit:
    As regards riding tips, do NOT ride in the gutter but command your lane (you can always pull into the hard shoulder to let traffic pass when it's safe), take it slow, leave large following distances and look far enough ahead, don't get fixated on 10 metres in front of you like most cagers seem to do.

Don't do anything suddenly, brake gently, accelerate gently, turn gently, and especially if it's wet. If you're looking ahead and anticipating you'll never need to brake harshly. Don't be afraid to use the horn if there's any chance a driver hasn't seen you.

Get some practice on this bike away from traffic before hitting the road proper. Get comforable with starting, stopping, putting your foot down, low-speed turns (where a lot of embarrassing falls happen...)

Do NOT carry a lock in your pocket, in a backpack etc. as they cause nasty injuries if you fall off. If you're attaching a bag to the bike make sure it's secure and no straps etc. can get near the back wheel or chain.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭a_ominous

If you're going the route of leggings from Dunnes or wherever, make sure you have a couple of elastic bands for around the ankles. Don't want to catch your foot on the pegs as you come to a stop and fall off. Not that it has happened to me, just someone I know... :rolleyes:

I bought leggings at one of the bike shows and they have extra fasteners near the ankles as you'll need wide bottom to pull them over the boot.

Other than that, I think you have it covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

WATCH OUT WITH THAT THROTTLE!!!!

one quick twist & you could end up on your ass with your bike on top of you

other than that, have fun, be safe & dont forget to put up some pics once you get it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,548 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

a_ominous wrote:
    If you're going the route of leggings from Dunnes or wherever, make sure you have a couple of elastic bands for around the ankles. Don't want to catch your foot on the pegs as you come to a stop and fall off.
    Didn't think of that. When you're wearing them over leathers you'd tend to pull them up higher than when wearing them over jeans. They only come halfway down my shin when I'm sitting on the bike.

One more thing... anything you're not sure about (e.g. controls, how to open fuel cap, does it have a fuel light or gauge, temp light or gauge, choke or not? fuel tap or not?) ask the dealer before you set off.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

and even if the dealer says theres petrol.. go fill it up!!
    I know one dealer that used to tell people there was a tenner in it, and he had only put about a litre in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Jaysus lads! That's some really good (and fast) advice!!! :D Thanks a million!

Ninja900: I thought of rain gear when I mentioned sunglasses (being in Ireland you'll need the latter more often than the former!). I won't have time to get it before driving down tomorrow (setting off at 8AM) but if there's a chance of rain I'll get them in Wexford town! :) And I'll get elastic bands also to avoid falling and making a fool of myself like our a_ominous here! :p

Thank you also for all the riding technique tips Ninja900! I intend on following these in order to make it back safely to Dublin!

Madrab: I rode a Bandit last week on a car park and by barely moving my right wrist (and I mean barely) the RPM jumped to something like 4,000! Scared me to bits! :eek: You can be sure I won't be treating the throttle of the Bandit like a scooter's!!!

The Doktor: Was going to do that as soon as I got bike tomorrow! ;) Now let's just hope I don't put diesel in... :rolleyes:

And you can all expect some nice pics of it over the week-end! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

First thing I used to do on any bike was get a feel for the brakes.

Enjoy yourself on your new bike and be safe.

Indeed spurious, I intend to "get some practice on this bike away from traffic before hitting the road proper" as ninja900 said above! :D If I'm not 100% happy with my controlling the bike I shall practice even more! ;)

Thank again for your words of encouragement and sound advice guys! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭bbbbb

I would have my friend drive behind (say 100 mtrs), rather than in front. That way you set the pace & he's not watching his mirrors the whole time.

Might be worth pre-arranging a stop 10-20 miles into the journey, you should know how you're getting on at that stage & gives you a chance to catch up in case you get separated.

Bandit 600 was (is) my first bike (restricted to start with). Throttle & clutch control will probably be a bit tricky to start (as on any decent sized bike).

Most of all relax! Bandit is a pretty forgiving bike, keep it above 4000 revs (happiest between 6 & 8). Any time I've been riding badly (no accidents yet, touch wood), it's been because I've been tense (or hung over).
    [Edit] on the open road, around town revs will probably drop

Thanks for the advice bbbbb! I might get him to drive behind me but I'm not sure... Think I prefer following him so I don't have to panic about going the wrong way and instead concentrate on riding/watching out for other traffic...

Good idea about the pre-arranged stop though! It's not like I'll be able to ring him to ask him to stop! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Stigster

Not even being a biker yet I'll still give this advice: If unsure about the way, stop and ask for directions. Don't reconsider in the middle of an intersection. ;)

BTW: Great thread, guys! When I get over and start driving my self I'll be sure to read up on it. Lot's of great advice and experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Don't forget your sandwiches!!:D Seriously though, make sure you get some food into you before driving, and keep well hydrated today. If your tired or dizzy (with excitement maybe) when you step off the bike at the first petrol stop, take a 20 minute rest and stretch your legs.

Keep her between the hedges yeah!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭coyote6

Sunscreen for your tats. Fake moustach. Fishnet shirt. Assless chaps w/ a leopard print speedo. Leather hat. Your favorite '70's rock. :D .

Just kiddin'

Well guys... I MADE IT! Was in bits when I got back but I'm back! :D

Here's how the journey went:

Woke up late at 7:45 instead of 7:00 (couldn't sleep last night with the stress). Jumped in the shower then got in my friends car. Took off at 8:15. Stopped in Gorey for a (massive!) breakfast roll then non-stop to Wexford! That's when I saw a_ominous had texted me to let me know he had left Dublin at 8:30 and that he would meet me at the bike shop (he had PMed me during the week to offer to ride back up with me and of course I said yes!).

Got there at around 10:30 and met a_ominous. Had another quick look at my gorgeous Bandit then went for a 15 minutes spin to make sure everything was fine. I'm not going to lie to you, I was sh!tting myself! But a_ominous was right behind me and I took my time and everything went well (start/stop was a little tricky and road position was all over the shop but that was to be expected from a n00b!).

Went back to the shop to finalise all the paper work and got ready to leave. That's when I realised my rear brake light was not lighting up when using the rear/foot break. The young mechanic had a look and fixed it in 2 minutes (was just a disconnected switch) and we were off!

So my friend in the car was leading the "n00b convoy" with my "personal trainer" (Mr a_ominous himself!) closing it. It was pure joy! The Bandit is very easy to ride and is very smooth. I had a blast riding it! Better than drugs! And what a day to do it... Perfect I tell you!

We got all confused in Enniscorthy and got a little lost but after 30 minutes or so we were all back together in Ferns for a welcome break. After 20 minutes we set off again and decided to go all the way to Dublin without stopping. A_ominous went back home when we arrived in Dublin and so did I. I was in bits though... My shoulders, neck et left elbow were killing me but it was good pain! Couldn't wipe the grin off my face!

Then I went to show my bike to my sister who was really amazed by it and we watched England crash out of the World Cup! "What a day!" I kept telling myself!
    Then I brought the bike to her new garage and went to the Woolshed to watch France -v- Brazil and we won! At that stage I started shouting "What a fu*king day!" :D

Saturday 1st July 2006 will remain in my memory as one of the best days of my life!

I would like to thank Graham (my friend who brought me all the way down to Wexford on a Saturday morning! - I love you man!) and a_ominous who went out of his way to come all the way down to Wexford to ride back up with me. Don't know how I could ever thank you guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭bbbbb

Well done, enjoy the bike!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Stigster

Good story, mate. Just wonderin', how much training did you have before this trip? I mean, since you call your self a noob?

No training at all... But I had Peugeot RCX (50cc moped) in France when I was 14 and rode it for 4 years. I also rode motocross bikes when I was in my teens (nothing serious like competitions - just in fields for a laugh) so that got me used to the gears/clutch/foot brake etc...

Should be getting lessons very soon as I really want to be thought to ride properly and I have my est coming soon also!

Here's a pic of my beautiful Bandit:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Here's a pic of my beautiful Bandit:

Hi Steffano,

Great to hear/see that you got your new bike back in one piece :) It looks really nice. Didn't realise there was a Scorpion can on it :D - I'd say it sounds great heh heh.

Got me a new machine over the weekend too :D decided on a SV650.

L.

The exhaust sounds phenomenal! :D I'm so proud! *tear*

SV650 is beautiful (especially the lights at the rear)! But the empty area right behind the front wheel put me off a bit...

Post some pics of it if possible! Is it a new bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Nice one Steffano.. Well wear..