Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hollystown GC

• 27-06-2006 1:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭

Playing Hollystown tomorrow for the first time lads - what can yis tell me about it, am I in for a treat?

Any local knowledge tips for someone making their debut?? :)

Any holes I should definitely leave the (occasionally wayward) driver in the bag?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭Poker & Pints

But NO. Overall it is a pretty bad course. IMO on of the worst values for the money. There are a couple of decent holes. You will spend most of your time watching out for balls if there are many on the course as the holes are so close to each other. The greens are pretty poor and can vary significantly. It is quite short and you're best to take iron of 3 wood off the tees. There are 3 nines and it can be worse if you get the wrong combo...it wil depend on what they let you out on.

Personally I would cancel and go out to Knightsbrook in Trim...Less expensive and 400% better(if not more).

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

not sure i agree with p&p. it's a pretty decent course, but he is right it is crap value for money esp since they have raised the prices. but there are a few good par 5s and one lovely par 3 as well as a few other nice holes. it is a bit short in general but more narrow than short, you can use the driver on most holes if you are straight and long...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭GreenHorn

daveym wrote:
    you can use the driver on most holes if you are straight and long...

Note To Self: Leave Driver at Home! :)

Well it's a freebie anyway so I'll just be glad to be playing on a Wednesday afternoon!

How much are the greenfees, out of curiosity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

Greenhorn, bring the driver, you'll enjoy the break on the short par fours where you can play driver wedge into the green, thats is your off whites, if your off blues it's a little longer, their best 18 is blue/yellow, however they've let the grass grow a bit on the greens as their captains isn't coming up for another two weeks, a lot of interesting changes with the ponds gone in and the narrowing of a few holes, yo may beplaying the new blue 8th (should be oopen soon), needs another year or two to be where they are going though, everything takes time, some golfers can understand that, don't let the others put you off, it's grand for a freebie, €36 last time i was there. have to say out of the last two courses i played Hollystown and Corrstown, i'd rather play Hollystown again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭Poker & Pints

Sorry, you need to clarify Green...for free its great. How did you get on?

I am off to scotland tomorrow...Muirfield, Carnoustie, Gleneagles and St andrews over the next few days. SO I am excited.

Sorry, you need to clarify Green...for free its great. How did you get on?

We played the Yellow 9 followed by the Blue 9 and I thought the course was fine. I made a show of myself on the Yellow 9 but turned it around significantly on the Blue, which I'm told is the toughest of the 3 sets?

Course was fine. Some nice par 3s and wasn't playing as short as I suspected it would. Some narrow drives and I found the greens very small and tricky to hit even with a wedge in hand.

Not a bad course although their slogan 'Championship Golf at Affordable Prices' may be stretching it a bit. Not sure if you'd call it 'Championship' standard.

Actually, is there an actual technical standard that a course has to be up to to label itsels 'Championship'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭delboy159

I actually played it for the first time on Tuesday evening. Yellow/Blue combo.

They have used the water very well around the place, the trees and streams also work well, but the lack of elevated tees and greens does take from it just a little. I wouldn't have called it short, but saying that it's not long either...

€38 at weekends is steep and I think its €28 midweek, however after 5.30 on weekdays the dusk rate is €20 (which is what I paid), which I think is pretty good value for the standard of the course. I was on my own, so I took my time and got around in about 3 hours. The fairways are well looked after. The greens are in good condition as far as I could see. Not spectacularly fast or undulating, but consistent and well kept

I'd recommend it as a dusk deal, but no way would I pay the guts of €40 at the weekend - when you could drive 1 hour down the road to Esker Hills for €45

GreenHorn wrote:
    Not sure if you'd call it 'Championship' standard.

Actually, is there an actual technical standard that a course has to be up to to label itsels 'Championship'?
    actually in fairness they can call it championship as it's held GUI championship events which a lot of "championship" courses haven't,with leinster youths competition in recent memory, they've seemed to let it off its boil a little in recent times, but with headfort only down the road at under 60 euros on the weekend and esker hills at 45 it'll have a hard time getting people in.

I must get out at Esker Hills one of these days - have heard great things about it... Played Headfort New a couple of years ago and enjoyed it very much I must say.

GreenHorn wrote:
    I must get out at Esker Hills one of these days - have heard great things about it... Played Headfort New a couple of years ago and enjoyed it very much I must say.
    headfort new is class isn't it, really shocked me, i wasn't expecting much for 45 euro when i played it but was blowmn away, class course for the price