Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bikers?

• 24-06-2006 1:20pm

I had to drive the cage down to UCD twice last week. When i was sitting in queues not going anywhere I noticed that most of the guys passing me on bikes were in some questionable set-ups.

I wasn't surprised at the moped gang going along in their suit trousers etc but then I saw some guys on big shiny bikes wearing paddock jackets, light linen like trousers and no gloves!! Now not all of the lads were missing all the gear but I was still shocked all the same.

I would have thought that most of us here would be wearing the gear the whole time but maybe I'm wrong. What is the general thought on these guys on big bikes wearing no protection? Are they bikers or just the fair weather guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

personally i always wear gloves helmet boots (not always bike boots but good boots )and jacket i live in cork so if iwas running in town on a hot day would only wear jeans but if in any way the journey will be more than 20 mins or i'll be at speed for more a short spell i'd wear bike pants
    i hate when i see lads on bikes in runners and tracksuits and no more than a helmet for protecion :eek:
    when it comes to going up the side of traffic lads take your time remember not every one cares about bikeers and have the attitudeof fu*k em they shouldn't be driving up the side :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Jamesobrady

My own view is if i amn't all warriored up then im not taking the bike.....I used to put on jeans and just jacket/helmet/gloves for short trips...but since i started working around paramedics and their stories..and had a sidechat with an aunt who works in a+e one evening after calling up to a family do on bike in jeans/runners and got some details of her experiences i've decided being warm is better than being flayled by the tarmac,getting your feet ripped off, or having your toes amputated in seconds,ankles ground off, kneecaps missing, shins distorted, fingers amputated/mashed, elbows permanently wrecked.. you know?

Seeing a friend in jeans take the skin off his kneecap only a few weeks ago at 10mph didnt do much to sway my current view.

Most recently saw a tracksuit riding a new gsxr 6 fairly low around a roundabout....all i could think was how sad it'd be to be "cleaned" into a pile of goo by the side of the road. with a powerwasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭a_ominous

There's a program on Men & Motors called "All the gear, no idea". Almost applies here. I don't care if I sweat like a pig under gear going to work: I wear a T shirt and change when I get in. Can drink a litre of water when I get in too. Much easier than a skin graft, etc.

I used to cycle to work. Average speed about 30kmph. Highest ever speed was 60kmph for a 100m stretch. didn't make much difference on a 14km commute though ;) I still wore a bike helmet and mitts. I did have a fall off push bike and grazed hands. Not pleasant and you get all sorts of s#!+e in the wound.

If I do have to go somewhere where I can't get changed, then I have to use the cage.