Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

physiology and health science in carlow

• 21-06-2006 10:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭

hey im thinking of doing this course next year if i dont get the points for physiotherapy-anyone do it/know anything about it?:confused: would really appreciate any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

only that i know 2 people that dropped out in first year a few years back in it, and that everyone else thinks it's rock hard!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I have a few friends that did it and loved it.

Can you swim? It would be pretty daunting in 1st year if you can't!

It is a hard course but easier then and a gateway to physiotherapy while also oepning up loads of other options for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭Ballerina

yea i love swimming!well,mixed opinions there but sound ok.im a bit "meh" about it though because i would have to move from dublin and im only seventeen and a bit of a home bird!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

the reason im glad i went to carlow was coz i got to move away. livin away from home is cool! i'd say the first year to get digs and live wit someone who'll cook for you until u get used to it, then 2nd year get a house in southern gardens or somewhere. its the best craic you'll ever have. like a 24/7 holiday.

will you be 18 by september?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Ballerina, if your a a home bird and don't want to move out yet maybe do a plc course in the field first?
    it will give you a headstart and a year to decide

wow thanks for all the advice,i posted this a while ago and got no response:D

ill e be 18 in december :mad: yea i would actually love to move away and all that,i think it would be great!im just a little worried that i could possibly hate it ya know!but i am quite an outgoing person so i would probably be alright :o

no i think id like to go straight into it rather than do a plc course,loadsa reasons too complicated to explain here.fingers crossed ill get physiotherapy in trinity but if not-carlow here i come!!......(unless i do the yoke in dcu thats like the carlow one i think...mmm...decisions decisions...)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

The_B_Man wrote:
    will you be 18 by september?

typical question from you bman...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Rogueish

Ballerina wrote:
    hey im thinking of doing this course next year if i dont get the points for physiotherapy-anyone do it/know anything about it?:confused: would really appreciate any help.

I did the course both the cert and degree (a number of years ago) and have done a bit of lecturing on the same course.

The first two years you will be covering a variety of modules/subjects such as biology, chemistry, physics, anatomy, exercise physiology, fitness training techniques, psychology, massage, first aid and another few that I can't think of right now. You can apply to UCAS in your second year for physiotherapy in the U.K. There is usually a high percentage who get physio in the U.K. Some do go on and do chiropractic, occupational therapy, sports science, sports rehabilitation, health management, speech therapy, etc.

Swimming was taken off the syllabus a year or so ago.

If you decide to go on to the degree it is an extra two years where you study subjects such as sports nutrition, musculosketetal assessment, movement dysfunction, pathology of soft tissue injury and more (all of this you will probably aready know from the website and prospectus).

Don't worry about being so young. I was 17 when I came to college (I didn't turn 18 til the following Jan). Physiology tends to be a very tight knit class and everyone tends to get on pretty well, people tend to make good friends that go off to colleges in the uK and share accomodation and/or stay in touch well after college.

You don;t seem to know too much about the course in DCU it is called Athletic Training - it will qualify you to work mainly in the sport arena. The main advantage that Carlow has over the course in DCU is that you have the option of transferring (through very well established links and routes) to alternative courses in the U.K. after only two years.

Don't let the computer techies put you off the course in regards to the workload. It is no different than if yo go and do physio in any other college. The computer techies only have a few hours lectures a week in comparason to the physiology.

If you have any further queries please do not hesitate to ask either by posting or by PM.

Kiith wrote:

hehe shut it u! no harm in askin! ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Ballerina, Carlow is one of the better places to start when young and moving away from home for the first time. It a small town so everything is within easy reach.
    It's a good idea when you start to join a few clubs and societys. Not only do they fill the gab when your out of money and can't go to the pub they also help you make alot of friends with similar interists.

One word of advice, stay away from B-Man, he cannot be trusted.

haha jesus christ, i was only askin to see if she could experience the full whack of freshers week and that. coz lets face it, if ur not able to get into scraggs or whereeverm theres not much to do in c-c-c-carlow.

however, if u find urself single come september, lemme know. hehe nah im jokin...but seriuosly! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭balkieb2002

Kiith wrote:

LOL ya classic bman chat up line :) , at least he wont be round "for all of" next year as i'll know you he'll be round in fresher week and rag week probably in drag too :p

But anyways he makes a good point as no point being an outgoing person if ya cant get into any pubs or niteclubs, kinda ruin whole collage expierence!

"The computer techies only have a few hours lectures a week in comparason to the physiology."

Physiology is hardly more then 32 hours a week now is it?;P

haha yea the whole underage thing is sh*t!here lads thanks a mil for all your help its brilliant,ive got my cao sorted woohoo.now its time to enjoy my holliers!cheers everyone x

ah u cant leave us hangin like that! so are u comin to carlow or not? we neeeeed to know!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭ali.g

ah u cant leave us hangin like that! so are u comin to carlow or not? we neeeeed to know!!!

sounds like a gang bang :D:D

you may want to refrase that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭tom_ass19

Kiith wrote:

cradle-snatcher id say....lol ;)

HAHA sorry!aw no iv decided not to put it down you all sound horrible hahaha ;) aw no i put down physio in trinners,ucd and limerick because they lead directly to a qualification in physio ,and then i put carlow(woo go team!)
    so ANYWAY,chances are,ill be joining all you madyokes next year unless the examiners mark my papers very eeaasy..woohoo!carlows in the level 6/7 side of the cao form anyway so ill be offered that and then whatever i get in the level 8 section!sothere yis go!

(by the by im in portugal soaking up the sun haha suckers..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭tom_ass19

ya well im in cork n its a beaauuttiiiful day....haha

im stuck in work doin the night shift in an office with no windows. i can pretend the weather is however i want it, coz im sittin next to the thermostat and i have that azure background! oooh.

i know its been a while but i just thought id let yous know i got physiotherapy in ucd so i wont be heading to carlow!im sure it would hav been deadly!thanks anyway for all the help!xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Ballerina wrote:
    i know its been a while but i just thought id let yous know i got physiotherapy in ucd so i wont be heading to carlow!im sure it would hav been deadly!thanks anyway for all the help!xxx

Damn you scorpion woman!

Ill just have to return this large batch of prophylactics :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 glucosamine

Ballerina wrote:

congrats work hard and play hard

Damn you scorpion woman!

Ill just have to return this large batch of prophylactics :mad:

oookaay :confused:

haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Ballerina wrote:
    oookaay :confused:

Just kidding, dont mind me im Dutch. Now off to shave the baby....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I saw John Wayne do that once....good tv