Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommendation for a week holiday

• 19-06-2006 8:45pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭

All right,
    Myself and my bro and a mate are headin off for a week holiday (first wk of july) and are not too sure where to go!!
    Choices are (so far)
    • Santa Ponsa - good spot but ive been already
    • Salou
    • Lanzarote
    • Greece - Zakynthos

I'm basically looking for a cheap and cheerful lad's holiday.
    not going to Ibiza for "safety:cool: " reasons

Any recommendations/suggestions welcome

Cheers

Mik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭babaduck

Lanzarote might be too quiet.

Santa Ponsa... horses for courses (not mine) but Palma Nova/Magaluf might suit you

Salou - well you have Port Aventura to head to when you get bored

Zakynthos - never been myself but good reports from the lads in work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Jood

Hi

We're heading to Zakynthos the last two weeks in July cant wait havent been before.

Just came back from Lanzarote and it has gotten so expensive I couldnt believe it.

I thnk Salou is mostly a family resort. If you're looking for wild nights out and the like you'd better ask for apartments without kids, you dont want to run the risk of being thrown out for waking the children at all hours ( happened to us once in turkey sooo funny!!!!.) :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Yea thinking of Zakynthos all right - heard few good reports all right and some nice stuff to look @ if not feeling up for a mad one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

Been to Zakynthos last year.

Absolutely gorgeous. Really loved it. Short ferry journey to Kefalonia (another island) which is also gorgeous.

If it's mostly partying you're after, then the only place in Zakynthos to stay is in Laganas, the rest of the resorts would be way to quiet for you.

(We stayed in Kalamaki, 5 mins drive from Laganas, which was perfect for us (pretty quiet), but if you wanted to party every night, then there wasn't much to do there & taxi to & from Laganas would get a bit painful, I think.

The water park wasn't open when we were there (was opening the next day), but it was tiny, don't don't be expecting any great shakes there.

Would definitely recommend the island.

Cheers BoozyBabe - Sounds good.
    I'm not after a "MAD" holiday but would like the option of having a good night or 2 and seeing some stuff too.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

You might want to read this thread before making any decision on Salou

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

i would pick zakynthos - have heard good things about the place

zaph wrote:
    You might want to read this thread before making any decision on Salou

Cheers for that!!

Also just thinking about Gran Canaria - any opinions??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Zakynthos is the spot for you alright, beautiful place, and lively, but enjoyable nightlife scene.

Lagunas is full of Lager Louts though, a little too much action for me, Argassi would be a better option.... sort of a happy medium.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

I'm in the same boat(or plane) of trying to find somewhere to go too.

This Zakynthos place you speak of sounds interesting.
    I looked up the Lagunas on budget travel and it was €999 for the week!
    What are the other good resorts?

Cheers.

We booked Argassi for €671 for the 14th-28th July with Budget. Apparently Argassi is quiet enough but its only about €10 - €12 in a taxi to Laganas so I wouldnt be too fussed about that. Kalamaki is the nearest resort to Laganas.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Was in Zakynthos last year.. if you want a session, then this is the place to be.. Laganas was built solely for tourists apparently.. there are restaurants and pubs all over the place.... Its essentially 2 streets and everything is nearby.

I stayed in the Pythari Studios, The apartments are a bit small and they are basic but clean. Nice small complex owned by a Scottish woman and her Greek husband. Both very sound. Very nice and decent size pool and pool area, bar right beside it, small restaurant in front with very nice food. An added bonus was that it was less than 2 mins walk from the main strip, away from all the noise so you could have a good nights kip and still be near it all.

This site will give you everything you need to know:

http://www.justzante.co.uk/laganas.htm

Some good pubs and clubs there. Also some not so good.

If you like your food, go to Georgio's.. absolutely class place to eat. A little more expensive than the rest, about €25 for 3 course with beer, each but well worth it.

If you need anymore advice or info send me a pm :)

Tox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

Was in Zakynthos a few years ago in Argassi (Corrinas Apts) Nice spot.Hire a car and drive around the island.You wuill do it in a half day.The only downside is the airport.You see what I am talking about when you arrive!

Moanin these are the apartments we are staying in as well. Were they nice?? How much spending money would you recommend I take for two weeks. I want to do a few trips, few mad nights out and hire a moped for a few days??

Stayed there about 3 years ago.They are nice and clean and there is a decent pool and poolside bar with good lunch food and beer refreshments etc.Its not very busy at night tho but its only 5 mins to the centre of town.Its a lively enough resort but nice.I love greece.The seafood is good there.I dunno what you are like at spending money but you get large bottles of Hineken for around €3.50 when I was there.We booked with Budget and had no problems.There is a good pub on the right side about 500m away from the apartments a kinda rock bar with pool tables,This is a good lively spot.I cant think of the name sorry.

I'm very good at spending money :D
    I'll have about 1500 - 1600 so I'll be grand I'd say.

Thats plenty!

Oh good I'd hate to run out, thanks for all your help. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭michelle_ie

santa ponsa is good craic real irish place loads of bars etc! love it!