Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accomm in Dubronik-help!

• 15-06-2006 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭

Howyiz,

Bit of a long shot but lets see what ye can do! Me and another female friend are going to Dubrovnik 1st August for 4 nights. Trying at the moment to book accommodation online, just a twin room with bathroom would be fine. We're trying not to spend much more than 40euro a night each. And to top it all (ye'll prob laugh) we would like to get it in the old town. Having problems searching online as

1. Hotels are horrifically expensive.
    2. Hard to get twin rooms in europe as a rule, might have to go for a double bed (no comments lads)
    3. A lot of the accom websites you have to get in touch directly with the owners to check availability and wait till they eventually get back to you just to tell you it's not free. And places seem to be going quickly..

The whole thing is doing my head in! :mad:

Question is: Can ppl recommend me some more websites that actually show availability and allow you to book directly online? (already know travellerspoint.com, lonely planet exchange...) We'd prefer not to use hostels unless they have private rooms. Or can anyone recommend somewhere nice they've stayed, not too dear, just to narrow the field down a bit?

Thanks a mill, please help if you can..x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ixus

Hey, I,m in Dubrovnik at the moment, if you look at my recent posts you,ll see a list of sites worth a look. Culchie,s a great man for helping but he,s out here at the moment too!

Just got into Dubrovnik last night, no need to stay in the old town at all. staying on the bus route and its about 5 mins and only a euro AND it,s nearby the beach here.
    im staying with my missus in a place for 200Kuna ( 1 euro = 7 Kuna) so less than 30 euros all together for a night though bathroom ( good ) is shared. It,s good quality and theres a pretty decent sized couch in the room too!

I,ll be back on Sunday if you need more info.

Have been in Split (loved it) hvar (unreal!) and Korcula (pretty sweet too)

Later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ixus

Heres the link

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054925393

Now, really am outa here its really hot too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭bleary

HAve you looked @ Hostelworld.com?
    There seem to be very few hostel type accomodation in dubrovnik
    Most of the places listed are private rooms
    this one has a twin room for 42 euro looks quite nice Rooms Vicelic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭missmatty

Thanks Bleary.
    I booked a place this morning on www.travellerspoint.com for about 52 each per night. It's a little more expensive than i meant to pay as its billed as a 3-person place as the couch is a pull-out bed. But it's got tv, air-con, little bit of a kitchen etc and i think they do airport runs as well so i'm happy enough. The accommodation seems to be filling up fast so we just wanted to get booked in and be done with it. It's a pain after a while so now i'm relieved it's sorted!