Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Security Business

• 13-06-2006 12:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

Hi, is there anyone out there working in security??? Static, retail, industrial, gigs, doorwork, anything - what experiences do you have? Some stories to tell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I worked in industrial security as a part time job when I was in college. Long hours (12 hour night shifts etc) but very easy work. Wages were very good for the time as well. You can make some really decent money out of overtime, night shift allowances, Sunday rate etc.

By the time you're working overtime on night shift on a Sunday you're getting a pretty impressive hourly rate!

Some weeks I came out of it with over €600 when the overtime was plentiful - this was back in 2002/2003.

I had to do the odd shift in retail, which really, really sucked. Spending all day chasing little scumbags around a shop is not a nice occupation. Hours were better but that's all that can be said for it.

My employer gave me some decent training at their head office in Dublin, basic first aid, fire safety, law as pertaining to retail security etc.

Got my job by applying to pretty much all of the main security companies in one go through the ISIA website (www.isia.ie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Just some warning: many security jobs (which I've seen) are 6 days a week, doing 12 hours a day. Good money, bad social life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 makmaciek

Well I've been doing retail security myself for 1 year now and I've had enough, I am leaving this cursed company I work for. I also work on the doors here and there, so it's true that money could be rewarding but when it only is when ur doing plenty of hours (ur talking 60-70 a week when doing doorwork along with ur day job). What turned me off is an overwhelming boredom, standing around for 8 or 12 consecutive hours, which is even more boring and tiresome than any physical effort. Plus you don't see any outcome of ur job, there's little satisfaction. But one of my mates works in town and he's on 15 euro p.h.!!!

But the amount of hassle u get in town, all the scum and junkies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Out of interest, do security guards in different retails stores cooperate?
    For instance if a gang of troublemakers are at the top of Grafton Street, would they get on the walkie-talkie and warn security guards in retail units down Grafton Street?

Also, do the security guards only contact people in their own company or would they help out another security company in a neigbouring retail unit

I'd be interested to know

Security guards from different stores do cooperate, especially on busier streets like Mary St or Grafton St. At least those who have special street radios. Everyone has his own frequency and number (01, 02, etc.) and there's switchboard service coordinating their communication (the shops pay some 25 euro a week for rental of the street radio).

If ur in trouble and can't ask for assistance (u usually say ''code 10'') u can press a button on ur radio few times. They will send someone to check with u then.

Once there was a couple of junkie shoplifters in town who got caught in one of the shops. They started freaking out, demolishing shelves and stock, the guy jumped on a security guard and loafed him. My friend rushed in to help him and along with security guards from the mall they forced ur man to the ground. But that mate of mine got bitten in the hand, by a dopey junkie. Scared to the death he was, he could have been HIV positive...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I have worked in various security jobs over the years, mostly sites. It is incredibly boring work and you have to work 60-70 hours a week to get any decent money out of it. The most I was getting for site work was €9 an hour with no OT. Also it seems that most companies ignore the Organisation of Working time act which limits you to 48 hours a week.

I found that most security outfits are run by shady people who should not be involved in the business to begin with. Legally the biggest criminals in the country can set up a security business and no one can stop them. It's only the reputable ones that are registered with the ISIA, who pay decently with OT and Shift allowances. There are better and easier ways to earn money.

Bond-007 wrote:
    Also it seems that most companies ignore the Organisation of Working time act which limits you to 48 hours a week.
    From people who I know who work/worked in the security trade, they say that you sign off on this little thing in your contract. Legally, you can't be rostered more than 48 hours, unless you agree to it. Not all contracts are upfront about this, no doubt, but'll be there somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

the_syco wrote:
    From people who I know who work/worked in the security trade, they say that you sign off on this little thing in your contract. Legally, you can't be rostered more than 48 hours, unless you agree to it. Not all contracts are upfront about this, no doubt, but'll be there somewhere.
    They cannot legally do this. I checked this with the labour court and they say that you cannot waive this in a contract. To do so would be illegal.

Bond-007 wrote:
    They cannot legally do this. I checked this with the labour court and they say that you cannot waive this in a contract. To do so would be illegal.
    Sweet. Any chance of a link online? I know people who may be intrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

micmclo wrote:
    Out of interest, do security guards in different retails stores cooperate?
    For instance if a gang of troublemakers are at the top of Grafton Street, would they get on the walkie-talkie and warn security guards in retail units down Grafton Street?

Also, do the security guards only contact people in their own company or would they help out another security company in a neigbouring retail unit

I'd be interested to know

Yeah, you won't have a problem there, the whole city centre is linked, through the one company, it's then split into smaller sections. You basically put out a code 10 and you'll have aload of people in your store in no time. Having said that you actually get very few code 10's since you'll be warned of anyone coming up or down the street, so you'd effective stop them entering the store before they come in. Once you help other stores out, if the $hit ever kicks off in yours you'll be covered. Basically you scratch my back I'll scratch yours.

The funny thign is most big store's eg. Roches, Arnotts don't subscribe to the particular radio system and asa a result have very little warning if anyone is heading their direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

gillo wrote:
    The funny thign is most big store's eg. Roches, Arnotts don't subscribe to the particular radio system and asa a result have very little warning if anyone is heading their direction.

That would be federal, they would have a fair few lads knocking around on Henry street, using there own radio's. No need to link up with the smaller shops, as they would be very well resourced.

Working in security for the last three years, tis very boring work. only do 40-48 hours a week, get well payed for it. Mostly non nationals at it now, very bad english, and a could'nt give a sh*t attitude.

''Couldnt give a 5h1te attitude'' doesnt really come from nationality, but the fact that they are taking people who dont speak English is a fact. Apart from that, many security guards tend to get this kind of attitude mostly because of average money they are on and boredom they have to fight (instead of lifters). Speaking of which, many security guards forget they are only civilians, not policemen, so they only have right to arrest someone in terms of citizen arrest. No right of search, which means that if for example a person is leaving ur shop and a tagging system is set off, if u havent seen him/her robbing u cant stop that person.

As someone said before, there are better ways of earning money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

On average what is the starting pay like for someone with six months experience? My brother worked various security job for about 4 years and used his experience to get into the guards

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I do gig security sometimes.

The money is really bad but it is fun,you get to see loads of gigs you learn to deal with people and work when you want:)

I've pretty much been offered a job with Mark Watch, was given the uniform at the interview(which I pressume is a good sign), anyone have any dealings with them?

Now the average pay would be someting between 8.50 - 9.00 p.h. in the likes of Group 4 Securicor, etc. As far as I know the likes of BDS and Federal pay bit more, at least 10 p.h. If u want to do retail ur on more, up to 11 euro but the job is truly p0xy and u'll die of boredom...

MarkWatch is €8.10 per hour.

makmaciek wrote:
    Now the average pay would be someting between 8.50 - 9.00 p.h. in the likes of Group 4 Securicor, etc. As far as I know the likes of BDS and Federal pay bit more, at least 10 p.h. If u want to do retail ur on more, up to 11 euro but the job is truly p0xy and u'll die of boredom...

Federal are the best paying out of the lot, if you know which way to go about it. Ask them for a static gaurding job, tis the best area to work in.

8.10 euro per hour??? What kind of company is that MarkWatch, this has to be a joke!!! Man, you'll get at least 9 p.h. in any randomly chosen security company, that 8.10 is a joke. This is not a fair wage and definitely below competitive rates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

The security company that does the apartments where i live pay less than 9, this i know from talkin to ppl working there. I work airport security, there are 2 sections...one is wlel paid 16 an hour..ours cause is private and do the same job is 10.35, and the management are all a load of ****..(pardon my language) but they are sly, dodging health and safety etc. Anyways word of advice..stay away from 90% of security jobs

That's it then, leaving retail security forever tomorrow, I swore I'd never go back to it unless I'm dying of hunger and really have to... Carry on with ur duties, security guards everywhere, I'm not gonna fly this flag any more....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

8.10 isn't that bad.

place I do work for pays 8! and 9 for hotels:)

makmaciek wrote:
    That's it then, leaving retail security forever tomorrow, I swore I'd never go back to it unless I'm dying of hunger and really have to... Carry on with ur duties, security guards everywhere, I'm not gonna fly this flag any more....

Just join another company and dont do retail. Retail is the ****test sort of work out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 R.D.F Lad

Hi im a Mark Watch Security Guard i just complted my 2 days training in penny's sligo my hours are 8.30 to 6.00 at weekdays and weekends 6.00 to 9.00 and i really F**King Boring for 8.10ph,

ive been doing security for allmost 5 years now in the F.C.A which is really Great coz im an ARMED Security Guard and if you get Board you can just Shoot yourself lol, i use a Styer A.U.G A1 Assult Rifile and i get 60 live round's but i only need 3 rounds incase someone Attack's me,

All i have to do is Fire 2 Warning Shots into the air and the 3rd shot into the Knee-cap of their leg, it has not hapend yet but i hope it will soon,

I get paid 15.51 an hour Tax Free For Certin Security Duty's, but only for 6 weeks full time in the Summer we have a new name now: R.D.F meaning Reserve Defence forces,

I also have the Mark watch Training Maual here with Me Now which i have yet to study coz i just got a copy of it before i left for Home AKA Co. Donegal

The Tital of the Manual Says Our Business is about Insurance,

If you have any questions regarding this Maual please reply to this Topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

R.D.F Lad wrote:
    All i have to do is Fire 2 Warning Shots into the air and the 3rd shot into the Knee-cap of their leg, it has not hapend yet but i hope it will soon

Anyone else hear the alarm bells goin off here?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

R.D.F Lad wrote:
    ive been doing security for allmost 5 years now in the F.C.A which is really Great coz im an ARMED Security Guard and if you get Board you can just Shoot yourself lol, i use a Styer A.U.G A1 Assult Rifile and i get 60 live round's but i only need 3 rounds incase someone Attack's me,

All i have to do is Fire 2 Warning Shots into the air and the 3rd shot into the Knee-cap of their leg, it has not hapend yet but i hope it will soon,

I get paid 15.51 an hour Tax Free For Certin Security Duty's, but only for 6 weeks full time in the Summer we have a new name now: R.D.F meaning Reserve Defence forces,

You are an example of whats wrong with the RDF,thats if you are even in it.

connundrum wrote:
    Anyone else hear the alarm bells goin off here?

No. TBH, I'd expect nothing less. The dude would be security for a large weapon cache. Every barracks I've been in, has a nice supply of weapons. If they got onto the market, some serious damage would be done.

Also, knee-capping is pure bull, imo. For that to happen, you'd have to be a good shot, or very close. Aim for the chest, cos @ 10 meters, at a moving target, hitting something smaller than the are of a CD would be damn hard.

Oh, and before someone says thats OTT, what motive would you have for trespassing on a barracks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

the_syco wrote:
    No. TBH, I'd expect nothing less. The dude would be security for a large weapon cache. Every barracks I've been in, has a nice supply of weapons. If they got onto the market, some serious damage would be done.

Also, knee-capping is pure bull, imo. For that to happen, you'd have to be a good shot, or very close. Aim for the chest, cos @ 10 meters, at a moving target, hitting something smaller than the are of a CD would be damn hard.

Oh, and before someone says thats OTT, what motive would you have for trespassing on a barracks?

I was more pointing out this statement tbh.
    R.D.F Lad wrote:
    it has not hapend yet but i hope it will soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Dub13 wrote:
    You are an example of whats wrong with the RDF,thats if you are even in it.

Yeah, ye hit the nail on the head there. Was in the FCA about 10 years ago and sadly it seems to attract more than it's fair whare of utter twats like this lad. What the hell is this nutter on about, 16.51 for security duties for 6 weeks in the summer!?!?! If your in the RDF, the only security detail you will be doing is on your way to or from the firing range or if your stuck on to the advance party for your annual camp, which is 1 week and not 6 weeks, unless things have changed drastically since I was in the FCA???