Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker related songs

• 12-06-2006 5:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭

We probably know all the films by now.

Anyone know of any good poker related songs?

My favourite would be 'The name of the game is stud' by Tom Paxton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jacQues

accensi0n wrote:
    Anyone know of any good poker related songs?
    The turn of a friendly card - Alan Parsons

jacQues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Spanish Train - Chris de Burgh
    And of course
    The Gambler - Kenny Rogers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

Bob Dylan - Lily, Rosemary, And The Jack of Hearts

Patsy Cline - Turn the Cards Slowly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

House of the rising sun - the animals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭Wallko

Clint Black - A good run of bad luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭delanec8

"Two Live Cards" and "Jimminy Cricket I flopped a flush" by Niall Hayden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Crazy game of Poker by O.A.R

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

Dam that river - Ailce in chains

Not about poker but appropite title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

"anyone can lose it all" - whats the name of this song/artist? Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Paddy Casey? Saints And Sinners?

I know I have question marks there but they're for dramatic effect. I know I'm correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭wayfarer

delanec8 wrote:
    "Two Live Cards" and "Jimminy Cricket I flopped a flush" by Niall Hayden

LMFAO!! :D .. oh what a ne'er-do-well that Jimminy Cricket be ..

btw I wanna learn a love song by Harry Chapin makes a referance to poker, thats all that I can think of. Well except for the obvious one, i wanna be a hippy by happy hardcore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

an often neglected poker reference (probably?):

Maybe there's a god above,
    But all i ever learned from love
    Was how to shoot somebody who outdrew you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

jtsuited wrote:
    an often neglected poker reference (probably?):

Maybe there's a god above,
    But all i ever learned from love
    Was how to shoot somebody who outdrew you.

I don't think Cohen was referring to poker in that one, but he definitely was in "The stranger song" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭Mr. Flibble

2 Unlimited: No Limit ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

there was a 2/3 wk period when i was going into the free roll, singing in me head "free falling" obviously changing the words though!

always thought it would be hilarious if when some1 gets knocked out another one bites the dust is blared out - cruel but funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

DocO wrote:
    always thought it would be hilarious if when some1 gets knocked out another one bites the dust is blared out - cruel but funny

Oh the hilarity of it all, I'd love that!

even just the bass line would have great effect:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

C'mon, what's wrong with yiz? Nobody mentions Kenny Rogers!! 'Know when to hold'em'

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Lazare wrote:
    C'mon, what's wrong with yiz? Nobody mentions Kenny Rogers!! 'Know when to hold'em'
    look in post #3 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

AC/DC - The Jack
    Bob Dylan - Lily Rosemary and the Jack of Hearts

5starpool wrote:
    look in post #3 ;)
    *eat my words*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Kane

The Ace of Spades - MotorHead

Is this the way to Amarillo (Slim) - Tony Christie :-)

Well, it was Gatlinburg in mid-July
    And I just hit town and my throat was dry,
    I thought I'd stop and have myself a brew.
    At an old saloon on a street of mud,
    There at a table, dealing stud,
    Sat the dirty, mangy dog that named me "Sue."

cormie wrote:
    even just the bass line would have great effect:D

I wonder could we get the large foam fingers they used to have on gladiator?

was once at the final table of a 100+ private function (fundraiser for a GAA club) and kenny rogers was put on. with a bar serving all night there were many well on their way and we had bout 10 people singing chorus at top of their voices whilst the game was still going . . .

brought a tear to my eye :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭celticbhoy

Lazare wrote:

Ya, A Boy Named Sue - Johnny Cash...
    Written by the lesser known Shel Silverstein...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Have to buy this album!!! :D:D:D

Found this...

Artist/Band: Cledus T. Judd
    Lyrics for Song: One Jack Off
    Lyrics for Album: Bipolar & Proud

Every Friday night I go to bubba's hardware store
    and give the secret knock on the private stockroom door
    good ol' boys are shootin craps playin' five card stud
    hot lookin' women
    ice cold suds
    this blonde was playin' poker
    she was on a roll
    I sat down beside her with my ace in the hole
    I had to draw a jack to win
    with a stright ace high
    but win I drew that card
    I kissed that pot goodbye

cause Im one jack off
    here in my hand
    I got an ace, a king, a queen, and a ten and
    now Im in a jam
    I was doin' fine till I pulled that nine
    thats win I went soft
    I was temptin fate with an ace high stright
    but Im one jack off

Ive played with this deck so long its messin' with my mind
    Ive heard it said to much of this it can make a man go blind
    I can't let her beat me but I aint got a pray
    Im sure shes got a real good hand
    I see shes got a pair
    I stared accross the table
    holdin' that cheap call
    then win she raised me
    well I dang near lost it all
    I tried to pull it out figurin' Id bluff
    but win I showed her what I had
    she said too bad your one jack off

Im just one jack off
    aint that great
    she said nice try but not to quick and an ace dont make a stright
    I said how about another round
    she said adie up there hoss
    she took all my money
    and Im still one jack off

Im one jack off
    just my luck
    she won my favorite pair of cowboy boots
    and the pink slip to my truck
    I knew Id have to come again next week
    to get back what I lost
    thats the story of my life
    its seems Im always one jack off

thats right

one jack off

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

"Killing the Sunday €30 Freezout" by 'The Fingerpaint Portraits'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

Probably very obvious

"Sitting next to Lois Lane
    You got that woman but you want her gone
    So you can sleep with a teenage blonde
    You wear a mask wear an armoured suit
    Can't get to you with the gun I shoot
    You play your cards close to your chest because ya
    Poker face is a dreadry mess"

Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Lazare wrote:
    "My name is Sue....how do you do....Now you gonna DIE!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

"I can feel your heart beat" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Bad Flop Blues by Jimmy Spade and the Pokerettes.

My musical ignorance is really being driven home to me now when I can only recognise around 5 of the songs mentioned in this thread.

Pighead wrote:
    Bad Flop Blues by Jimmy Spade and the Pokerettes.

Pighead is here, Poker has arrived !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Oh and:

Ray Charles - Losing Hand

Ray Charles - Who took my blinds?

Here is an abstract reference to poker for ye. How about:

Good Golly Miss Molly

Anyone?

Dylan- 'positively 4th street'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

5starpool wrote:
    Here is an abstract reference to poker for ye. How about:

Good Golly Miss Molly

Anyone?

Gholimoli?

ocallagh wrote:
    Gholimoli?
    it musn't have been that abstract at all then. still sad though and I would like to apologise to the world for bringing that into existance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

who knew those faglitossers keane were poker players!

So little time
    Try to understand that I'm
    Trying to make a move just to stay in the game
    I try to stay awake and remember my name
    But everybody's changing
    And I don't feel the same

Where the streets have no name - U2

or

the winner takes it all *

unless of course ther is a split agreed to give the final 9 out of a field of 30 a token prize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Some good ol' lyrics from cowboylyrics.com

I sat myself down at a poker table
    The sign said, Dealers' Choice - I played awhile
    When my deal came, I flipped the first card over
    Said, "Spit in the ocean, Cucamonga style!" [P]

[NC] He said, "We play Draw and we play Stud
    And I mean, bud, we play for blood
    But, No sir, we don't dig no, 'Nothin' wild!'
    You can buy one in a pinch
    Stack the deck or check a cinch
    But, we don't dig no, 'Cucamonga style'."

(Change to E:)
    I dropped a dollar on the blackjack table
    And told the dealer, "Let the face cards fall!"
    I turned over 18 and said, "Hit me!"
    Well, he did and that's the last thing I recall.
    One for the dealers - Emmylou Harris;
    It's true that all the men you knew were dealers
    Who said they were through with dealing
    Every time you gave them shelter
    I know that kind of man
    It's hard to hold the hand of anyone
    Who is reaching for the sky just to surrender,
    Who is reaching for the sky just to surrender.
    And sweeping up the jokers that he left behind
    You find he did not leave you very much
    Not even laughter
    Like any dealer he was watching for the card
    That is so high and wild
    He'll never need to deal another
    He was just some Joseph looking for a manger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

5starpool wrote:
    it musn't have been that abstract at all then. still sad though and I would like to apologise to the world for bringing that into existance.

apology accepted :)

i liked it though..!

MadsL wrote:
    One for the dealers - Emmylou Harris;
    It's true that all the men you knew were dealers
    Who said they were through with dealing
    Every time you gave them shelter
    I know that kind of man
    It's hard to hold the hand of anyone
    Who is reaching for the sky just to surrender,
    Who is reaching for the sky just to surrender.
    And sweeping up the jokers that he left behind
    You find he did not leave you very much
    Not even laughter
    Like any dealer he was watching for the card
    That is so high and wild
    He'll never need to deal another
    He was just some Joseph looking for a manger

That's The Stranger Song I linked to earlier by cohen;) Saw Emmylou the other night with Mark Knopfler too though:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭ligger

The River, Springsteen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

Forget Lily, Rosemary, and the Jack of Hearts... here's where it's all at!

Rambling, Gambling Willie - Bob Dylan.
    Come around you rovin gamblers and a story I will tell
    About the greatest gambler, you all should know him well.
    His name was Will O'Conley and he gambled all his life,
    He had twenty-seven children, yet he never had a wife.
    And its ride, willie, ride,
    Roll, Willie, roll,
    Wherever you are a-gamblin now, nobody really knows.

He gambled in the white house and in the railroad yards,
    Wherever there was people, there was Willie and his cards.
    He had a reputation as the gamblinest man around,
    Wives would keep their husbands home when Willie came to town.
    And its ride, Willie, ride,
    Roll, Willie, roll,

Sailin down the mississippi to a town called New Orleans,
    Theyre still talkin about their card game on that Jackson river queen.
    Ive come to win some money, gamblin Willie says,
    When the game finally ended up, the whole damn boat was his.
    Roll, Willie, roll,

Up in the rocky mountains in a town called Cripple Creek,
    There was an all-night poker game, lasted about a week.
    Nine hundred miners had laid their money down,
    When Willie finally left the room, he owned the whole damn town.
    Roll, Willie, roll,

But Willie had a heart of gold and this I know is true,
    He supported all his children, and all their mothers too.
    He wore no rings or fancy things, like other gamblers wore,
    He spread his money far and wide, to help the sick and the poor.
    Roll, Willie, roll,

When you played your cards with Willie, you never really knew
    Whether he was bluffin or whether he was true.
    He won a fortune from a man who folded in his chair.
    The man, he left a diamond flush, Willie didnt even have a pair.
    Roll, Willie, roll,

It was late one evenin during a poker game,
    A man lost all his money, he said Willie was to blame.
    He shot poor Willie through the head, which was a tragic fate,
    When Willies cards fell on the floor, they were aces backed with eights.
    Roll, Willie, roll,

So all you rovin gamblers, wherever you might be,
    The moral of this story is very plain to see.
    Make your money while you can, before you have to stop,
    For when you pull that dead mans hand, your gamblin days are up.
    Roll, Willie, roll,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

There may be trouble ahead …. Written by Alan Williamson.

Should I Stay or Go Now by The Clash

Cry Me A River by Julie London.

And completely off subject is below

A few classic names for Country and Western songs - enjoy

Mama Get The Hammer! There's A Fly On Papa's Head!:

"Get Your Tongue Outta My Mouth 'Cause I'm Kissing You Goodbye"

"Her Teeth Was Stained, But Her Heart Was Pure"

"I Can't Fly My Kite No More Cause My Wife Won't Give Me Any Tail"

"I Hate Every Bone In Your Body Except Mine"

"I Still MIss You Baby, But My Aim Is Gettin' Better"

"I'd Rather Have a Bottle in Front of Me than a Frontal Lobotomy"

"If I Can't Be Number One In Your Life Then Number 2 On You"

"If She Puts Lipstick On My Dipstick I'd Probably Fall In Love"

"Pardon Me I've Got Someone To Kill"

"She Got The Ring and I Got The Finger"
    "You Can't Deal Me All the Aces and Expect Me Not to Play"

"You're the Reason Our Kids Are So Ugly"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Bob Dylan - Things Have Changed: "You can't win with a losin' hand" (he hasn't heard of bluffing)

In The Jailhouse Now by many different artists, written by Jimmie Rodgers originally i think...(popularised by O Brother, Where Art Thou?)

I had a friend named Ramblin Bob
    He used to steal gamble and rob
    He thought he was the smartest guy around
    Well I found out last Monday that Bob got locked up Sunday
    They've got him in the jailhouse way downtown

He's in the jailhouse now
    Well, I told him once or twice to stop playin cards and shootin dice

Bob liked to play his poker
    Pinochle whist and euchre
    But shootin dice was his favorite game