Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UGC / Cineworld - people talking during movies

• 12-06-2006 4:31pm

Has anybody noticed a huge increase recently in annoying people continuously talking during movies - particularly at UGC. :mad:
    I don't mean to finger a sector in particular but the culprits 80% of the time are of Eastern European extraction - maybe it's ok in their culture to do this? Or maybe they just don't understand the dialogue so figure that they might as well have a chat.
    In any case it really pishes me off...
    UGC / Cineworld don't seem to have anyone there during the movie to monitor this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Juggalo

They have people who come in every now and then to check up, but they never do anything. I don't mind some chatting during a no-brainer action flick.

fair enough if it's mi3 or something like that but the other night I was watching united 93 and there were a few groups of people nattering. I guess that I'm the sort of person that it gets to and really takes away from my enjoyment of the movie 'cos it annoys me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

am i the only person that hates going to the cinema because i feel uncomfortable saying somethingduring a film?

fair enoughn if someone is talking loudly but you cant even open your mouth to whisper something about a scene/character without someone going off.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Choose your time as best as you can. To be fair, I saw "United 93" in Cinéworld on a Sunday night and there wasn't a peep from anyone throughout. In fact, the cinema was deathly silent as the credits rolled in a respectful way. Ditto for "Paradise Now".

I can't stand people nattering through the movies - do that outside you fcuking selfish cnuts. I even don't care for people whispering beside me because it's a distracting audible sound but it's not half as irritating as those people who want to engage in a little chat.

Cineworld can be bad - afternoon showings are an utter nightmare at weekends for mainstram releases for example - so really try and target if you can. Having said that, I'm convinced my blood pressure increases tenfold sometimes in there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 TriWannabe

i hate people talking during movies, ESPECIALLY someone i came with. its so annoying. whats the point in paying good money if you are going to miss important points in the movie just cos someone cant shut up for an hour or 2. it really gets on my nerves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Rcuomo

god triwannabe i bet you're a barrel of laughs to go to the cinema with...what if you brought a girl on a date, would u tell her to shut-up if she said something?

anyhows, in response to other poster, i often make a few comments, jokes, points to mates in the cinema (not loudly) and no one ever says anything...

i hate it as much as the next guy if someone's constantly talking loudly....
    it's even worse when someone answers there phone in the cinema and starts having a chat - this usually happens in uci coolock....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

I tell people to shut up. Usually a few "shhhhs", if that doesn't work i turn around and say "shut up". I haven't hit anyone.... yet.

I have the UGC unlimited card, so i generally only go there. I have noticed its bad recently - can't compare it to other cinemas though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Rcuomo wrote:
    god triwannabe i bet you're a barrel of laughs to go to the cinema with...what if you brought a girl on a date, would u tell her to shut-up if she said something?

anyhows, in response to other poster, i often make a few comments, jokes, points to mates in the cinema (not loudly) and no one ever says anything...

i hate it as much as the next guy if someone's constantly talking loudly....
    it's even worse when someone answers there phone in the cinema and starts having a chat - this usually happens in uci coolock....

Well there's a difference between sayings something on occassion during the film as opposed to outright talking. I was watching the Omen the last day and there was a gang of 8 knacks in with us. From start to finish, they were just laughing, shouting and generally "being cool" as they usually do, leaving the rest of wondering why the fcuk do you even come here....anyway, I would have honestly complained to the staff if it wasn't for the fact I knew some of them and it'd be more hassle then it was worth in the long run.

As well as that, they were unbelievebly thick. There was a scene in which a woman is brushing her teeth - one of the knackers goes really loudly "Wha? Whats that wooden stick in her mouth?" Big pause. Then one goes "Thats a toothbrush you ****ing muppet"...then all 8 combust into laughter and ten minutes of "Ya big mong ya" and similar...

Worst experience I've had in ages. This was in Galway mind....not UGC, but still....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭JimmySmith

I've given up goint to the cinema just because EVERY single movie i go to people are nattering away. Its so annoying. I actuall hit one guy a few months ago who answered his phone beside me. I said 'ssshh' when he answered it and he gave me a dirty look and went back to talking on the phone so it hit him one. People started cheering and he left telling me he was going to kill me.

I think UGC is the worst because people go in with that cinema pass thing and have no comprehension of getting value for money because they havet just shelled out for the ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

Yes, I've noticed a bit of an increase in talking in Cineworld over the last few months.

I've never, ever seen anyone cautioned over talking loudly. One time there were a bunch of retards at the back of the screen, a guy went out to complain and the attendant came in and just sat down in front of them! Now, they quietened down but bloody hell, throw them the hell out! After ruining the first 20 mins for people they still got to see the film! Throw them out!

One time there was a couple (not knacks, not very young, seemingly respectible) who just started showing each other texts during the film. So in my peripheral vision I had this big bright backlight shining away (bright enough to illuminate both their faces). I debated telling them to turn it off for about a minute until just before I was about to, they turned it off. Very annoying. :mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Yeah this is definitely one of my pet hates. It drives me mad when people talk during movies because it totaly ruins my enjoyment of ot. My girlfriend is one of these people as well who has the distinct inability to follow a movie so must ask me questions every 5 mins. Not so much now because she knows it drives me nuts.

I have to agree that Cineworld is the worst and I have complained a few times but nobody has ever been thrown out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

oh what pisses me off is when a herd of 13 to 16 yr old girls decide to tramp up and down the ailes while the films on nattering all the way. i swear to god if i ever go to jail for anything it'll be taking the silly little twits out:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Well I have the Unlimited Card for Cineworld (eh Jimmy), and I go with the missus (I'm an inconsiderate git) who's eastern European (I should be taken out and shot) at least twice a week (g'ss I must be a right c'nut). I will admit it does seem to happen more often that someone talks during the movie, but it generally seems to be teenage male scumbags who just don't give a sheit. In fairness though while it has increased, it's still fairly uncommon.

in fairness its usually the teenage girl crowd that bother me , they seem to think because they're in the big screen they can twitter away. i remember watching the last lord of the rings film and at the poignant bit before the end (where they were hiding from the eye of sauroman) they were giggling non stop about something or other and it really pissed me off .
    fortunetly an eighteen stone leather clad biker leand over and told them to shut the fcuk up and they were so traumatised they left 5 minutes later :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

constitutionus, you don't happen to be an eighteen stone leather clad biker do you?!?! ;)

I also hate how people talk (yes, I tell the people I'm with, even when at home watching a movie to shush if they start) and even worse those whose phones ring and then start having a chat! I also have an unlimited card and know full well the value I get out of it however if I wanted to be around people having a natter, I wouldn't be in a movie theatre!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭JimmySmith

eo980 wrote:
    Well I have the Unlimited Card for Cineworld (eh Jimmy), and I go with the missus (I'm an inconsiderate git) who's eastern European (I should be taken out and shot) at least twice a week (g'ss I must be a right c'nut). I will admit it does seem to happen more often that someone talks during the movie, but it generally seems to be teenage male scumbags who just don't give a sheit. In fairness though while it has increased, it's still fairly uncommon.

Actually its the Irish teenage girls that i think are the main culprits. And i think its so common that 90% of the movies i have gone to in the last 3 years i have heard people yapping through them. And the phones, the phones ..... I'd love an EMP pulde generator. for cinemas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I had a bad experience in Storm in Limerick last weekend.

I went to the Omen on Saturday evening. I knew when I walked into screen that there was going to be trouble - there was at least 20 teenage knackers there (looks like they all came together) - they outnumbered the adults who wanted to watch the movie in peace. They sat in 2 or 3 different groups in different parts of the room. As the movie went on, they started shouting out stupid things to each other, throwing popcorn, playing musical chairs etc., basically ruining it for the rest of us.

The security guard came in after half an hour and told them to get out. They wouldn't move. Unfortunately he can't manhandle them to kick them out, so he just left. Messing continued. An hour into the movie, the lights came up and the movie stopped. The knackers were told that the movie wouldn't be restarted until they left. They wouldn't leave.

10 minutes later (lights still up), security came back in and told that the cops were on the way. That still didn't scare them out of it. 10 minutes after that, I went out to see what the story was. We were told that it was too late to continue the movie, and that we would get a comp to another show. So we left.

Cops arrived 10 minutes later, went in, and left after 2 minutes. Looks like nothing happened.

It was a total pain in the hole, and the cinema are absolutely powerless to stop these assholes from causing trouble.

(And the Omen was just getting good too...... I don't have the heart to sit through the first hour of it again - I'll just wait for the DVD)

Man that is pretty shocking. How can people be that wankerish to ruin it for everyone else.

eo980 wrote:
    Man that is pretty shocking. How can people be that wankerish to ruin it for everyone else.

see thats the problem with modern ireland. anyone'd try that crap in the eighties they wouldnt have made it out of the cinema. hope at the very least the little feckers got banned:mad:

Ahh shoot me down if you will, but I think we have definetly become too liberal and politically correct. We are far too concerned with Little Johnnies rights and ignoring the fact that he's caused a right ruckus! There are no more consequences for scumbags when they cause hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

eo980 wrote:
    Ahh shoot me down if you will, but I think we have definetly become too liberal and politically correct. We are far too concerned with Little Johnnies rights and ignoring the fact that he's caused a right ruckus! There are no more consequences for scumbags when they cause hassle.

I think that's the very sad thruth of the matter.

Well I've bought two tickets for tomorrow in Cineworld. I think I'll get away without annoyance in Hard Candy but I'm not so sure about The Omen 666. Eek!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Hard Candy should be safe enough, but I'm dreading The Fast and the Furious this weekend......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Rcuomo

i'd be dreading it to if i was going to see the fast and the furious....

Rcuomo wrote:
    i'd be dreading it to if i was going to see the fast and the furious....

Heh Heh

(I'll go see it when my missus is working) - She'd never believe I was just interested in the cars!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Personally, I think avoiding the weekend is best. Cinema on weekdays I find is best, although it could be a problem if you're working evening.

Phew! I got away with it! No little bastards about. In each screening (Hard Candy and The Omen 666) there was a group of 4 teens, but they weren't knackers and seemed respectful of everyone else. I didn't hear a peep. In fact, the cinema seemed quite bare for midday Friday, on a school holiday.

eo980 wrote:
    Heh Heh

(I'll go see it when my missus is working) - She'd never believe I was just interested in the cars!

yes, the cars. with the fine big headlights, firm bumbers and the smooth finnish. they're really why your going :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

glasso wrote:
    I don't mean to finger a sector in particular but the culprits 80% of the time are of Eastern European extraction - maybe it's ok in their culture to do this? Or maybe they just don't understand the dialogue so figure that they might as well have a chat.
    I was in UGC the other day for The Omen and there were 4 eastern europeans behind us who decided for most of the film to translate a lot of it to each other (or so I would assume... )

Very annoying..

Also there was some crazy guy sitting beside us who, every time there was a little jump or something "scary" happened, would jump out of his seat and shout "FU*K" at the top of his voice... obviously wasn't exactly the sharpest tool in the box but it was damn, damn annoying...

From posts here The Omen seems to be the worst affected film in a while...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

steveland? wrote:
    It was a bit like that for me as well, but not by Eastern Europeans. It was a group of teenage girls a couple of rows down who would scream at the slightest 'surprise' and then start laughing at each other because they all screamed.
    Gah!

steveland? wrote:
    **** films attract **** audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

All sorts of non-nationals can be guilty of it, but they perhaps have an excuse - their cultures may not care so much about quiet in the cinema.

Its the local twats, who answer their phone and kick the seats etc. No excuse.

I'm gonna cancel my unlimited card at this stage. I miss going to the IFI and the Screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Tingo

I've never really noticed that in UCG, some other cinemas maybe, but it's not as if I go that often. There probably are people, but I find if the movie is generally good that I don't notice them. If it isn't good and I'm bored then it's not big loss anyway. :cool:

If you time the movie you want to see you can probably avoid most annoying people. As a film gets older people are more inclined to talk than in a new release. Everytime I've gone to a preview the cinema is completely full and silent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Let out a roar to the effect of "shut the ****ing up before I come up there and shove your tongue through your arse".

It may help. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

ciaranfo wrote:
    Let out a roar to the effect of "shut the ****ing up before I come up there and shove your tongue through your arse".

It may help. :)
    I'd imagine you'd be the one getting kicked out...

I was in UCI Coolock yesterday to see Hard Candy... it was at 9.20pm so I wasn't expecting any little gougers coming to see it and acting the maggot but there were three middle aged women sitting beside us who just wouldn't shut the **** up...

Also, by the way, UCI Coolock have THE squeakiest seats in the history of cinemas...

Feck it... I'm joining the IFI... I don't care if 90% of it is artsy-fartsy ****... at least if you have to pay to join you're more likely to love film enough to shut up for an hour and a half and just enjoy the film...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've a pet hate that I'm suprised noone has mentioned.

Many times I've gone to the cinema and someone in the row behind me is constantly tap,tapping away at my row of seats.

As the seats are joined, they don't have to be directly behind me to cause my seat to shake.

If there's a few people behind you, there is no way of knowing who is kicking your row so not much you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

I found it amusing and couldn't find anywhere to put it,I was in the ugc last week and asked if any ugc card previews were on. The guy said i'd be notified by post, i was on the last second so left it but it made me chuckle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I cannot stand people talking during a flick. I remember a few months ago me and a friend went to see Cheaper By The Dozen 2 and there was a group of girls behind us awww'ing and whatever and it drove me up the wall (I know it was to be expected, but wtf in fairness!). Also when we went to see The DaVinci Code there was another group of girls behind us laughing at the most inappropriate times, and it fooked the whole atmosphere up!

and the friend in question, if we watch a film we have already seen he talks relentlessly through it. I fooking hate it! I turn on the film to watch it, not to hear him waffle on about bullcrap!

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

TmB wrote:
    I had a bad experience in Storm in Limerick last weekend.

I went to the Omen on Saturday evening. I knew when I walked into screen that there was going to be trouble - there was at least 20 teenage knackers there (looks like they all came together) - they outnumbered the adults who wanted to watch the movie in peace. They sat in 2 or 3 different groups in different parts of the room. As the movie went on, they started shouting out stupid things to each other, throwing popcorn, playing musical chairs etc., basically ruining it for the rest of us.

The security guard came in after half an hour and told them to get out. They wouldn't move. Unfortunately he can't manhandle them to kick them out, so he just left. Messing continued. An hour into the movie, the lights came up and the movie stopped. The knackers were told that the movie wouldn't be restarted until they left. They wouldn't leave.

10 minutes later (lights still up), security came back in and told that the cops were on the way. That still didn't scare them out of it. 10 minutes after that, I went out to see what the story was. We were told that it was too late to continue the movie, and that we would get a comp to another show. So we left.

Cops arrived 10 minutes later, went in, and left after 2 minutes. Looks like nothing happened.

It was a total pain in the hole, and the cinema are absolutely powerless to stop these assholes from causing trouble.

(And the Omen was just getting good too...... I don't have the heart to sit through the first hour of it again - I'll just wait for the DVD)
    Maybe if they'd sat and watched the film properly they'd have sh1t themselves.

Anyway, their primary aim seems to have been to p155 everybody off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

I've had a UGC card for about 3 years and over the last year or so it has gotten unbearable the amount of people talking.
    We had a guy thrown out for talking on his phone once, we asked him to hang up and shushed him a few times and in the end my boyfriend went and got security and he was chucked out.
    I shush people constantly in UGC. Its horrible. Usually they just laugh at me or other people who ask them to be quiet. There must be something the cinema can do.

captain P wrote:
    I've had a UGC card for about 3 years and over the last year or so it has gotten unbearable the amount of people talking.
    We had a guy thrown out for talking on his phone once, we asked him to hang up and shushed him a few times and in the end my boyfriend went and got security and he was chucked out.
    I shush people constantly in UGC. Its horrible. Usually they just laugh at me or other people who ask them to be quiet. There must be something the cinema can do.

G'sss I have never really seen it so bad. Once there was a crowd of scumbags, maybe 5 or 6 who spoiled the film for folks, but just the once and I go quite often. What time of the day are you folks going at, also what kind of movies do you see where this kind of thing is happening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

Just bring a bag of apples with you next time, and if anyone talks......