Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Robbie Williams - Free Concert

• 10-06-2006 9:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 45

last nite woz unreal nd robbie promised 2 come bak and do a free 1 cause someting broke,,,, will it happen ???????

09/06/06 - Robbie Wiliams - Croke Park - Legend of a gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

Last night was pretty good although I would not say it was "unreal".

He actually said that he was going to come back and do a free concert because he was unhappy with his performance - the broken cage thing was just unfortunate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

I think he'll do it, you can't tell 90, 000 people that you'll come back and play for them again and not do it. I'd be pretty certain that he will. He wasn't as good as he's been in previous tours (I'll never forget Phoenix Park in 2003) but he still rocked Croke Park lastnight, it was a great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

ahahhahaha "Robbie Willams" and the word "rock" don't belong in the same sentence together, unless you have "do not" in there somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I luv rbie. I tink he is da bst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

he iz gr8t LOL!!!!!!1111

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭dave101

i think he is very over rated.
    but yeah he does get the crowd going. how and never mostly women there last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

What a waste of a date at croke park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

GaRtH_V wrote:
    ahahhahaha "Robbie Willams" and the word "rock" don't belong in the same sentence together, unless you have "do not" in there somewhere!
    Nonsense... how about:

"i threw a rock at Robbie William's massive head!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

U2 have been saying for years they are going to play free gigs here, Robbie Williams being such a man of his word will undoubtedly play for free someday, when he no longer can sell tickets....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

to be totally honest i think robbie is dreadful....although i heard he mentioned take that and also sang one of their songs...which im not at all impressed by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Not as big fan but the guy can entertain seen him at Slane and was amazed he got 50k Verve and manic fans rocking.

last night he did the same to 80k of his fans, **** me the amount of wimmen was deadly added in sunshine and boobies and best day ever for pervert watch :D

Thank god for camera phones :)

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 3.16

hopefully the press keep the idea afloat so it just doesn't disapeer and is never talked about again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

basquille wrote:
    Nonsense... how about:

ah touché

and a free robbie gig is as likely as a free U2 gig

does neone have pictures or vids from gig, i'd love to see them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭mel123

wts d sry wt al d posts??

gig was brilliant last night, i think cause he said himself he didnt perform a great gig then people started saying 'oh he wasnt great', if he didnt say that about himself everyone would be saying it was a great gig. in saying that, he wasnt jumping around the way he usually was. free gig, i really dont think so. wouldnt believe it at all - i think he prob meant it himself at the time, but doubt anything will come of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Quote:
    Originally Posted by GaRtH_V
    Nonsense... how about:

There's more:
    "Robbie William's career on the rocks!!"

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Grimes wrote:
    I luv rbie. I tink he is da bst
    he iz gr8t LOL!!!!!!1111
    wts d sry wt al d posts??

Jesus, are none of you lot able to use a proper keyboard. This text ****e is really destroying the english language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i wnat iz babiez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Devious

Aquos76 wrote:
    Jesus, are none of you lot able to use a proper keyboard. This text ****e is really destroying the english language

Nurse! I need a sarcasm-detecter for immediate insertion, STAT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

So some of you don't like him...whoop di feckin doo! Do you want a medal? If you don't like him good for you, but obviously a lot of people do and we should be able to talk about his concert on here without some of your "hilarious" comments. :rolleyes:

As regards the free gig....I won't hold my breath but I've never heard of him ever saying anything like that before and it was very obvious he thought he didn't put on his best show Friday night (even though I'm sure most people there would disagree with him)....if the press make a big deal out of it he can't go back on his word. Who knows he might do it....his manager didn't look too pleased when he said it though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

NIBBS wrote:
    U2 have been saying for years they are going to play free gigs here, Robbie Williams being such a man of his word will undoubtedly play for free someday, when he no longer can sell tickets....

U2 talked about doing a free gig for anyone to go to. Robbie reckoned he didn't perform to HIS best and would do another concert for everyone there for free. If it does happen I imagine ticket stubs will have to be produced.

It remains to be seen if anything happens - I'll hang on to my ticket stubb just in case.

D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

Did anybody notice the number of empty seats in the Lower stands beside the medical tent? There was at least 100 seats free all night, I couldn't believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 helsbels

datk wrote:

It remains to be seen if anything happens - I'll hang on to my ticket stubb just in case.

D

I'm going to hang onto my ticket as well. I didn't think anything of it on the Friday night but have seen it on the news and in the papers so you never know (although I won't hold my breath). I thought it was a great show anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 hynzy

Did anybody notice the number of empty seats in the Lower stands beside the medical tent? There was at least 100 seats free all night, I couldn't believe it.

dats because yo cudn see from those seats, all the people who had tickets der were standing at the back, the place was defo sold out.

it was an absolutly brilliant night, great craic and i reckon the concert will happen although i dont think it will be free.

i wouldn't care if i had 2 pay 100 euro for a tickets robbie is a legend , born entertainer, there woz talk about the free gig on sunday world,the sunday star nd the mirror today,, please god let him come bak ,,,,,,, friday was brill,best concert i was eva at

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭cookie dough 61

I hope to Christ it happens.... I didnt get... my f*ckin' bus didnt show up & I didnt get :mad: Can you believe such a thing!?!? Im keeping the ticket..... although I keep all tickets/stubs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭PADDYPOKER

Can't see a FREE concert happening again.
    80,000 at Croker at average 75 Yoyo and he gets about half
    hmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Sauce

I reckon he will show up to something like 02 in the park and sing a song or 2 and then be gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 tracy20

Just heard on TV3 news that Robbie might be playing Slane in September along with The Rolling Stones. What do you think???:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Neo#

I hope your right but I think its been cancelled this year. Would love to see the Stones at Slane though.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭spartacus93

Both of them is probably unlikely....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭tracert

Yes, I can confirm that this is true. AC/DC are playing, too. And Greenday.

hows is tat , wen is it , i would defo go ,,,,,, be unreal,,, is there neting on the internet bout it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭X-SL

yeah. www.robbiewiliamsatslane.com

I think the website is down due to so many people trying to go to it. also try:

www.robbiewillainsfreeconcert.org
    www.robbiewilliamsinIreland.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

PADDYPOKER wrote:
    hmmmmm
    You don't actually believe that he was paid €3mil for one show do you?

As for the man himself, I can think of far worse pop acts. He plays with a live band, puts an assload of effort into his live shows and has been entertaining enormous audiences for years. More power to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭TOPDAWG

PADDYPOKER wrote:
    hmmmmm

I reckon even if he did a free gig he WONT lose out financially. imagine the media coverage he could get if they pushed it as him doin it for the fans etc etc. Even if they sold tv rights,dvd rights and what with merchandise etc its a win win for robbie and the fans!

p.s. to the robbie slaters i was at the gig on friday and thought it was the best gig i was ever at, if your not a fan of robbie find something better to do with ur time than come on here and try be the big man with thick-as-$hit "humourous" oneliners! :mad: ....rant over.....

i agree , i woz at robbie on friday, class nite, now paddy power are putting bets on to see where he will play,,,,, slane would be brill,, buts theres something special about croke park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Aquos76 wrote:
    i think you were missing the point mcTool ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

I would have thought Phoenix Park would be the place?

Marlay Park 2 - 1 (big enough)
    The Point 7 - 1 (too small)
    Vicar Street 40 - 1 (way too small)
    RDS 7 - 2 (too small)
    Phoenix Park 7 - 1 (big enough)
    St. Stephen's Green 80 - 1 (too small)
    Croke Park 5 - 1 (would depend on date)
    Lansdowne Road 12 - 1 (possible but depends on residents)
    O'Connell Street 100 - 1 (unlikley)
    Slane 5 - 1 (possible but not for free)
    Rooftop of the Clarence Hotel 33 - 1 (lol)
    Shelbourne Park 250 - 1 (lol)
    Punchestown 6 - 1 (Transport problems)
    Dublin Castle 40 - 1 (too small)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

Just been on Robbie's official site and it has a review of the Dublin show - it mentions a few technical hitches and that Robbie promised to be back by the end of the year. Nothing about a few gig though! So maybe TV3's news about Slane being on in September is right and he's been planning to come back anyway. Don't know if the free tickets will materialise though, or maybe anyone who can produce a ticket stub will get a free ticket - I would imagine not everybody will go back.

As far as the cost - according to the newspapers the GAA made one million from Robbie's gig, so €80 x 80,000 less GAA's cut leaves Robbie with 5.5 million to cover costs and his cut so the whole tour will make him a tidy packet so he'd be able to take the hit of a free gig and as someone above suggested it would give good press.

D

if so wen will it be announced about this gig , wen is it likely to take place???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

his last gig is end of september in cardiff so after that if he does it.
    if its free cant see it being in a venue, unless he offers it ticket holders from last other night, which means croke park / lansdown road.
    but since there is so much hassle involved they wouldnt get them.

that means phoenix park is the only option.
    so my prediction for free gig-
    phoenix park last weekend in september.

of he promised 90.000 fans a gig then he has to give them a gig so phoenix for free or punchestown / slane at a cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭DJ_Brady

Heres a video I did..a close up one at Croker of the opening..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nDUXikCKHQ

fare play to ya,,,, brill videos ,is there any way i can download them to my computer?????? or could u send the croker videos to me via e-mail???? PLEASE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 goonthedan

Has it been confirmed yet??? seen something last week about it in paper still being discussed , people are saying it will be in marley park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

I wouldn't hold my breath. Free - Robbie might wave his fee but who is gong to cover all the expenses hardly our promoter friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

Hardly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

It was in the paper that he cant do it this year, but will next year.

So how would the free tickets be distributed? Raffled on his website? I doubt the law would allow him a "come on in" free for all in Phoenix Park due to crowd control aspects (though they did with the Pope i suppose).

His new tune is fairly pants, but theres no denying he is an exceptional entertainer. Anyone recall the Live 8 performance of Angels, he ended it off by ingeniously combining the outro of it with Fat Joes Lean Back, keepin both the ladies and the hip hop heads happy :D

I like Angels, as it brings back the memory of last New Years Eve, rubbered singin along to it with this bird. Ironically, since NYE, when i lost my wallet, 2006 has just been a constant stream of bad luck.