Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amaerican Kenpo Meets MMA?

• 05-06-2006 11:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭

Hello all,

I found this clip on a Kenpo sight and thought this was quite interesting (bar the cheesy soundtrack). It's great to see these American Kenpo guys go all out. I guess it does not really matter what style you do as long as you have the right mindset (and I'm not just saying that 'cause I do a bit of AK). But the other thing I really liked was that they are at home with any range. They have obviously embraced grappling and ground fighting (which was not part of the original Kenpo syllabus). It was even more interesting to see the other Kenpoists reaction on the forum .
    “That's not Kenpo!!”
    “If I wanted to train in that, I'd have joined the UFC!”
    “I did not see any techniques!”
    “That's not the way Kenpo sparring should be”
    Etc.

Obviously The guys that made these silly statements, have never been in a scrap. And are still basing there opinions on “theory”, or what they “think” a fight should be like. At least those guys are trying to bring it to a more realistic level. I'm not saying that they are doing anything new – but it's rare to see traditional Kenpoists looking to add to their precious syllabus from another style, and then getting into some proper sparring).

Here's the Vid Clip:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ct3UrNPxwc

Just my thoughts,

Cheers,

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭kenpo_dave

Baggio... wrote:
    Hello all,

I found this clip on a Kenpo sight and thought this was quite interesting (bar the cheesy soundtrack). It's great to see these American Kenpo guys go all out. I guess it does not really matter what style you do as long as you have the right mindset (and I'm not just saying that 'cause I do a bit of AK). But the other thing I really liked was that they are at home with any range. They have obviously embraced grappling and ground fighting (which was not part of the original Kenpo syllabus). It was even more interesting to see the other Kenpoists reaction on the forum .
    “That's not Kenpo!!”
    “If I wanted to train in that, I'd have joined the UFC!”
    “I did not see any techniques!”
    “That's not the way Kenpo sparring should be”
    Etc.

Obviously The guys that made these silly statements, have never been in a scrap. And are still basing there opinions on “theory”, or what they “think” a fight should be like. At least those guys are trying to bring it to a more realistic level. I'm not saying that they are doing anything new – but it's rare to see traditional Kenpoists looking to add to their precious syllabus from another style, and then getting into some proper sparring).

Here's the Vid Clip:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ct3UrNPxwc

Just my thoughts,

Cheers,

B.

Ye Ive seen that before. Quite interesting. Its great to see Kenpo becoming more rounded :) There has been an increased interest in grappling and ground fighting in the Kenpo dojo where I train, which hopefully might be the beginning of a new era in how we train, but lets not look too far ahead just yet :)

OSU,

Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Kenpo - It's where it's at.

Can you post a link to the site, I'd like to read the comments.

It was pretty funny/cool to see the flashy kicks as part of there stand up, but I suppose not every clip was of there "full range fighting".

Nice progressive training there, but I didn't see Delayed Sword once.

Colm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Hi Dave,

That's the first time I've seen it to be honest. I just liked their approach to A.K. It's cool to see people opening up to new ideas. And not just having a their heads in the sand and saying: “Well I hope it does not go to ground”.
    Although its the Americans themselves that really fear any change to the system. Some of the Irish guys that I have training with over the years have an open mind and realistic attitude.

Hi Colm,

I know what you are saying about the kicks:) . Good to see no use of “delayed sword” either. I don't usually post on that site TBH. As my views are way too “outrageous” apparently. Someone called me a thug, because I said “Why the hell would use striking serpents head when I could just head butt the guy?”. You get the picture – but it's kinda fun to check out the odd time.

Here it is:
    http://www.kenponet.com/

The thread is called:WILL YOUR KENPO WORK?!?!?!
    Cant seem to link to it directly for some reason. But it's halfway down the first page.

Cheers guys,

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

See!!

Any TMA can adapt to a more rounded approach to fighting!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Paul,

Its good stuff like, but its not Kenpo. SO I'd be wary of saying YAY! Kenpo can change!

What I saw was guys doing Kenpo sparring of the sort seen in most Karate or TKD schools around the world, and then a TOTALLY different method of fighting when the MMA stuff was done.

Don't get me wrong, I applaud them for it and for their open-mindedness, but to say it reflects a progression in Kenpo is a bit premature.

Baggio,
    Thanks, nice vid.

pma-ire,

It's true... I think as long as people have the right mindset and understand the dynamics of a fight. Then their chances are greatly increased whatever the style (Although CQC is my first choice, but that's just me:D ).

Cheers,

B.

Hey Roper,

I'm not saying that this is a Kenpo "progression" per se, or that it will be the next evolutionary step in the art. Because lets face facts, 99% of Kenpoists out there are very happy, and see their system as fool proof. But I think these guys are cool because they have introduced new dynamic into their own Kenpo training (Grappling, tough sparring, etc.). I'd say the same for any org. that used these principles to enhance and make their training more realistic.

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Roper,

Yeah your right...

Could be worse - Could be some of Tatum's stuff. Hahah!:D

Check out the "mystic warrior"...
    http://www.ltatum.com/images/pendrawlarry.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

yes reduce the number of rules, fight with a KO ethos (no that doesnt mean you have to go 100%) and it ends up looking like MMA regardless of what 'style' you do. looks like most fights you'd see at the Am MMA league run by PBS.

good for them and hope they are enjoying it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

From a stand up point of view...

the way their sparring, is similar to how we trained back
    in the mid 80s in ireland.

Back then before what we did became fully kickboxing...it was sort of a cross
    btwn a modified wado karate, with boxingstance and guard. the sparring was often full contact, definately hard, extremely rough, with tempers flaring quite often, we leg kicked too. This was mugendo....see the link on my signiture. fights were continous rounds too.

Funnily, even in these wild full on sparring matches, flashy kicks could work for somepeople. no one would have seen of thai kickback then. people sparred with 8oz boxing gloves, and runners on...sometimes lads who had no gear wore light bag gloves to spar...and a bag inthe mouth with those was not fun!

While the training back then , would not have been as sophicated as today, I do miss those old style sparring sessions.

I Think it would be great if more TMA embraced that type of sparring/training. They would find out real quick what works and doesn't. But as John rightly pointed out, you don't have to go 100% all the time (You can tone it down if need be). Just drop the point sparring concepts. Unless that's your thing...But for realism I'd recommend something else.