Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

honours irish aiste

• 05-06-2006 10:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭

hey everyone. does anyone think that timpiste bothar(road accidents) will come up in the aiste. A few of the teachers in my school said that it would more then likely come up because of so much people dying im road accidents over the past year, has anyone elses teacher said this to them?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The paper would have been set up to a year ago, so I'm not sure how relevant recent accidents would be. That said, the vocabulary you would use for such an essay could easily be used for other topics.

You are far better revising phrases and vocabulary than 'learning off' a particular essay.

Best of luck - I'm sure you'll do fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

Hm, well, there was the incident with the navan bus crash, which made the topic LESS likely to come up, due to people being sensitive and the like... Good thing about the timpiste story is that you can alter it to fit lots of different titles.
    Then again, I remember having to make up an entirely new story for my Junior Cert last year... was about getting lost on a school trip, I think. Shudder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

You can twist nearly any story to be a timpiste story, you'll more than likely get a story about a school trip. You can always have an accident there, what's a school tour without someone breaking a leg/drowing/getting burned to cinders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Twinkle-star15

No, I don't think you could really predict it. But there's lots of choices, so learn off the start and end to a diaspóieacht, aiste, stuff like that, as well as phrases like 'ar an tslí eile' and you should be okay. That's what I'm doing, anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭leprehaungirl

okay! thanks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

My teacher gave us a handout with an essay on it about a helicopter crashing at a beach, I'm learning that off. No matter what I have to write about on the day, a helicopter will crash. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭disney

I think 2 out of the three mocks this yaer had something about newspapers. Saying they are a waste of time cos all they do is tell of bad stories, so if that comes up itll b ok, the environment, young people, road accidents all that can be put in there!!!

Is anyone as dead as I am 4 Irish??!!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

Don't worry!I've only started learning my Agallamh and Aiste today so don't fret.I did a nights study beforehand for every test in the mocks and I did better than OK.After all,your result doesnt even matter when youre 18/19

Sweet wrote:
    Don't worry!I've only started learning my Agallamh and Aiste today so don't fret.I did a nights study beforehand for every test in the mocks and I did better than OK.After all,your result doesnt even matter when youre 18/19

well thank god im not the only one...... i started learning questions that you can ask in an agallamh yesterday!!at least im not the only one!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

I'm going to literally burst into tears in my Irish exam. I cant do aistes for my life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Twinkle-star15

I only survived my mocks because we'd just done youth in Ireland- I had mountains of sheets on it! Of course I had to lose them all.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭peachesxcream

I'm so dead it's not even funny....!
    I don;t really look at or learn off essays, I usually just make them up, but man I'm stressin'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

I'm hoping for some sort of a road accident of a fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

I tend to do all my best learning the night before the exam. As you might have guessed, I'm not the most motivated as regards Irish. Damn it, I'm screwed, but what can you do? Yes, that was rhetorical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭oRlyYaRly

I'll get full marks in the Aiste no problem and the Agallamh'll be easy too.

It's going to be the tapework that'll rob my of my A.

Whoops Irish....hadn't given it a though...I am f[b/u[/b]cked many ways for the aiste =/

oRlyYaRly wrote:
    I'll get full marks in the Aiste no problem and the Agallamh'll be easy too.

It's going to be the tapework that'll rob my of my A.
    Heh, I was the opposite... always dragged down by my grammar...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭BMH

I've 3 A4 pages of "nathanna cainte" that I'll stick in no matter what. We were told to basically string one after another till you get 2 pages done and some kind of sensible plot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭JC06

I'm really,really hoping that either some sort of a festival/concert or an accident or a school tour comes up:D then I'd be happy. Some sort of incident is gonna happen in mine no matter what!

JC06 wrote:
    I'm really,really hoping that either some sort of a festival/concert or an accident or a school tour comes up:D then I'd be happy. Some sort of incident is gonna happen in mine no matter what!
    "My favourite season"

...agus tháinig an gadaí agus mharaigh sé on fear an phoist...mar sin, an séasúr is fearr liom ná an geimhreadh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

BMH wrote:
    "My favourite season"

...agus tháinig an gadaí agus mharaigh sé on fear an phoist...mar sin, an séasúr is fearr liom ná an geimhreadh.

yup. im going to get a big fat F in irish.

WHAT does that mean?

...and the robber came and killed the postman...so, the season I like most is winter.

By the way, our Irish teacher, who is actually pretty good, said that you can get full marks in the comprehensions by just taking the question and repeating it, except for putting "ná" at the end and then sticking on your answer.
    eg, Cé hé an duine is fearr leat as an píosa?
    An duine is fearr liom as an píosa ná...

It's seems too simple to get full marks though. Anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭disney

Dunno, our teach said that it is better to re-phrase, however the other way is not incorrect, just notas good.

But dont ask me , táim crap ag gaeilge!!!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Don't know about jus sticking na in(how do you get fadas) I thought 'na 'meant 'than'. I fyou use the question and shuffle around a bit to make sense of it you should get full marks!! That's what I do anyway

EDIT: ANd stick in the answer ofcourse :)

The way we were taught was that in a pass paper you could basically quote whatever, even from the text, but in honours you should try and change the wording. Like, change words to show you've a good vocabulary (ag feachaint to ag breathnaich or something.. can't even remember if that's the right word for it...).

Ugh it would be so good if something like ''lá a gcuimhneoidh mé ar go deo'' came up!

(a day i remember very well)...i think.

Can you write crap? Like the day you met a melon and helped him fight the Marshmellow Kingdom. And get full marks if the grammar is right and all that.

Sure, as long as it fits the title.

"D'ith béir é agus ansin bhi sé ag cur fola"

Heh, I did that in class one time.. wrote a story about a dream where I fell asleep during my junior cert and dreamed about talking furniture and purple rain... I think once the grammar is correct you're alright, but i thought it was too risky to use in the JC. They might think you don't know what the words mean if the circumstances are too weird.

10 marks for subject
    40 marks for Gaeilge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭Nanaki

but you can usuallt work in a road accident anyway....
    If we can't tomorrow then I'm fcuked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

BMH wrote:
    "My favourite season" ...agus tháinig an gadaí agus mharaigh sé on fear an phoist...mar sin, an séasúr is fearr liom ná an geimhreadh.

"agus tháinig na gardaí agus mharaigh siad an fear an phoist..."

Victor wrote:

Well gadaí are robbers so that could have been what he meant......:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I realise :D

Yeah.. those gardai and their endless vendetta against the Postal Service.

Victor wrote:
    Well gadaí are robbers so that could have been what he meant......
    Yup =)

I wrote the watching a game one.

It was going very well for the first 1 and a half page. My Irish was excellent, I was throwing phrases all over the place and it was perfect.

The I realised absoloutely nothing happened yet so I got the whole football stadium to erupt in a riot in the last 3 sents. :D

oRlyYaRly wrote:
    I wrote the watching a game one.

It was going very well for the first 1 and a half page. My Irish was excellent, I was throwing phrases all over the place and it was perfect.

The I realised absoloutely nothing happened yet so I got the whole football stadium to erupt in a riot in the last 3 sents. :D
    Not as bad as lightning randomly striking the seat a few feet next to you...

I did the paper backwards so for the cómhra I wrote about Star Wars using the vocab found in the comprehension. My essay was awful, like I knew it would be. I used very simple Irish cos I was a bit rushed and kept thinking in French/German/Spanish >.<

Oh aural was good too, our invigilator nodded off during the aural and woke up when he heard us giggling.

Piste wrote:
    I did the paper backwards so for the cómhra I wrote about Star Wars using the vocab found in the comprehension. My essay was awful, like I knew it would be. I used very simple Irish cos I was a bit rushed and kept thinking in French/German/Spanish >.<

Oh aural was good too, our invigilator nodded off during the aural and woke up when he heard us giggling.
    Nice thinking. My cómhrá was about "The Lost Samurai", where I went on about a boy getting lost in Japan as the plot-line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

For the scéal it took me about 10 minutes to understand what three fecking words meant that I never saw before. The cómhrá was a bit of a disappointment though becasue I had only comhrá's prepared for arguing.

"The film was great."
    "No it wasn't."
    "Bitch."
    "Slut."
    "Whore."
    "Slag."

You could have got a fight in there. :D

you could have argued in the agallamh, it would be perfect to goon a rant about school uniforms.

Piste wrote:
    you could have argued in the agallamh, it would be perfect to goon a rant about school uniforms.

I did the agallamh. It was basically:

-Students like wearing their own clothes. Why do we wear uniforms?
    -Stop populartity contests.
    -I understand. Students like runners. Why must we wear shoes?
    -They look nice.

Except I managed to get a page out of it.

I didn't even understand the agallamh....knew it was something about your school principal though.

Piste wrote:

I haven't ever done an agallamh in my three eyars of irish in secondary school, it's always been comhra's.

Jello wrote:
    I didn't even understand the agallamh....knew it was something about your school principal though.

It was about the rules of the school I think.

It was about the rules regarding uniforms...i think.

Piste wrote:
    It was about the rules regarding uniforms...i think.

i only realised that after the exam, i just thought it was about rules in gernaral, so i had the princepal saying, if a student gets caught smoking their parents are called abd they have detention.....oops!:confused:

i started off doing the spoirt aiste though after 10 - 15 minutes, i had a mental block ,nearly pissed myself!! had images in my head of the day we get our results and me opening the envelope seeing a big f! i was nearly crying!! :rolleyes:
    so i just went on to do the agallamh and the reading comp. and went back the start of the paper and decided to do a dispoireacht - which i have never ever done one in irish before - but it was about daoine oga and i had loadsa cool phrases learned, although it was only 1 a4 page long but i HOPE that my irish was a goog enough standerd to make up for it!!!!!

i only realised that after the exam, i just thought it was about rules in gernaral, so i had the princepal saying, if a student gets caught smoking their parents are called abd they have detention.....oops!:confused:

i started off doing the spoirt aiste though after 10 - 15 minutes, i had a mental block ,nearly pissed myself!! had images in my head of the day we get our results and me opening the envelope seeing a big f! i was nearly crying!! :rolleyes:
    so i just went on to do the agallamh and the reading comp. and went back the start of the paper and decided to do a dispoireacht - which i have never ever done one in irish before - but it was about daoine oga and i had loadsa cool phrases learned, although it was only 1 a4 page long but i HOPE that my irish was a goog enough standerd to make up for it!!!!!

You'll have done fine, don't worry.:)