Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

escalade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

give me a 05 Range Rover every time, that's just vulgar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

yes a rangerover or even a x5.no problem but that looks crap.love to find out how much he sells it for at the end as he wonot ever get asking price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭istep

€95 grand :eek: FFS that's just ridiculous ...agree give me an 06 Range Rover any day or even a tricked out Disco !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

That price probably includes the 2 kg of finest Columbian snow hidden in the door linings :D:D:D

Who but a drug dealer / wannabe "gangsta" / rapper would want to drive this abomination of a vehhickle anyway ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,225 ✭✭✭✭unkel

peasant wrote:
    That price probably includes the 2 kg of finest Columbian snow hidden in the door linings :D:D:D

Bargain! Buy a K and get another K free and a GangstaBarge thrown in for free on top :D

*snnnnooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrtttttttttttttssssss*

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

drdre wrote:
    OMG :eek: , What the hell is wrong with irish prices.this is max 40k usd in US and here its 95k euro:eek:

Its called VRT and without it we wouldn't have the first class hospital system, the fine roads, the world leading public transport system, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Two cars that I will never understand the appeal they have. The Escalade adn the Navagator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

colm_mcm wrote:
    give me a 05 Range Rover every time, that's just vulgar

Have you seen them in the flesh? They are even worse - the pictures don't really show the sheer bulk of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Saw one parked around Croke Park a few months ago... ugly.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Chavved up pimpmobile. It's dreadful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Mc-BigE

kbannon wrote:
    Its called VRT and without it we wouldn't have the first class hospital system, the fine roads, the world leading public transport system, etc.

LOL dont you mean the Gold plated roads!

Seriously, how can most other countries in the world manage to have good public transport ,heath care, road systems AND don't charge VRT?

is it population? petrol prices? toll roads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

unkel wrote:
    Bargain! Buy a K and get another K free and a GangstaBarge thrown in for free on top :D

*snnnnooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrtttttttttttttssssss*

i would buy it if i get that stuff included in the price:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Gatster

He's having a laugh. This is roughly €50k, I can't see that VRT is €44? Alternatively get an 04 RR for your €95k, and some common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Anyone see much american car's, there is a cryisler 300c in KK, big and ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Yeah I've seen that around Kilkenny alright. Saw one on the Cork road just past Dungarvan too (may be the same car).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭spooner_src

Just to say that these prices for american cars are ridculous here compared to US. I have driven a 300C (in Germany), a Escalade and a Ford Expedition in the states and canada. Pretty impressive get up and go once you are premanentally attached to a petrol station.

A bit OT, but the Chrylser 300C comes in a 3l diesel as well, so probably a bit more economic to run. Of course, because you're not allowed diesel in NY or California, you have to buy the apparently more green 5.7L petrol one over there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Mc-BigE wrote:
    LOL dont you mean the Gold plated roads!

Seriously, how can most other countries in the world manage to have good public transport ,heath care, road systems AND don't charge VRT?

is it population? petrol prices? toll roads?

VRT is probalby compensating for the fact that we have one of the lowest income tax rates in europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Lets say it cost 40k euro
    allow 3 grand to get it shipped
    duty would be 10% of 43 which is 4,300
    vat would be 21% of 47,300 which is 9933
    which is €57233

then, the VRT is 30% of what the revenue reckon it's worth, and it's gonna be compared to the raro and other top end suvs in this regard, so lets say the revenue value it at 95k thats another 28,500 giving the cost price of €85,733

then throw in a few grand for your troubles, also known as profit, and a few more grand for haggling room and you're very quickly at 95k

it's not cheap, but the guy clearly has a lot of money tied up in this venture too.

eoin_s wrote:
    you're not allowed diesel in NY or California, you have to buy the apparently more green 5.7L petrol one over there!

Ah well, at least the hemi is one of the very few good things automotive that originated in the US :)
    prospect wrote:
    VRT is probalby compensating for the fact that we have one of the lowest income tax rates in europe.

You vote FF or what? VRT is an illegal tax, only just tolerated by the EU at the time cause otherwise the country would have gone bankrupt. It would be more fair to scrap it and increase direct taxes, but that won't happen of course with the election coming up

unkel wrote:
    You vote FF or what? VRT is an illegal tax, only just tolerated by the EU at the time cause otherwise the country would have gone bankrupt. It would be more fair to scrap it and increase direct taxes, but that won't happen of course with the election coming up

Woah there lad,

I never said I agreed with it, I was just answering the other posters question of how other contries finance infrastructure if they have no VRT.

I agree with scrapping it and increasing income & luxury taxes, as that way everyone pays for our public services, and not just the motorist.

Only messing, prospect ;)
    prospect wrote:
    I was just answering the other posters question of how other contries finance infrastructure if they have no VRT

Road tax, VAT on cars and fuel and other items related to cars and of course excise duties on fuel are more than enough to finance road infrastructure. Especially here in Ireland, where the government doesn't pay a cent itself in many cases and lets private companies pay for it and then charge tolls

unkel wrote:
    Only messing, prospect ;)

ya fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

I was watching Top Gear the other day and they were sayin the same thing about how expensive it is to get them into the country. Then they had lill oul Richard Hammond driving it, he looked a right twat - To stand beside it he had to get up on a bucket! It's like 18 feet long or something rediculous - Horrible looking things as far as Im concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Could jsut put 70 grand into a new XC90. That's alot nicer than the Escalade anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

eoin_s wrote:
    because you're not allowed diesel in NY or California,

Well, I don't know about New York, but you're allowed diesel cars in California. Seen quite a few diesel Merc's and VW's when I was over in LA on holidays.

Max_Damage wrote:
    Well, I don't know about New York, but you're allowed diesel cars in California. Seen quite a few diesel Merc's and VW's when I was over in LA on holidays.

Strange, I read that in an article about BMW engines, but maybe it's restricted rather than banned.

NiSmO wrote:

Pot - Kettle

The Cayenne is the very definition of ugliness imo.

eoin_s wrote:
    Strange, I read that in an article about BMW engines, but maybe it's restricted rather than banned.

Da rulez for diesel in California :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

JohnBoy wrote:
    Lets say it cost 40k euro
    allow 3 grand to get it shipped
    duty would be 10% of 43 which is 4,300
    vat would be 21% of 47,300 which is 9933
    which is €57233

then, the VRT is 30% of what the revenue reckon it's worth, and it's gonna be compared to the raro and other top end suvs in this regard, so lets say the revenue value it at 95k thats another 28,500 giving the cost price of €85,733

then throw in a few grand for your troubles, also known as profit, and a few more grand for haggling room and you're very quickly at 95k

it's not cheap, but the guy clearly has a lot of money tied up in this venture too.

That model starts at roughly $60,000 and as long as he had it for 6 months and had 6,000 miles on it he pays no tax or VRT. Stick it in a 40ft container plus furniture, tools, etc for 3,000.

He's just whacking on a big chunk of profit. As you said he's comparing it to wha you would pay for a high end SUV in Ireland and hoping to get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Head on the Wall: Explain to me the part about not having to pay VRT on it?

from Oasis.gov.ie

Exemptions from paying Vehicle Registration Tax
    There are different reliefs and exemptions from VRT. Even if you are not required to pay VRT, you must still register your vehicle when you come to Ireland (see Rules below). The following groups are exempt from paying VRT:

Certain disabled drivers

Visitors to Ireland who have owned their vehicles abroad for more than 6 months and who will be resident here temporarily

People who have owned their vehicles abroad for more than 6 months and who are moving permanently to Ireland

People posted to Ireland as part of the diplomatic corps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

thats a rip off alright but as with every car - its always cheaper in the US , so I doubt this guy is joking!

M3 in US costs about 65,000USD
    EVO( costs 45,000USd

so virtually every car is cheaper over there ..especially domestic brands such as cadillac and cehvrolet etc.

M3 starts at 50,000 and Lancer EVO 32,000. 300hp WRX Sti at 33,000. All left hand drive though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

unkel wrote:
    Ah well, at least the hemi is one of the very few good things automotive that originated in the US :)

Sorry, unkel, but VRT is 100% legal, and further, the EU isn't in the habit of allowing illegal taxes because a country 'would go bankrupt'.

See the following case from the European Court of Justice challenging the Greek equivalent of VRT:

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/smartapi/cgi/sga_doc?smartapi!celexplus!prod!CELEXnumdoc&lg=en&numdoc=61988J0132

To quote the Court in the headnote:

Summary

1 . A system of taxation of products in which the amount of the taxes increases progressively according to an objective criterion is not, as such, prohibited by Community law and cannot be regarded as discriminatory solely because only imported products, in particular those from other Member States, come within the most heavily taxed category . It is in breach of the prohibition contained in Article 95 of the Treaty where it is liable to discourage the purchase of the more heavily taxed products so as to benefit domestically manufactured products .

2 . A system of progressive taxation of cars in which there is a cylinder-capacity threshold above which the progression of the tax is much steeper and a very small difference in cylinder capacity gives rise to a very large difference in tax has neither a discriminatory nor a protective effect in so far as consumers wishing to avoid the high taxation, even if it affects only imported cars, will choose either from another range of foreign-manufactured cars or from a range of cars which includes both those manufactured domestically and those manufactured abroad .

So don't expect an end to VRT anytime soon, as it is legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭patsyh

yer man who owns that is part owner of CPs nightclub in galway, hes had it for a while, possibly since new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

A car that would draw much more attention than life is worth.

Half the neighbourhood would prob think you're a drug dealer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I see this on a daily basis - It's driven by a woman and she can never park it properly :p

No way is it worth 95k

Sorry, unkel, but VRT is 100% legal, and further, the EU isn't in the habit of allowing illegal taxes because a country 'would go bankrupt'.

See the following case from the European Court of Justice challenging the Greek equivalent of VRT

The ECJ found against Greece because the Greek VRT system favoured cars produced in Greece compared to cars from other (EU) countries

Sure enough, in judicial terms, VRT is legal. It goes totally against the free movements of goods, a core value of what the EU stands for. At the time, the Irish government did a deal with the EU and changed the name of the illegal import tax to VRT. Hence my use of the word "illegal"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

unkel wrote:
    The ECJ found against Greece because the Greek VRT system favoured cars produced in Greece compared to cars from other (EU) countries

Sure enough, in judicial terms, VRT is legal. It goes totally against the free movements of goods, a core value of what the EU stands for. At the time, the Irish government did a deal with the EU and changed the name of the illegal import tax to VRT. Hence my use of the word "illegal"

The ECJ found for Greece. :rolleyes:

That said you are absolutely right in saying that it does go against the free movement of goods as is apparently guaranteed by the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭patsyh

JohnCleary wrote:
    I see this on a daily basis - It's driven by a woman and she can never park it properly :p

No way is it worth 95k

your mixing that cadillac escalade with the cadillac srs crossover which is also in galway and is a smaller model than this one and is always driven by the woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

patsyh wrote:
    your mixing that cadillac escalade with the cadillac srs crossover which is also in galway and is a smaller model than this one and is always driven by the woman.

Seen it driven the last day, by a fella. Big shiny chromes.

T'would be good for drive-by eggings!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

I've seen one of them tricked out outside a club in Boston. It was bright orange, with I guess 25" rims (they were HUGE) and tinted windows. It was horrendous!