Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Job as a Software Tester - Advice Needed

• 31-05-2006 04:11PM
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I just got offered an interview for a 6 month contract, with a view to becoming permanent, as a Software Tester for broker house software systems. I've just recently finished college so this will be my first job. If im honest im not totally sure what being a Software Tester entails other than running scripts on developed software and logging/correcting defects.

As im not sure if this is the area I want to become involved in, because its not the most lucrative of IT areas, I was wondering if any of the IT guys here could tell me if I will gain much relevant exprience of the IT industry doing a job like this? Bare in mind I dont want to become a programmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭DOLEMAN

I was a software tester for a couple of years.

Firstly, all testing jobs are incredibly boring and are packed with incredibly boring, slightly depressed lads. However, the lads are normally quite sound (not freaky like some programmers) and there can be good craic if you're with a good bunch of people.

Technically, it varies greatly, but on average expect the following -

Reading through a test script (document) someone else has written, following the instructions ("Click here, make sure it works" etc.)
    Adding/improving the test script as new features are added
    Running load tests using tools like webload. Basically this involves selecting a few options and pressing start.
    Running a few shell scripts if you're using Unix. You generally don't write these yourself.

All in all, it's not a very technical job. It's a "state of mind" more than anything else.

The money can be quite good.

It's the kind of job which (long term) suits people who are lacking in ambition and want an easy life (testing is a very easy life.) However, it's a great 1st job. You'll gently be brought into the world of IT and office politics...

Don't worry. You'll be grand for 6 - 9 months.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Thanks for the help. It sounds like it would be a nice little job just to ease me into the industry. I wont be looking to be a Tester for any long term period but the pay is good for this contract so I just wanted to know would it be worth my while doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭MrJones

i did Testing on Java stuff for 1 year.I liked it because the feature either works or it doesnt.Its cut and dried. Also you will use a wide variety of technologies when testing.
    people may say its boring:::but if you get lax at the job it will come back and bite you in the ass. you have to be fairly sharp when testing or you will miss bugs or defects that may have serious consequences :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭homeOwner

Kingp35 wrote:
    ... I was wondering if any of the IT guys here could tell me if I will gain much relevant exprience of the IT industry doing a job like this? Bare in mind I dont want to become a programmer.

So you dont want to be a programmer or a tester. It would help if you told us what area of IT you DO want to work in so we can give you advice.

I can almost guarantee you that if you take a job as a tester you will only be offerred testing jobs from now on. Otherwise dont put it on your cv. Unless you are very lucky you will not get a programming job (not that you want it) after working as a tester for 6 months.

"IT industry" covers a huge variety of jobs and skills. Experience in testing will only give you experience in testing. At the very most you might make a useful contact who can put you in touch with someone you will give you a break in the area you want to get into.

It is really hard starting off in IT with no experience. You need to show ability in the area you are interested in and go after it 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭lostinsuperfunk

homeOwner is right in that few people make the transition from tester to programmer. But seeing as you don't want to be a programmer anyway, that's not a problem for you. Software testing can be incredibly frustrating and boring or it can be an interesting and rewarding experience. It depends on the company's attitude to testing.
    Some companies allow testers to be creative about how they do their work and encourage people to use initiative to think about how software will be used and what issues may arise in the field. In these cases there is a lot of scope for learning a lot about the industry and gaining exposure to the entire software production process (specification, design, programming, testing, maintenance etc). It needn't be like DOLEMAN's experience. But the worst kind of software testing is soul-destroying, just following instructions from a test script, without any follow-up.
    If you can get the first kind of job, your long-term prospects are good and there will be opportunities to move into management and requirements specification if you work with a large company for a few years. But the second kind is probably more common. If you want more of a challenge you can try to get into test automation, which is a nice mixture of design, testing and scripting. So, ask your prospective employer about how they see a tester's role.
    I wouldn't worry about the money, testing is fairly well paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,833 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

DOLEMAN wrote:
    It's the kind of job which (long term) suits people who are lacking in ambition and want an easy life (testing is a very easy life.)
    Cheeky git!:D

Kingp35 - I've been testing at various levels on & off for almost fifteen years now (ten of them as a contractor & the last seven years in test management & consultancy). It can be quite boring at times, but then again some projects can be very interesting & allow you to develop new skills, give you exposure to new industries & technologies. My work has taken me to England, Belgium, Holland, the US, Germany, Norway.

If you are not interested in the programming route & you are a good tester - you could go on to test analysis & then to business analysis, project management, etc. No matter what you do, your career path will depend on your ability & the opportunities that you are given (& make for yourself!).

If you need further advice - feel free to PM me.

Best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I am interested in getting into the testing scene. I graduated with an IT/business hybrid degree 4 years ago. found it hard to find an IT role (the usual 9/11 crash excuses etc) found myself drifting into the financial industry, working for 2 banks in an admin role (soul destroying) For the past 6 months i've been working in the tech support field. mainly took this job as an entry back into something IT related at least. my older brother has worked as a software qa engineer for te last six years (got a grad job straight outta college circa 2000 after doing the same degree as myself). basically he has lot's of material from in house courses he completed. what's the best way to break into this role? bone up on the course material? most jobs advertised look for 1 years experience for the junior testing roles. any ideas would be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,833 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Start by putting together a CV & emphasise the work that you have done that would benefit you in a test role.

For example - If you have specific industry knowledge of financial services systems &/or processes - this would definitely be a plus for a User Acceptance Tester role.

PM me if you want me to review your CV & give you a few pointers.