Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BESS night out, venue change, scandal, etc.

• 28-05-2006 3:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭

Hey just wonder where everybody was last night. I was at 21 which was very expensive but still great craic brian was there and lots of other from JF BESS. I know quite a lot went to downunder, Hilary and others.

Did nebody go to ROUGE???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭fookchooknooris

rogue?

i say a few bess girls at 11.20 yesterday. hammered. fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Moorsy

The above is correct. A gracious thank-you, my friend. Im tired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭fookchooknooris

You are welcome my hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Black_Couch

Moorsy are u Eoin Moore by any chance?

I think U prob mean Crowley when u said Brian not me, but yeah i was in 21 last night with him too.

Went from an apartment in ballsbridge to pav to 21 then back to stay over in ballsbridge. SO that was 1 in the day to 5 in the morning. Longest session of my life.

If anybody seen somebody sprinting on to the cricket pitch last night and back, it was me. Had a concession card for 21 and never used it, completely forgot. It was only €2 off though. There was a rake of us in 21 as in around 30, but where the rest of them where I don't know. The reps emailed us 3 possible places so we were bound to get split up. I was talking to a few bess outside charlies who said Rogue was crap but Down under was good. Its probably the last thing the reps are thinking about though coming up to exams; where to have a class party.

I think I'm going to try for class rep next year. There were only 3 this year for some reason. But while I'm at it, can somebody clear up the whole reason behind the free drinks reception in the Atrium that time, there were a few rumours going around about the reasons for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

There were only 3 this year for some reason.

Technically we had 4; Ruairi Sparks was a rep too. He just...well...didn't do much. Or anything at all, really. I think he got struck off the list in Trinity Term or thereabouts for not showing up to SU council a few sessions in a row, along with a few dozen other class reps. Why the hell do people run for something like that if they're not planning on actually doing anything?
    But while I'm at it, can somebody clear up the whole reason behind the free drinks reception in the Atrium that time, there were a few rumours going around about the reasons for that.

I'd try and answer, but I'm not entirely sure what you mean by "the reason behind it".

Topic: I ended up in Down Under, it was class, though the drunkenness might have had some influence on that. Ran into a few other BESS people there too.

Well what i heard, the party in down under which was supposedly €5 to get in got moved to zanzibar and they spent the money on free drinks for the atrium. But some engineering reps were saying that there was some1 in bess making a profit on it. I don't want to name any names but i heard the person who was behind it, got done for something b4 making a loss of a grand or two? This true or just a rumour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭mizz.yelof!!!

yeap yeap thats pretty much what i happened really from what ive heard, wasnt the class rep's tho who to blame. eh didnt hear the last bit about a previous loss being made but the first part seems to be the story thats beem going around.

again dont quote me, my facts arnt 100% .

wasnt the class rep's tho who to blame.QUOTE]
    Yeah i know wasn't saying that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

Can someone please correct the sloppy title? Please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

Yeah i was in 21, what a scandolous night :eek:, was drinking for 14 hours i think. I'm running for class rep next year WITH black couch not against him if you know what I mean, gonna make speeches the whole works. And i wanna organise class trips and a class day (but i think in ucd the societies organise that). Yeah that is what happened in Zanzibar (that was a weird night, those engineers loike SO ew!!), and that person did that too, i wonder if that person is running for class rep?? the atrium didn't quite work out now! that was the funniest thing all year, were you mad about that shay?

i'm gonna miss 1st year, college is so much better than summer holidays (:eek: it's true though! apart from exams and that crap)

Emmm no master don't know how to. I’m sorry don’t attack me with your wand r Sceptre.

Ehh What happened about that night is a touchy subject and nobody ever got to the bottom of it.
    Tickets 5euro ----this pays for booking the whole of down under exclusive to ticket holders. On the night it appeared it was double booked and our booking got thrown out.
    Move on to Zanzibar complete chaos, place isn't booked 'exclusive' so people are still around.
    Back to Down Under the money that was used to book the gaff has "gona missing".
    Money (Profit) was left over--- this was given out between the class reps---this is where we got the money for the atrium. The profit was apparently always going to be given back to us neway.

Boddy and Ed (two JF BESS) were apparently going to pursue legal action but got distracted. Ed I think is now the ents officer for jcr and Boddy is on the Phil committee. I’m sure they could answer most questions Hilary already ready asked most the hard ones.

Possibly that clears it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

yeah i did ask most of the hard questions. emm if anyone wants full details pm me or email me, if you're in JF BESS you have my email, i was going to email the year at the time but decided not too.

anyway yeahlast night party mix ups. basically niall hughes emailed us all on thursday to tell us about Down Under which was really short notice. i had said 21 becuase i didntknwo that there was anything organised so..yeah i hate rogue. there were a handful of people there when i checked by, but 21 was birlliant. and i was drunk, i think i was drunk...i hope i was drunk:o

aside from everyone going to different venues most people seem to have ahd a blast, so as it was my last class rep party, possibly ever, that i even sorta organised and given that there were no disasters, and there were alot of those, i am thrilled.

and not in the country.

the atrium didn't quite work out now! that was the funniest thing all year, were you mad about that shay?QUOTE]

Are u joking? The Atrium was great craic. Fair play to the reps there, u could see they really put effort into it, buying all the food and drink etc. Fair play to all the reps working behind the scenes all year by the way! Bit of a thankless job i reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Moorsy wrote:
    Emmm no master don't know how to. I’m sorry don’t attack me with your wand r Sceptre.

thou shalt not take the wand and/or sceptre in Vain.

thou shalt not take the wand and/or sceptre in Vain

...but they're so silly! And easily vain-take-inable!
    and i was drunk, i think i was drunk...i hope i was drunk

Yes, you were drunk. You'd want to have been, the stuff you were getting up to...
    were you mad about that shay?

Me? Nah, why would I be mad, sure I was nothing to do with the Atrium party - I was just a helper monkey for the reps, carrying beer and pouring drinks and whatnot. And the carrying beer part was amusing (since there's nothing funnier than the looks random strangers give you when you're carryin death-inducing quantities of alcohol down the street), as was the drink-pouring (I should note that I had gotten drunk that afternoon before the party even started, so it may have seemed a lot more fun than it actually was, but all my memories of that night were good), I didn't even hear about the crap with the bottles til afterwards. The one thing it taught me was that I'd hate to be a rep - the **** that they take for everything is unreal. Still, good luck to you both next year! Now I just have to work out who to vote for...

The atrium was brilliant, when i said "didn't quite work out" i was referring to us getting kicked out! vote for both of us, that's what we want -put me first though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 james80000

Sorry but I thought the Atrium was an absolute disaster. Fair play to the class reps for giving Bobby and Ed a hard time, they had no right to charge us a fiver each to get us into a club that was already free (even though I'm good friends with them, I thought it was disgraceful behaviour!). However, I think the reps could have done quite a bit more all year, the nights out were few and far between and usually consisted of an email saying "go to XXI"... Sorry lads and ladies but it's true!

Organising parties is just one of the "perks" of being a class rep. another is hassling lecturers "for the craic", as well as having "fun" conversations with people who're convinced they could do a well better job, purely cus they think organising nights out is easy.

I have it easy as my course is small but for a big class its got to be a major pain in the hole.

&#231 wrote: »
    Organising parties is just one of the "perks" of being a class rep. another is hassling lecturers "for the craic", as well as having "fun" conversations with people who're convinced they could do a well better job, purely cus they think organising nights out is easy.

I have it easy as my course is small but for a big class its got to be a major pain in the hole.

Try organising a mystery bus tour for a class of engineers :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Thats easy sure anyone could do that, almost as easy as that sabbat gig you have going on, sit around for a year browsing the internet ! ;)

james80000 wrote:
    Sorry but I thought the Atrium was an absolute disaster. Fair play to the class reps for giving Bobby and Ed a hard time, they had no right to charge us a fiver each to get us into a club that was already free (even though I'm good friends with them, I thought it was disgraceful behaviour!). However, I think the reps could have done quite a bit more all year, the nights out were few and far between and usually consisted of an email saying "go to XXI"... Sorry lads and ladies but it's true!

Yeah thats basically the rumour i was talking about earlier.

Atrium was prob boring if u had ur two hands X'd with permanent marker others had ways around that system or used ppl who were twisted enough....

Don't give all the reps a bad name, some did more than others. In fairness it was well known Hilary did the majority of the work (not saying that because Hilary posts here! :) )

Crowley stop giving all my plans away for being a class rep and passing them off as your own. I mean ur idea of taking the class on a trip to Tempologue will never work, no matter how hard u push for it. Theres only one business rep so u better take up your beloved sociology next year. Or you can be a campaign manager for me? I mean I worked out as a good manager for your iron stomach the least u could do is return the favour. I've preperations started for next year on that iron stomach and training procedures for it although you let me down big time on that hour of power, you can kiss goodbye to 2nd place, ur ultimate goal this year if thats the kind of carry on ur up to.

I didn't give up the hour power i just won by default. don't give away where i live it's a small place and those internet pervs do stuff to ppl when they know where they live

no i think bess stays the same, there could be 4 business and economics students as reps. can anyone confirm this?

Theres only one business rep so u better take up your beloved sociology next year.

Hilary can't post from where she is, so she asked me to let you know that there are still 4 general BESS reps who can be drawn from any combination of subjects. What she said in the mail was that there was only one student rep on the business school committee each year (which is presumably something different to being a class rep - I dunno, the SU wrecks my head). So you and Bartronilic will be competing directly against each other (and no offense Bartronilic, but right now I'm going with the guy who had the good sense to run screaming from Sociology when he had the chance).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭gilroyb

shay_562 wrote:
    Hilary can't post from where she is

Do you have her in your dungeon or something?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Myth wrote:
    Try organising a mystery bus tour for a class of engineers :p

Just bring buckfast and Get on a random bus that stops at front arch....

Do you have her in your dungeon or something?

It puts the lotion in the basket, or else it gets the hose again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

arf! arf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

shay_562 wrote:

lolzeritis

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

shay_562 wrote:

/me starts to compile list of innuendos...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

/me starts to compile list of innuendos...

in your endo!

shay_562 wrote:
    Hilary can't post from where she is, so she asked me to let you know that there are still 4 general BESS reps who can be drawn from any combination of subjects.

Actually, all constituencies are subject to change each and every year!

shay_562 wrote:
    Hilary can't post from where she is, so she asked me to let you know that there are still 4 general BESS reps who can be drawn from any combination of subjects. What she said in the mail was that there was only one student rep on the business school committee each year (which is presumably something different to being a class rep - I dunno, the SU wrecks my head). So you and Bartronilic will be competing directly against each other (and no offense Bartronilic, but right now I'm going with the guy who had the good sense to run screaming from Sociology when he had the chance).

I am not doing sociology ever again i hate it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Right_Side

Absolute joke of a subject. Still got a I in first year in it though with minimal effort!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 james80000

&#231 wrote: »

Ok so, I'm not allowed an opinion. Grand. The class reps were all fantastic.

...or you could have an opinion and disagree with me? much as I did with yours?

crash_000: thinking outside the box since 2001

I could have sworn you were promoting it about 4 weeks ago. Must have been the exams?

As for giving away your location, if you remember correctly you once gave away your estate by saying which buses you could get. Remember that school boy error? Anyway when are u starting to cycle to work? If its anything like the day u cycled in and ended up with no t-shirt in college it'll be funny. :D

You know, I think i might just drop around to Bartronilic's - he's only down the road from me (cept I hate that walk - two years of going to school in templeogue village will drive you to insanity :P)

Yeah templeogue viallage is cut off from the world cos it's just one big long road, all the housing estates are 10 minutes away from it! i get my buses all the way in perrystown.

i thought the class reps did a great job! especially that double jaegermeister and red bull deal in rogue.

and ye that happened no spare t-shirt, just a jumper (a black jumper which pp walsh said was wine :confused: )

right back from the dungeon.

so i could defend the class paries but what was said was true there could have been more, they could have gone smoother, and after the meeting with the junior dean it just got to the point where organising a class party seemed like altogether another type of hell on top of the major headache it was.

so to explain the exam nigth properly, niall hughes went away and didnt get back to us till the veyr last minute with the class party venue etc which had said he would organise for us. it was the only party done with direct ents help and as we knew he was doing something 21 was only just incase. if we had left sending an email till the thursday people would have complained even more.

The atrium, i was just really angry after that, i mean are you lot 12 or something smashing bottle in front square, classy. thats why secruity kicked us out,not becuase we were being loud or anything like that.

the other parties roue went ok, and the zanzibar night was a huge mess.

but feel free to say we did a terrrible job. thats what being a rep gets you. emails about the lack of parties, the terrible venues which disagree with BESS D4 underage bondi preferences etc. i really like some of the stuff about being a rep and im good at the stuff which no one sees, but i am terrible at porganising parties and thats the only thing people care about in first year certainly. soi agree when people say there could have been more parties last term (trinity term) but not about the accusations for hilary term.

anyway deep breath. sorry bit ranty. argh.

emm if you are going to run for rep please dont forget that it involves other responsibilities. Council, school meetings. too bad if they change something about your course which will directly effetc you and your class rep wasn't there. parties are a part of a class reps job, not the whole of it.

The atrium, i was just really angry after that, i mean are you lot 12 or something smashing bottle in front square, classy. thats why secruity kicked us out,not becuase we were being loud or anything like that.

Think I could know who this person was. Though I saw nothing cos I never left the atrium, I can imagine who it was.

Why do UCDD have commerce day and we have no Bess day. (Funny enough they decided to come into trinity to fundraise, of all places.) I think it would be a good idea -> Fundraise for charity all day and have a party at the end of it. I mean Medicine day earned a rake of money from what I remember hearing. Also a mystery class trip, yeah logistics would be a bitch but it'd be worth it. Things like that help u to get to know people. Theres 216* in Bess and most people including me don't know half them!

*this figure may not be accurate

Commerce day is jointly run by a society and the reps. I agree a bess day AND a proper rag week would be really good and for charity too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭wowy

There was a BESS day last year. Niall Hughes organised. Afaik he was the faculty convener at the time. It was a good enough day I suppose. There was a water balloon world record attempt, which turned chaotic. Nobody really fancied getting soaked in the middle of February. All the usual fundraising stuff happened and there was bucketloads of booze. He stored about a pallette worth of Bavaria in the Phil council room for the evening entertainment. It was a great idea, not really the best executed, but it was a shame it didn't happen this year.

Apparently last year there was a BESS Day. Reports say it was good there was a water fight, bouncing castle possibly etc. Think the people involved got into a bit of trouble cause they had the water fight on the ‘forbidden grass’.
    We were going to put the money (which was put into the atrium idea) into that instead but we never heard anything back form the people who originally contacted us. I think last year it was like all the reps and DUBES.
    It is a brilliant idea .

The Atrium;
    Don’t forgot the moron (and many other disgraceful words) who wrote on the wall and could have neglected us of getting our deposit back!!

Water balloon fight was hilarious. it was an attempt at the world record, except they didn't think that just going "OK COME GET BALLOONS" would end badly. who'da thought.

Moorsy wrote:
    The Atrium;
    Don’t forgot the moron (and many other disgraceful words) who wrote on the wall and could have neglected us of getting our deposit back!!

I know him, i'm sorry i know it nearly cost you alot of money but it was funny cos it happened out of nowhere and for no reason except that he was locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭gilroyb

From someone just finishing 4th year of a fairly uncommon BESS combination, I can vouch for the advantage of class reps. I've had them to a smaller and smaller degree since first year, to the point that I don't (think I) have one this year. Awayindahils (and the other reps) appear to have put a huge amount of effort into doing their job, and this is something to be commended. Thing to ask yourself when you're giving out is "what would you have done better"? Remember, you not only have to improve on the parties that didn't go well, but also on the ones that went off without a hitch, the meetings that helped your classmates and yourself to settle in to first year.

If you didn't vote in the 1st year class rep elections, you don't really have the right to complain. If you don't then run in 2nd year, you don't have any right to moan. No matter why people run for class rep, the rewards are nowhere near the hassle that they deal with, even at the best of times.

right back from the dungeon.

Dammit, knew I shouldn't have fallen for that old "I'm just going out for a cigarette, I'll be back in two minutes" one. I'll get you yet...

Things like that help u to get to know people. Theres 216* in Bess and most people including me don't know half them!

To be fair, in a class as big as BESS, you're never going to know everyone. And at BESS parties, you're more likely to associate with the people in the course you already know. More parties = A Good Thing, clearly, but I'm not sure that we'll ever know everyone in our year.

I can't help but feel partially responsible, given that I a) taunted him with my pen and then b) was too slow to stop him from stealing my pen. It's like mocking the monkeys at the zoo, only with less faeces.

Or, in this case, more faeces.

the moron not only apologised but was also verbally castracted by several people, so i feel bad dragging what he did up again. the whole thing was cleaned up and that was fine

as for the idiots and the glass bottles, i know exactly who they are, but they seemed to get off far lighter than the moron.

yeah only 60 or so people voted in the class rep elections, and the guy with the most votes wasn't a rep by the end of the year.

and shay you do BESS, of course you fell for that line.

the guy with the most votes wasn't a rep by the end of the year.

This is what happens when you vote for the guy with the funny name. Who'd have thought that voting strategy could possibly go wrong?
    and shay you do BESS, of course you fell for that line.

You know, that wallet inspector said the same thing right before he ran off...I don't think he's coming back.