Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting in nuig

• 21-05-2006 6:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

Im considerin goin 2 nuig in september. Im doin da leavin in june. anythin i shud no bout da college or galway city? wud ye reccommend it?

The hole in the wall does 2euro pints of murphys and tennants!Vodka and red bull in boo radleys is 3 euro!Thats all a first year needs to know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭whassupp

cheers......

You are doing science?Its grand in 1st year!My advice is to enjoy 1st year as best you can as you will only have one first year(well unless you totally feck up):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

The hole in the wall does 2euro pints of murphys and tennants!Vodka and red bull in boo radleys is 3 euro!Thats all a first year needs to know!

Ignore this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭whassupp

You are doing science?:)

Nope. i hope to do engineering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

whassupp wrote:
    Nope. i hope to do engineering

(side remark:Oh great, another one...)

Welcome to galway ;)

SyxPak wrote:
    Ignore this.
    Why ignore it?Hes prob underage and prob only place he would get in.

My place is still top floor of the living room with the fussball table!I love that area!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

More engineers, woot.
    Yes I would recommend it, great city and people...well...
    Oh and no knacks. \o/

What about the knacks who burn cars while their cousins are in them?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

They aren't real knacks. Back to leitrim with ya.

and knacker dwarf!You haven't become a proper nuig student till you have shouted abuse at him.

I am in Leitrim!It sucks!:(

He and I are kindred spirits.

Ah good old physics at nine on a friday morning in the kirwan theatre!How i never experienced your beauty?

I'm a year above you. I enjoyed the physics exam in first year.

I didn't!Im better at chemistry and biology!

And! exclaiming! things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

Why ignore it?Hes prob underage and prob only place he would get in.!

not only will i b under age but i'll be quite younger than your average 1st year

Why were you banned whassupp2?what age will you be?

dunno. i think its some moderator havin a laugh. the reason i got simply said "toot toot" whatever that means. I'm just gone 17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thejovialhost

Well I turned 17 a few weeks before the results of the L.C. came out. I'm still not 18! Galway is really great. Great people and loads to do even if you're not into €2 pints and what not (I love them). Underage isn't really a problem. You just have to know the right people - i.e. Lookie Likies. "Knacker Dwarf" is some sight to behold on a sunny evening when you're quite tired! Galway's great

Lookie Likies. "Knacker Dwarf" is some sight to behold on a sunny evening when you're quite tired! Galway's great

explain?????

Knacker Dwarf is the vice president of NUIG!He is an itinerant but apparently really smart and we are really accepting uni!He was also vertically challenged.Iguess the university thought they would hit two disabilities with one stone.

I think he did his phd in theoretical physics!

His real name is John Joseph McGinley.

whassupp2 wrote:
    explain?????
    Come to NUIG and you'll see! The above by the Dazzler is (in parts) a complete fabrication

Tis lies I tell you.LIES!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

galway is grand, stay away from the hole in the wall at all costs!

Tis lies I tell you.LIES!!!!!!
    My sentiments exactly! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

whassupp2 wrote:
    dunno. i think its some moderator havin a laugh. the reason i got simply said "toot toot" whatever that means. I'm just gone 17.

I didn't turn 18 till start of second year and had very few probs in first yr. The first couple of weeks they keep a lookout after that... the whole city is your oyster.

Rowing into the whole hole in the wall thing ( see what i did there with the "whole hole" bit ... no ... ok i'll stop now) I admit i darkened the door on many an occasion esp in 1st/2nd yr. wouldn't go in there now but it's alright if ya like a totally crazy, jam packed, too loud pub and ya don't mind getting a stomach infection from the beer (personal experience).

As for Knacker Dwarf he is a pleasure which everyone must find out for themselves. I remember the first day i saw he tiny legs carry him away from the scene of his mischief ( *faraway look in eyes with a single tear*)