Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tuesday Night Poker in Dublin ???

• 16-05-2006 12:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭

I'm a member of Fitz but I live in Wicklow and rarely travel up. Was thinkin of headin up tonight. Is the €50 +€5 double chance good to play in or is it worth joining SE 9 I had planned to do it anyway) and play their €150 + €10 NL freezout ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

I'm a member of Fitz but I live in Wicklow and rarely travel up. Was thinkin of headin up tonight. Is the €50 +€5 double chance good to play in or is it worth joining SE 9 I had planned to do it anyway) and play their €150 + €10 NL freezout ???

There is also a 100 double chance in the merrion - starting at 8PM with 4000+4000 chips AFAIK. Not sure how many players they will get but it might be worth dropping in at 8 and going to the fitz or SE if they don't get the numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭An Gaiscíoch

Anyone know which of the three get the best numbers/standard etc ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

An awful lot of tasty options tonight!

I'd have personally said the Fitz DC game would have the biggest prize pool for the lowest buy-in. i.e You could win a proportionally bigger amount for €50 but its a close run thing and I could be wrong.

My preference list would be something like

Fitz
    Regency
    Merrion
    SE

I'd say I'll hit the Fitz tonight but if that Merrion game gets more than 35 runners I'll be adding it to my regular schedule....:confused:

Think I'll head for Fitz. Cheers Olly. C u there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Don't let him glare at you or bully you!

ionapaul wrote:
    Don't let him glare at you or bully you!

I save those glares especially for you Paul!

and the ocasional bottom pair 7 kicker, calling all his stack off, monkey! (when he dogs me that is)

Well I don't know what he looks like so I'll take a guess !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

Anyone have any idea about what the payout usually is for tonight in the fitz? roughly. Think me and a few mates are heading in, not members of the Fitz tho, what do you need? Garda Id? O and what the closest dart station? I'm completely clueless with directions ;) thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

max_power wrote:
    Anyone have any idea about what the payout usually is for tonight in the fitz? roughly. Think me and a few mates are heading in, not members of the Fitz tho, what do you need? Garda Id? O and what the closest dart station? I'm completely clueless with directions ;) thanks

Pay out will depend on number of players... I'd guess 50 players... 2500 payout.

Pearse St. Station is probably the best DART stop. Turn left - walk up to Merrion Square and walk around to the opposite corner of the square. It's about 15 metres up Fitzwilliam street from there.

Driver's license or passport to join I think but I ony did it once so I'm not an expert. (I.E. you might get away with a Garda I.D. - I dunno)

thanks, we'll be there, ill be the one with a half a black eye and a load of chips ;)

This got approximately 75 runners last night so a decent payout for the winner. I exited stage left with 15 players left. Brianmc was still in and a few what I suspect were boardsters.

I didn't get to run into Gaiscíoch (that I know of) I was on table 4 seat 9 all night but myself and Corbendallas butted heads all night!! :p

Good crowd last night. Was out myself with about 25 players left. Brianmc was trying to bully the table with his big stack but failing miserably :)

Anyone stop by the Merrion? How many runners? I think a few of us might have a go at this should they get the runners.

ionapaul wrote:
    Brianmc was trying to bully the table with his big stack but failing miserably :)

I don't remember that bit - Iona "but it's only AKs and I have six BBs" Paul.

It wasn't a terribly exciting tournament for me. I was involved in a three way split though which is nice.

It is blogged below, but I'd wait until I had nothing else to entertain me before I'd bother reading it.

Well done Brian!

The reason for the AKs hesitation was that he (the guy on my right) had only played one or two hands that night and with that raise I *knew* he had a premium hand. But obviously I had to call and was very glad to see it was only a 50/50 vs JJ - he honestly could have had the bullets or cowboys, his range was that tight.

ionapaul wrote:
    Well done Brian!

The reason for the AKs hesitation was that he (the guy on my right) had only played one or two hands that night and with that raise I *knew* he had a premium hand. But obviously I had to call and was very glad to see it was only a 50/50 vs JJ - he honestly could have had the bullets or cowboys, his range was that tight.

I believe you. ;)

Olly I was originally upstairs at table 6. I was the good looking young fella wearing the black thundercats t-shirt ! I got knocked out I think 20th. When I got KO'd they just formed two tables upstairs. I got knocked out with about 10k with 9 9 and got called by A Q. He hit Q bla bla bla ! It was the youngish guy with the brown jumper with the mercedes key in front of him on the table that did the damage! Cud be u for all I know ! Not only does he take all my chips but he's rubbin it in with the fact he's prob gonna be takin my money home in his fancy Merc while I make the pain staking journey back to the sticks of Wicklow in my Seat Inca !!! Cheek !!!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

It was the youngish guy with the brown jumper with the mercedes key in front of him on the table that did the damage! Cud be u for all I know ! Not only does he take all my chips but he's rubbin it in with the fact he's prob gonna be takin my money home in his fancy Merc while I make the pain staking journey back to the sticks of Wicklow in my Seat Inca !!! Cheek !!!
    Yep, that is Olly, always rubbing it in that he has loads of money and a good car.

Or is that no money and no car?
    :confused::confused:

Olly I was originally upstairs at table 6. I was the good looking young fella wearing the black thundercats t-shirt ! I got knocked out I think 20th. When I got KO'd they just formed two tables upstairs. I got knocked out with about 10k with 9 9 and got called by A Q. He hit Q bla bla bla ! It was the youngish guy with the brown jumper with the mercedes key in front of him on the table that did the damage! Cud be u for all I know ! Not only does he take all my chips but he's rubbin it in with the fact he's prob gonna be takin my money home in his fancy Merc while I make the pain staking journey back to the sticks of Wicklow in my Seat Inca !!! Cheek !!!

Have you now Gaiscíoch. I too own a similar but larger thundercats t-shirt so I noticed you straight away. You got moved to table 4 into seat 10 right beside me before you finally got knocked out. I was the one who sagely said "Well you have to win that flip if its going to be your night" :D;) I have a replica roman coin as a card protector.

I don't own a brown jumper, a car, or much money :(

ollyk1 wrote:
    I don't own a brown jumper

Be proud!

Thats weird ! I was actually thinkin that it'd be weird if it was you earlier !!! How did that chap wit all the chips get on after ??? The brown jumper laddy boy

What made you think that I wonder. My witty good humour ? or my angry glares at the table in generally?? :p:D

The man who shall henceforth be known as brown jumper pot committed himself preflop to calling my button push with AK with 44 and went and got a 4 flush to knock my flopped two pair out. After that I was not there to witness his progress but I believe he went on to partake in the 3 way chop for €775 plus €75 festival credit for his troubles.

He was a bit of a serial overraiser (which I unfortunately was not in position to take advantage of) and very willing to gamble but a strong player nonetheless.

I think you've the wrong guy Olly.

Three way chop was myself, Willow and some guy with a beard called Ray.

You may be talking about the guy who came fourth. I'm not sure.

brown jumper guy:

Mid to late twenties. Clean shaven.

MP3 playing/listening. Listens loud enough that he doesn't always hear whats going on at the table.

In Ireland hooking up with some chick for a week.

Knows Dave Hall and Willow. Didn't speak to anyone else.

Likes to raise his BB if its limped too.

Overbets the pot preflop no matter what the blind level.

Was at seat 7 table 4 at the two table stage.

Was the overall CL when I left with 15 players left.

(That's my playeer notes anyway... ;) )

ollyk1 wrote:
    brown jumper guy:

Doesn't sound like either Willow or some guy called Ray with a beard to me.

Does sound like Brian though...... :D

ollyk1 wrote:
    brown jumper guy:

MP3 playing/listening. Listens loud enough that he doesn't always hear whats going on at the table.

In Ireland hooking up with some chick for a week.

Knows Dave Hall and Willow. Didn't speak to anyone else.

Likes to raise his BB if its limped too.

Overbets the pot preflop no matter what the blind level.

Was at seat 7 table 4 at the two table stage.

Was the overall CL when I left with 15 players left.

(That's my playeer notes anyway... ;) )

That's the guy. I think... my notes on fourth place guy read something as follows...

Wasn't naked.

MP3 playing/listening.

Didn't speak to anyone.

Overbets the pot preflop if he does bet.

Had a decent stack going into the final table.

Had aces at least three times in 30 minutes.

Donked away his remaining stack in a battle of the blinds as follows:

Blinds 1500/3000

My BB, his SB.

My stack: 40K
    His stack: 38K

SB completes. I have K2o and check.

Flop: 49Kr

SB checks.
    I bet 6K.
    SB calls.

Turn: rag (7?)

SB checks.
    I bet 10K
    SB pushes for 29K total.
    I call.

SB shows Q9o

River: Irrelevant

5starpool wrote:

I don't like the insinuation in a public forum that I would wear a brown jumper. You're on thin ice Dom.

brianmc wrote:
    I don't like the insinuation in a public forum that I would wear a brown jumper. You're on thin ice Dom.
    Go with it man, brown is the new black.....;)

brianmc wrote:
    That's the guy. I think... my notes on fourth place guy read something as follows...

Wasn't naked.

MP3 playing/listening.

Didn't speak to anyone.

Overbets the pot preflop if he does bet.

Had a decent stack going into the final table.

Had aces at least three times in 30 minutes.

Donked away his remaining stack in a battle of the blinds as follows:

Blinds 1500/3000

My BB, his SB.

My stack: 40K
    His stack: 38K

SB completes. I have K2o and check.

Flop: 49Kr

SB checks.
    I bet 6K.
    SB calls.

Turn: rag (7?)

SB checks.
    I bet 10K
    SB pushes for 29K total.
    I call.

SB shows Q9o

River: Irrelevant

Good notes, if a little long. :) I think I'll add level of nakedness to my note taking from now on.:p

I call the turn CR 100% of the time against him too. WP.

5starpool wrote:

No way Brian is still clean shaven by 2am Dom!! He's worse then Desperate Dan by that hour!!

I played there last night, came mid 20's i think. It was my first time in so i was pretty happy with the result. Enjoyed the night and the experience, despite a few nerves at the start. I've a bit to learn before cashing but i could have finished a lot higher without a few stupid mistakes and a bit of bad luck ( Been said before i'm sure ). I was on table 2, then 7 then 1 i think. Picked AA up twice on 7, bit of forgetfullness about the blinds led to me min raising and been beaten on the river by 64o. The end was downstairs, my AK v AJ, J on the turn and i was gone. I'll def be back in though, hopefully having learned a lot. Btw i was wearing a grey stripey jmper, anyone else on my table during the night? p.s. Brown Jumpers aren't all that bad, depends on who's wearing them ;)

max_power wrote:
    I played there last night, came mid 20's i think. It was my first time in so i was pretty happy with the result. Enjoyed the night and the experience, despite a few nerves at the start. I've a bit to learn before cashing but i could have finished a lot higher without a few stupid mistakes and a bit of bad luck ( Been said before i'm sure ). I was on table 2, then 7 then 1 i think. Picked AA up twice on 7, bit of forgetfullness about the blinds led to me min raising and been beaten on the river by 64o. The end was downstairs, my AK v AJ, J on the turn and i was gone. I'll def be back in though, hopefully having learned a lot. Btw i was wearing a grey stripey jmper, anyone else on my table during the night? p.s. Brown Jumpers aren't all that bad, depends on who's wearing them ;)

Nope. Tables three and one for me all night.

I did ask at one stage if anybody had seen a guy with a half-black-eye and a big stack of chips but apparently not. There was another guy with half a black eye though.

When I got home I was wonderin if you (Olly) were at any of my tables and had a feelin aferwards that it might have been you ! You have an Ollyness abouts ya !

Yeah Max Power I was sittin to your right at number 7 or 6 table or whatever it was. I had the black thundercats tshirt on. Yeah you underraised those aces i'm afraid !!! You got the 10's the hand after the aces as well. Then aces again a couple of hands later. The guy to my right was hilarious. He kept making all these weird noises, well when he wasn't gettin stuck into his stir-fry !!! He was multi-tasking to the max. His phoned beeped far too much for my liking ! He had the phone on his shoulder, drink in one hand and eating stir fry wit the other hand, and raking up the chips all the while !!!

When I got home I was wonderin if you (Olly) were at any of my tables and had a feelin aferwards that it might have been you ! You have an Ollyness abouts ya !

Yeah Max Power I was sittin to your right at number 7 or 6 table or whatever it was. I had the black thundercats tshirt on. Yeah you underraised those aces i'm afraid !!! You got the 10's the hand after the aces as well. Then aces again a couple of hands later. The guy to my right was hilarious. He kept making all these weird noises, well when he wasn't gettin stuck into his stir-fry !!! He was multi-tasking to the max. His phoned beeped far too much for my liking ! He had the phone on his shoulder, drink in one hand and eating stir fry wit the other hand, and raking up the chips all the while !!!

When you live in the Fitz you can't stop answering your phone or eating just because there's a poker game on!

That was Dave - he lost a 50 - 50 to go out 7th or 8th.

The guy to my right was hilarious. He kept making all these weird noises, well when he wasn't gettin stuck into his stir-fry !!! He was multi-tasking to the max. His phoned beeped far too much for my liking ! He had the phone on his shoulder, drink in one hand and eating stir fry wit the other hand, and raking up the chips all the while !!!
    The proud chairman of the committee set up by the casinos to argue the case against McDowell!!!!!

Funny man Mr Hall. Wierd noises and bursting into song are his trademark pretty much.

5starpool wrote:
    The proud chairman of the committee set up by the casinos to argue the case against McDowell!!!!!

Funny man Mr Hall. Wierd noises and bursting into song are his trademark pretty much.

Let's just hope he doesn't break into Donald Duck if he gets to talk to McDowell.

You have an Ollyness abouts ya !

I love it! We'll have to have a chat the next time we're playing about what exactly Ollyness is because this is not the first time I've had this said to me. And not just from people who have read my posts And any man with a Thundercats t-shirt has an opinion which should be respected! :)

I think it might have been the red t-shirt !
    U were wearing a red t-shirt right. . . !!!
    Yeah that Dave guy is funny. Bout three hands in he calls a large all in with the nut flush draw. As the opponent went all in he came out with some kind of robot thing he had rehearsed (the wholw of upstairs turned around. The man is shameless!!! Nice guy. Sittin next to him most of the night)

I really enjoyed the game so I think I will make it a regular occurence. Especially if the numbers are as high as they were (around 75)
    Is it usually this high ???

I really enjoyed the game so I think I will make it a regular occurence. Especially if the numbers are as high as they were (around 75)
    Is it usually this high ???

Another regular for the Fitz. It's like Cheers only better. :D

Yeah the game normally gets 60+ but summer time does reduce numbers in all the casinos. I think the 75 runners was a Champions league effect as people wanted to get their gamble on because they wouldn't be playing on Wednesday. That's why I was confident that the numbers would be 70+ this week.

Now Gaiscíoch if you really want to experience the Fitz and all its tournie characters you and your thundercats t-shirt are going to have to make it in for some hot scalping action on a Friday night. Great stuff.

Don't forget that next week is the Fitz festival so there is a different (and higher buyin) range of events going on but it will be back to normal after that.

P.S. Yes I was wearing a red t-shirt. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

'Ollyness' lol .... It has a certain ring about it.:p

"I did an Olly last night !"

"He only went and did an Olly !"

"For Olly's Sake! " (The real meaning of F.O.S)

"I had a think about it, but I reckon I was being Ollied."

"Hmm...What would Olly do in this situation"

"Olly says 'Relax' "

"Olly says 'Welcome to the Pleasure Dome (Fitz)' "

Culchie wrote:
    'Ollyness' lol .... It has a certain ring about it.:p

"I did an Olly last night !"

"He only went and did an Olly !"

"For Olly's Sake! " (The real meaning of F.O.S)

"I had a think about it, but I reckon I was being Ollied."

"Hmm...What would Olly do in this situation"

"Olly says 'Relax' "

"Olly says 'Welcome to the Pleasure Dome (Fitz)' "

Speechless.:eek:

P.S. I hope this doesn't catch on. Between this and my allegedly glaring at people at the table I'm getting a bad rep.:o

Is being 'Ollyed' the same as being 'Bobbed'? Christ I hope not. I have been 'Bobbed' a few times and can't say as I liked it too much.

5starpool wrote:
    Is being 'Ollyed' the same as being 'Bobbed'? Christ I hope not. I have been 'Bobbed' a few times and can't say as I liked it too much.

I don't think it's the same, but I still don't like the sound of it.

Is that the Friday night scalps game or cash game Olly ?
    Ollyed, what have I started !!!

brianmc wrote:
    I don't think it's the same, but I still don't like the sound of it.
    I don't think Olly is quite as deaf as Bob for a start.

ill be joining you as a new regular gaisioch i think, good craic. I'll be back underraising aces, and overplaying overpairs.

5starpool wrote:
    I don't think Olly is quite as deaf as Bob for a start.

Ah guys can we not make it something reasonably poker cool? Like making a squeeze play from the SB with a complete bag of boll1x or pushing with a massive draw?? What do you think? ;)

I'm not quite as deaf as Bob but if thats the price you have to pay to keep getting aces like Bob maybe it would be worth it......

ollyk1 wrote:
    I'm not quite as deaf as Bob but if thats the price you have to pay to keep getting aces like Bob maybe it would be worth it......
    Bob doesn't need aces, any old T3 off is good for that man, nay, that legend.