Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accomodation

• 11-05-2006 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

Hey, I think i'm heading to CIT next year and was wondering if ye had any tips on where to stay?
    Any thoughts appreciated, Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

A house!!!! Doesnt have to be nice and comfy just running water and somewhere to sleep!!!!

Seriously there s loads of places some right beside the college some in the middle of town. If ya can call down to the Students Union next august they usually have a list of places.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

call them now as opposed to next august as alot of people take the houses during the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭elvis2002

Ah I think sorting it out around July is fine. There's almost too many houses I see now. 4 years ago, I remember listening to people saying they couldn't find anywhere to stay, now there's too much choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Kain

elvis2002 wrote:
    I remember listening to people saying they couldn't find anywhere to stay, now there's too much choice.
    You make that sound like a bad thing, i think if you call the Student Union they will send you out information on places to stay, what type of accomidation, rent, no of occupants, adresses, phone numbers and other details that you need to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

the houses in southern gardens are big and u'll be livin with bout 8 ppl! they;re good craic but u wont get much study or sleep. green road is ok. right beside the college aswell but will only house about 4 ppl. if u've never lived away from home u could also consider digs for 1st year where u move into a house and u get fed by the landlady. theres also houses all around town. good coz they're near town and the pubs, but they're about 15 mins walk from the college. i'd recommend livin in southern gardens for at least one of ur years here simply for the craic. although, u can have craic anywhere. its the ppl more than the place etc etc...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

check these out:
    Self Catering:
    live in a house with around 4 house mates, cook your own food, clean up after yourself etc etc
    Digs:
    live in a house with a family, have meals with the owners etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 JohnPH

Cheers lads, Really helpful!

np, dont forget about compsoc if u do go to itc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

Ah granby row the memories and i would recommend it too!! seriously near college and town it rocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Shinners21

Oh God, Granby Row - DO NOT LIVE THERE!!!

We renamed it Freezer Road..those houses suck ass!! :rolleyes:

Go for College Green - the best of the lot!! :D

yeah college green ftw!!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

College green is too far out, imho.

Burrin Street, Riverside or Granby row, would be my recommendations.

Riverside is grand I think. Houses arent great or anything but close to town and close to College. Old Burrin is a nice area near KFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Just, eh, most of the "nice" houses tend to be "2nd year only".

noone ever checks if you say your in second year though.

elvis2002 wrote:
    noone ever checks if you say your in second year though.
    A few of the landlords check for "digs" reference from another local landlady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭tom_ass19

watever you do dont do wat i did n go to riverbank apartments...their nice alright but it gets so boring n all blah....

tom_ass19 wrote:
    watever you do dont do wat i did n go to riverbank apartments...their nice alright but it gets so boring n all blah....
    Granby Row ftw. Esp the houses near the traffic lights. Lived in them, and even though there was a strict "no house parties" rule, the house parties there were pretty excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭tom_ass19

the_syco wrote:
    Granby Row ftw. Esp the houses near the traffic lights. Lived in them, and even though there was a strict "no house parties" rule, the house parties there were pretty excellent.

wat u on about.....

Granby Row always looked like a hole to me. Houses look terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

Have to be honest, as with all accoms it is what you make it, I spent 2 years in 11 granby the 1st of the 2 was possibly the best year of my life the 2nd was contending for the worst.

The house is just that a house, its all about the people in there that make it good or bad. Even things going wrong, fridges breaking etc can be laughed at, IF your in good company. IMHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭flynnser19

is there no on campus accom??is there houses specifically for first years?coz im goin on my own and i dont wanna be in a house with 4th years trying to get work done or something u kno???thanx in advance peeps xxx

nope, no on-campus accomm

and balkie, i know the meds f*ck up with your cycle, but take it easy or ill never give another reach around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭s4dd

there are rooms going in my gaff just so you know... =D