Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

no bellybuttons

• 11-05-2006 2:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭

I was watchin telly one time and there was some lady long-distance runners gettin ready for the start of a race and i noticed that some of them were so thin that you could hardly see they had a bellybutton.
    Which at first was slightly revolting for some reason, but then as i considered it i thought maybe having no bellybutton actually makes for a more perfect aesthetic human form. I mean if you think about it bellybuttons are pretty gross in a way as they harbour loads of fuzz and dirt.
    Which got me thinking that maybe there'll come a time when it's trendy to actually have surgery to cover-over your bellybutton.
    It'd probably be easier and less intrusive then breast or lip implants, or getting your stomach stapled and all the other freaky stuff people do to themselves.
    What do you think?
    I'm open minded to seeing women strolling around with exposed mid rifs having no bellybuttons.
    I wonder if just one glamour star/model takes the plunge and covers-up their belly button might it start a trend..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I worked with somebody who had no bellybutton - they had a kidney op or something and as a reselt there was a scar where the bb should be and it just looked all wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

I'd have nowhere to idly stick my finger if i lost mine. :(

Tis one of my favourite orifices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

A guy I went to school woth had no bellybutton..... It got so bad that during PE, it was really disgusting, OUR TEACHER THE AS*HOLE that he was " AH JAYZIIIIZ BRENDAAAN! PUT YOUR FLIPPIN T SHIRT BACK ON! IM GOIN BLIND" Poor chap. I dont know why he hadn't got one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Some people have never had bellybuttons, it's due to a birth defect where they never had an umbilical cord and used osmosis to take in nutrition in the womb, Jesus for example, and Bon Jovi too apparently.

These people that biologically have no bellybuttons are known to have magical powers, so I'm not sure if getting surgery will actually trigger such powers, but it's worth a shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Why dont you try it? The rest of us will follow after you do so, make sure you post the pics now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

there would be alot of people who would maybe look at it as a deeper problem with their mothers, being it the only obvious sign that we were all once connected to someone else..... or something like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Where would you keep the salt for eating fish and chips in bed???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

surely the only people ever to not have a bellybutton (due to defects :p) would be Adam and Eve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

eh, fictional characters maybe? such as maremaids, adam & eve etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

danniemcq wrote:
    surely the only people ever to not have a bellybutton (due to defects :p) would be Adam and Eve

And those grown in a test tube. Test tube babies actually have a "belly button" but its on the back of their necks. It seems that this is the more correct place for it according to the scientists.

K-TRIC wrote:
    And those grown in a test tube. Test tube babies actually have a "belly button" but its on the back of their necks. It seems that this is the more correct place for it according to the scientists.

very matrix like eh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

danniemcq wrote:
    very matrix like eh

I know it sounds like I pulled it straight from the Matrix, but this stuff was going on long before the Matrix was even thought about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

K-TRIC wrote:

Jaysus could you imagine when your older your mates taking the p1ss outta ye, flickin it and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

6th wrote:
    eh, fictional characters maybe? such as maremaids, adam & eve etc?

'Mare' maids? Would that be women with the legs of a horse? Or did you just make a horses ass out of the word 'Mermaid'?

Ba-dum tish!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I couldn't ever go out with a girl with no bellybutton. It would remove me of one my favourite options.

Robbo wrote:
    I couldn't ever go out with a girl with no bellybutton. It would remove me of one my favourite options.

Does it involve a lint fetish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

In demonology demons don't have bellybuttons. As they were never born.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

tk123 wrote:
    I worked with somebody who had no bellybutton - they had a kidney op or something and as a reselt there was a scar where the bb should be and it just looked all wrong!
    They should get in touch with a born-again christian who would be willing to donate a surplus navel.

BTW: Did Adam Have a Navel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Yea... but what about those FREAKS with sticky out belly buttons????

Robbo wrote:

umm how big is her belly button or how small is your...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

RedPlanet wrote:
    Which got me thinking that maybe there'll come a time when it's trendy to actually have surgery to cover-over your bellybutton.
    I'm open minded to seeing women strolling around with exposed mid rifs having no bellybuttons.
    I was talking to an American woman and she had hers removed for cosmetic purposes. I understand its becoming popular. Some people just don't like their, especially if they are an "outie".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

K-TRIC wrote:
    I know it sounds like I pulled it straight from the Matrix, but this stuff was going on long before the Matrix was even thought about.

Yeah in Space Above and Beyond. You're describing Chigs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I think Belly Buttons are kinda sexy in a way.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

They are...(not outies though, belly button equivalent of being ginger)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Victor wrote:
    I was talking to an American woman and she had hers removed for cosmetic purposes. I understand its becoming popular. Some people just don't like their, especially if they are an "outie".

When this is done, do they take the outie thats been cut off, and then use it to fill an innie for someone else? Cant imagine them using No More Big Gaps.

iguana wrote:

Tanks tbh. Chigs were the aliens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Belly buttons can be very sexy on a woman once she's got the figure to go with it!

A mate of mine has some serious issues with 'outtie' belly buttons.hehe:D

But not having would take some getting used to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

iguana wrote:
    Bah As said chigs were the aliens. Inveetros were the test tube babies which the bell buttons on the back of their neck, loved that show :D