Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Needed Challenging Metal Songs

• 09-05-2006 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭

Ok i was gonna post this in techniques theory but i dunno if many people would see it there and have input.Anyway im in a band called chaos theory and im wondering if anyone can recoment a technily hard metal song to play on every instument(guitar, bass, drums, vocals) that people will also be able to recognise easily, that is that a lot of people will know the song.

Was thinking opeth maself but not a lot of the people in the ****hole of tralee know em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭MagnumForce

Hows about a Dragonforce song?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

Reign In Blood? Isn't impossible, but I suppose it's hard enough, and I'd guess alot of people know it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Moved to the right forum.

And if you want technically difficult songs that impress people, write your own.

Or play some Nevermore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Reign in blood's too easy, and its been done to death by cover bands down here.Dragon force is a bit light.Nevermore is a grand idea though a good few people know em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

In general, most people won't know technically intricate songs, most folks just like a good beat and something they can sing along to ;)

So with that in mind, you can either bow to their ignorance or pehaps enlighten them and introduce them to something with a bit of pep, so here are some songs that would actually be a challenge

Megadeth - Holy Wars
    Cynic - Uroboric Forms (RR demo version)
    Atheist - And The Psychic Saw
    Death - Flattening Of Emotions
    Coroner - Masked Jackal

That should keep ye occupied for quite a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Opeth aren't difficult really, but complex enough arrangement-wise.

Nah its not just me being an arrogent bastard i just really wanna do somthing that will be a real challenge, i mean were doing plenty of crowd pleasing songs(slipknot slayer and that malarky) but there all so simple and basic if ya get me and i just want somthing a bit more.Megadeth holy wars was my first choice but our lead guitarist isnt a fan(well he hates them really).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭dimerocks

RacerX - Scarified. I'll buy you a pint if you can play that note perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Not sure how 'technical' you want, but...
    Something by Testament, mayhaps?
    Into the Pit is a good one or Practice What You Preach.

Pantera - Walk :p *
    Atheist, Death or Megadeth as mentioned.
    Symphony X - Wicked
    Something by Soilwork. Don't know much to be honest.
    Exodus - Toxic Waltz...for the laugh.
    Judas Priest - Painkiller :p
    Necrophagist - Seven
    In Flames - Lord Hypnos. Only one example, tons more good songs.

*Joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭MagnumForce

18AD wrote:
    Judas Priest - Painkiller :p

Actually, yeah, if you vocalist is up to it, blow them away with Painkiller!!

Pantera-Mouth for War. A crowd-pleaser, and a difficult song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

dimerocks wrote:

Working on that at the moment, only heard it yesterday though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPGA3vjMLgE&search=paul%20gilbert%20space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Doctor J wrote:
    Death - Flattening Of Emotions

Amazing song.

Staying with Death, Without Judgement off the Symbolic album is very satisfying to play.

The first tune off Dimension Hatred by Voivod is also a great guitar tune. I forget the name of it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Ever tried to play any Steve Vai?

Anyone going to this Zappa plays Zappa gig next month?

O man this song is class, just heard it there.might take me a while(a long while) to get all those fills note perfect on bass but its gonna be my personal misson for the next while.That song is unreal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Which song?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Anyone going to this Zappa plays Zappa gig next month?

No, I'm afraid not. Tickets are pretty pricey too.

Yeah i got two in Sound Cellar at lunch today. €61 each. I eased the pain with a sub of the day next door.

Still, the sights and sounds of Bozzio and Vai on stage together is not to be sniffed at.

scarrified, racer X jesus h christ on a pike. The only thing id heard of racer x before was a bit of street letal on a guitar world cd now i must go get an album that **** is unreal.

Patricide wrote:
    scarrified, racer X jesus h christ on a pike. The only thing id heard of racer x before was a bit of street letal on a guitar world cd now i must go get an album that **** is unreal.

I think theres a MrBig connection with that band. Its kinda pop speed metal to my ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Paul Gilbert was in Mr Big

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Arch Enemy? Ravenous perhaps? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEB985nS_uc

Giblet wrote:
    Working on that at the moment, only heard it yesterday though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPGA3vjMLgE&search=paul%20gilbert%20space
    The main riff is grand. Not problems with that. I'm having major trouble with the solo. Sweep picking is not my strong point so I must wokr on that.

I've decided the best place to attemot starting Gilbert is with Heavy Disco Trip. Damn Les Pauls weren' made for12-19 fret stretches!

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

dimerocks wrote:

Go Paul:o

What an amazing song

Oh and what could be more technical than technical difficulties :)

dimerocks wrote:
    I've decided the best place to attemot starting Gilbert is with Heavy Disco Trip. Damn Les Pauls weren' made for12-19 fret stretches!

Cowboys From Hell involves 12-20, you get pretty used to it.

i can play cowboys but i find this much harder. Its the sweep picking bit after the 12-19 stretch too.....followed by the string skiping!!!nah its just hard. Must practice very slowly.
    In other Gilbert related things he is also quite hilarious. http://www.paulgilbert.com/Vicente.html
    his website is unbelievable!

What you could do is metal up Flight of the Bumblebee. ;)

dimerocks wrote:
    i can play cowboys but i find this much harder. Its the sweep picking bit after the 12-19 stretch too.....followed by the string skiping!!!nah its just hard. Must practice very slowly.
    In other Gilbert related things he is also quite hilarious. http://www.paulgilbert.com/Vicente.html
    his website is unbelievable!

LOL, his website is so bad its funny:D

Ive thought of that already after hearing the guy from manowar can do it, i looked at the tab and said hmmmmm mabey next year.

conzymaher wrote:
    LOL, his website is so bad its funny:D
    I know, he does it all himself though so fair play to him. It is hilarious i think. The bit about his suits is great.

dimerocks wrote:
    I know, he does it all himself though so fair play to him. It is hilarious i think. The bit about his suits is great.

I know i spent hours looking at it, Its funny because he knows its bad:D

Look

DO NOT CLICK HERE!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 irishslipknot

if you want metal try out some bleeding through(there not so much metal)...
    even some mudvayne like "dig" or "happy"..there well known

They're looking for complex stuff though, that's not too tricky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Oh the off chance you're still looking for ideas, heres a couple I'd love to be able to tackle.

Lamb Of God - Laid To Rest (probably their best known song) but outside that 11th Hour, As The Palaces Burn or Ashes Of The Wake.
    Children Of Bodom...most of their stuff
    Nevermore - Final Product
    Shadows Fall - Destroyer Of Senses or What Drives The Weak
    Unearth - Endless
    Arch Enemy - Nemesis
    Roadrunner United - The Dagger (Have you seen Jeff Waters play that solo on the DVD?)

the only thing hard about mudvayne is the bass lines. Good bassist....bad band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Quatre Mains

well as regards drums I wouldn't really know, but as per previous posters I would have to go along with Megadeth - Good Mourning/Black Friday has some really nice changes. On a related note, I always found Saturation Point by Marty Friedman to be an extremely technical piece. Also, from a guitarists point of view, Cacophony(Marty Friedman(again!)+Jason Becker) were pretty savage. Both those guys were on Shrapnel Records(as were Racer X) owned I think by Mike Varney, who specialised in signing shredder guitarists during the 80's, so if you're into researching that do a search for him.
    Away from the heavy stuff, Malmsteen has some very technical music as well. He plays a lot of the bass on his albums so it can be superfast, lot of unison lines with the guitar: a good starting point would be the instrumental 'Leviathan' from Fire and Ice, definitely no picnic. Also, Deja Vu from Odyssey has a great solo and main riff. I guess thats not up your alley so I wont bore you any further, I was way more into hard rock than thrash metal, sorry!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,545 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Maybe this is too mainstream metal for you but how about

Metallica - Master of Puppets.
    Megadeth - Wake up Dead.

Not really challenging enough I would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

May not be heavy but you could try Cliffs on Dover by Eric Johnson ?

Or if you want something hard and heavy Necrophagist Fermented Offal Discharge (man what a name). Actually any of their stuff really ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Dream Theater - The Glass Prision

Riffage and bloody arpeggios