Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone ever hear of "Gat"

• 08-05-2006 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

I've heard a few people recently calling drink "Gat", eg, "Are you coming on the gat?", etc etc

Has anyone else ever heard of gat before??

I heard that it's a Cork word, but I don't know for sure where it came from!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

yep. i've heard it and sometime use it.

"i'm going out for a few gats"

oh and i'm from cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

i thought a "gat" was an american word for a gun!?!

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=gat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Never heard of it before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

nope. the only gat i know is a slingshot, made from a clothes-hanger, some elastic bands, and a piece of a belt. ahh, them were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

When i was a kid we used the word to refer to a females downstairs/partyzone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Never heard of "gat".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

'we're going gatting'=we're going drinking..

tho tbh..iv only ever heard knackers/wanabe knackers saying it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Explains why its in Tralee then. Different parts of the town use different words. One side is "gat", another is "sauce".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Sauce is used fairly regular in Dundalk. "Any sauce the weekend?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

'he's back on the sause!'..that's the only time iv really heard it being used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I only know gat as slang for a slingshot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Manolo Blahnik

yep. i've heard it and sometime use it.

"i'm going out for a few gats"

oh and i'm from cork.

It's such a Cork thing! But yeah it is a bit of a scumbag term alright.

''Here Bis, are ye goin gatting tonight'' :p

''We were gatting in da field last night and the shades pulled up when we were all steaming''

Here, any chance you'd get me a few gats there, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

aw lads, i'm not a scanger...i think i say it messing..like i sometimes say "hiya!!" in a knackerish voice..just cos....i dunno, just messing really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

jamieh wrote:
    Hey all,

I've heard a few people recently calling drink "Gat", eg, "Are you coming on the gat?", etc etc

It's widely used in Cork. "You heading for a few gats?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

Never heard of it. Heard of sauce though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Manolo Blahnik

Femmy wrote:
    aw lads, i'm not a scanger...i think i say it messing..like i sometimes say "hiya!!" in a knackerish voice..just cos....i dunno, just messing really.
    I always say ''Hiya'' :o It's a habit

or ''talk t'ya later''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

DaveMcG wrote:
    nope. the only gat i know is a slingshot, made from a clothes-hanger, some elastic bands, and a piece of a belt. ahh, them were the days.
    That'd be how I know it too... I had a great one! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    That'd be how I know it too... I had a great one! :D

Never heard of either:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭mossieh

Gatt is the word for drink from the Cant, the traveller's language...a few more examples:

feen = man
    beoir = woman
    grade = cash

anyway, can't talk now, I'm gettin' my grade off the feen and I'm goin' gattin'...:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

DaveMcG wrote:

Ditto here m8, And the remember the pre-made crazy ones with the wrist srap :p

Oops off topic....

mossieh wrote:
    Gatt is the word for drink from the Cant, the traveller's language...a few more examples:

feen = man
    beoir = woman
    grade = cash

anyway, can't talk now, I'm gettin' my grade off the feen and I'm goin' gattin'...:cool:

That's class. Well said.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

That's probably the weirdest term I've ever heard for drink.

I wonder could boards.ie push a new word into the culture just for the hell of it? If everyone used it, we'd have 30,000 people using it to start with :)

"Headin out for a few quixotes?"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Aw, you guys live such sheltered lives!

"Lamp that pair of getaway sticks on that beor over there. She's pure mint!" = Look at the legs on that woman over there! She's beautiful!

It is generally only used by knackers or the private school kids who act like knackers.

You can find it all here: http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/index.php?module=Dictionary&func=displayvol&vid=1

Hehehe with a cervantes chaser?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭pisslips

mossieh wrote:

feen = man
    beoir = woman
    grade = cash

Correct,
    Also it's not just scumbags/wannabe scumbags who use such terms, a lot of the older generation in munster use them.I'd be proud of it if it was part of my natural vocabulary, I guess it's a sign of their heritage, other than the pale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

jdivision wrote:
    It's widely used in Cork. "You heading for a few gats?"

Crazy country folk at it again......

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Yea its just the way it is down in tralee, you goin gatting fiend, Its mostly the pavees and the wavees that use the term, The only problem being that theres more wavies and pavees in tralee than anywhere else ive seen so its a term most people use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

DaveMcG wrote:

Wimp! I used a forked branch (from a coppiced hazel if available!), strips of red tractor/truck tube (black was not as stretchy), and the tongue of an old shoe. Now that was a gat. Oh, and rounded pebbles - I couldn't afford marbles, plus marbles held fingerprints.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Ever notice how certain words go in and out of fashion? Everyone used to say muppet between about 2002 and 2003. Anyone saying it past this period would be branded an outcast.

Beor/bure used to be popular for bird too. Gone now

And for about 3 months last year everybody was saying gick. Havent heard it since

And back in the day, people used to say rehab "aw ya big fcukin rehab". Whered it go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Ever notice how certain words go in and out of fashion? Everyone used to say muppet between about 2002 and 2003. Anyone saying it past this period would be branded an outcast.

Beor/bure used to be popular for bird too. Gone now

And for about 3 months last year everybody was saying gick. Havent heard it since

And back in the day, people used to say rehab "aw ya big fcukin rehab". Whered it go?

i believe the word that is in at the moment is "random"

"i went to some random pub last night and i went home with some random girl.......then she said some random comment"....etc etc!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Peace wrote:
    When i was a kid we used the word to refer to a females downstairs/partyzone.

or the top of a thong showing over a pair of jeans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

Tha Gopher wrote:

I remember first hearing the term muppet around my leaving cert and that was in '94 i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cupthehand

Yep it use in parts of Limerick

Will you go away you're half gatty! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭squibs

I wonder could boards.ie push a new word into the culture just for the hell of it? If everyone used it, we'd have 30,000 people using it to start with smile.gif

It was tried and didn't work - http://ball.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=244980&highlight=crapfork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Ever notice how certain words go in and out of fashion? Everyone used to say muppet between about 2002 and 2003.

Muppet is still huge in the UK...the muppets! :D
    Tha Gopher wrote:

I remember using "gick" to my mother in 1979 and I also remember not being able to sit down for a week! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Sophistikid

jamieh wrote:
    Hey all,

Yeah, cork word for drink/drinking (gattin')

http://www.irishabroad.com/culture/slang/corkslang2.asp

Feen and Bure (as we spelt it) are commonly used in Cork. Another classic Cork word is jagging - when you're getting together with somebody regularly and you're not going out with each other you're jagging each other

I remember first hearing the term muppet around my leaving cert and that was in '94 i think.
    Yep I would have been using it around then too. That and "It's the berries" when something went well or was really good.