Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody seen a jag xjs in a breakers yard

• 04-05-2006 4:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

hi
    - has anyone seen a jag xjs in a breakers yard in Ireland? Can't turn one up so far, would appreciate it if anyone could help me/?
    cheers

fw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Surfer

I am sure I say one in the scrap yard by the Red Cow roundabout a few weeks back. It could be seen from the main road. Not sure if it is still there though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Let me know what your looking for I have most bits for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 fw

cheers sufer, goin to swing by and check out the redcow scrapyard tomorrow -

hey junkyard - lookin for the bolt on boot panel that incorporates the key lock and jaguar lettering, carpets too if they're available in good colour/nick ... more surely to follow as I hav just purchased and started the nuts and bolts work - are u city or country based? whats the xjs in the pic?

fw, I'll have a look tomorrow and see whats there. The Jag on the trailer is a 1985 3.6 in good condition and driving well and its for sale. I'm in co. Cork.

hey junkyard,
    is that a 3.6 with autobox or manual? resprayed by you or prior? ... what s left to be done ? and finally - what money u lookin for it?

don't know if u had a chance to hav a look at your spares but would be interested alternatively in taking the entire boot if u had one in good nick ...

P.M. sent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

yep...just north of Claregalway, take a left at the Garda barracks (Heaford signs..) keep an eye out to your right about a mile or two on that road....XJS there im sure and other jags and some Mercs.....might not be a scrapyard as such .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

Theres a C-reg XJS for sale between Loughrea and Ballinasloe. parked outside a house with a sign on it, passed it this morning, gunmetal grey.didn't get a chance to stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Daxklynsmith

Swung past there today, more of a Garage than a scrapyard. 1 XJS HE, not too bad, lot of W123,W124 bodies.
    There are two XJS Carcases just off the Tuam to Ballinrobe Rd, looks like They were bought for spares as they have'nt moved in a looong time and are slowly rotting away,
    Will keep my eyes open
    Regards
    Dax
    Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Surfer

cheers for that surfer
    - that would be perfect if he was breaking it but doubt it as it looks in pretty good nick - that xjs at the redcow got pulled out for a restoration by some guy a few weeks before i got in - west of the shannon seems to be where all the rotting and abandoned xjs action seems to be so hopein to get down monday - thanks dax and corktina for the heads up on that one -

fw

hey Dax
    was down in Galway/Mayo today - drove the entire Ballinrobe - Tuam road and asked all garage men i cud find but nobody knew of these 2 rotting Jags in the field - was it this stretch of road or a small road off it? Do you know which town/townland it was near? I am here till 2morro so mite try again if i can get a more exact location - cheers for the help everybody

fw

Hi FW, on that Tuam-Ballinrobe road there is a 90 degree lefthander with the road continueing on to Hollymount,within about 4 k's of that junction,On the continuation, RHS,about 30 metres from the road, it's a Bungalow,old,driveway,barn
    My no 086 389 1347

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭v-deniso

Have a look at this advert, its been on carzone for ages

http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=144859

Make: Jaguar Model: XJ Series XJS V12 5.3
    Engine: 5.3 Petrol
    Bodytype: Coupe
    Transmission: Automatic Price: €3,950
    Year: 1989 Colour: Burgandy
    Mileage: 111,000 miles / 178,637 kilometers
    Doors: 2 Location: A & R Motors
    Junction 5, M50, Ashbourne Road
    Tel: 01 8357702 / 0862745596/ 0868793893
    Email: sales@aandrmotors.com
    Summary: phone albert on 086 2745596

hey dax,
    thanx for those directions - found them - a rotting xjs cabrio and an 83 D roughish v12 on Irish plates but no one in, left a note with number - also that guy in Claregalway was a real nice bloke - every merc under the sun if anybody out there needs one/parts - has a near mint 5.3 '90 eng reg non HE which he says is super fuel efficent! and more so than the HE - 4 and a half grand - he's a real enthusiast and has probably owned every and any car u cud care to think off - he's moving to spain and getting out of it all soon so sum bargains to be had in his yard although most are modernish (jag saloons, mercs 80s/90s ) - the jag xjs on the Tuam - Ballinasloe road is an english reg '85 3.6 manual which is rare - very good condition, previously owned by english jag club member - looking for 5K plus 900 vrt approx - guy brought it in 4 months ago but he says the wife gave it the marching orders ...

v-deniso - I am nearly sure that jag on carzone was originally advertised at 6.5k almost a year ago - now its at 4 ... nobody wants an xjs because they think petrol is so expensive I presume ... my belief is that now is the indian summer of relatively cheap petrol - thats why i bought one of these cars - wait and see how expensive its goin to get, within 5 years we will be payin over 2.50 euro a litre and within a couple of decades u will be arrested and charged for driving a car like this on the grounds of crimes perpetrated against the environment ..... so get in now before its too late - your kids and grandkids will traverse this globe in electric pods .... as the end of the century of the internal combustion engine arrived, have personal anecdotes to wow them with of owning and driving the monsters of that twilight era ... time is running out ...... these charismatic cars are shrines to man's absoloute disregard for mankind and mother nature - i.e. - an absoloute document of the times ... buy one now! **** in 10 years time I'd get kicked off this forum for peddling this kind of nonsense ... everybody get in now - time is running out .... ok I better go now ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

when that time comes, some genius will design a renewable replacement fuel source, in fact there probably is a petrol equivelant of biodiesel already, its just laziness and or tolerable fuel prices that are keeping, or wait, government tax is another reason. i think the government in this country wants 35c per litre of bio diesel produced
    http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=bio+diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭TJM

v-deniso wrote:
    Have a look at this advert, its been on carzone for ages

http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=144859

Make: Jaguar Model: XJ Series XJS V12 5.3
    Engine: 5.3 Petrol
    Bodytype: Coupe
    Transmission: Automatic Price: €3,950
    Year: 1989 Colour: Burgandy
    Every now and then I glance at that car and try to justify buying it! Sanity soon returns though when I think of how much it would cost to tax it let alone fill the tank. Still though - a 5.3 V12 for peanuts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭cxcully

fw wrote:
    ... nobody wants an xjs because they think petrol is so expensive I presume ... my belief is that now is the indian summer of relatively cheap petrol - thats why i bought one of these cars - wait and see how expensive its goin to get, within 5 years we will be payin over 2.50 euro a litre and within a couple of decades u will be arrested and charged for driving a car like this on the grounds of crimes perpetrated against the environment ..... so get in now before its too late - your kids and grandkids will traverse this globe in electric pods .... as the end of the century of the internal combustion engine arrived, have personal anecdotes to wow them with of owning and driving the monsters of that twilight era ... time is running out ...... these charismatic cars are shrines to man's absoloute disregard for mankind and mother nature - i.e. - an absoloute document of the times ... buy one now! **** in 10 years time I'd get kicked off this forum for peddling this kind of nonsense ... everybody get in now - time is running out .... ok I better go now ...

fx,you're damn right.....sometimes I wonder what I'm doing accumulating old cars like they're going out of fashion....but I definitely think the situation will be worse in 5-10 years re. juice.It's time to enjoy cars now.
    Im thinking of buying a huge tank out the back and putting in 20 litres a week!!!!!
    I'm just joking about the tank but as an aside I would like to know how long petrol keeps for....

Not sure, but if it's in your tank for more than a year I know from personal experience what damage it can do

hey tjm .....
    hav to post an add on to this thread regarding legitimsh fuel consumption theories/road taxable endeavours regarding the ownership of one of these 5.3 v12/3.6 6cy rust buckets ....
    ok here goes .....
    the guards/polis are only in a position to impound 'on the spot' your car if the current tax disc in the windyscreen is six months 'or over' out ...
    so by dint of the fact that your local co. co. gives you the option of taxing by the 3 months - this means that u can effectively get away with taxing your car every 'other' 3 months (ie - 6months a year) ...
    In the untaxed time 'inbetween' you inform the nice blue man, if stopped; as to the 'recent off- roadness nature' of the vehicle you drive in question - u drive what appears to be a classic car and the likely hood of it being stuck on a ramp, for say, the preceeding couple of untaxed months is completely credible to him/her - in their eyes a '02 reg is close on antique so u drivin a 70's/80's motor is mad enough to go by the bye - what's required of you to account for the 3 month gap to gain your next 3 month tax disc involves the mammoth task of turning up at any garda station you choose and filling out a 'non' form informing them of 'the' situation that arose regarding the ferocious work that had to be undertaken by your mechanic to rectify all and sundry problems - i hav never met a guard that didn't stamp this form for me - I once got the stamp whilst I was still midway through writing the thing ....

ok - the brass tacks(tax) of all this meanderous adding on by me is -
    - road tax 'top price' stops at engine size 3 litres @1200 euro a year -a 3000cc or 10000cc is taxed the same - u tax for 6 months = 600 euro (basically a 2 litre corrola ) ok so thats not too bad ....
    Fuel consumption; the fuel economy difference bewtween a 1.3 jap car and a 1.9 jap or eurocar is sizeable .... the differentiation between any 'roadworthy ' 2.0 and say a 5.3 is negligible - it's not analogous with small engine fuel efficency .....the large engine sizes trade mpg differences in single digits - we are talking about penny indifferences - 15 - 25 mpg across the board .... so ...in summary ... moderate tax disc pricing and moderate fuel consumption ... buy that xjs you referenced - there are so so few on the road, get in and buy, they are truely design beatified..

footnote to this - I in by no means advocate or support the refusal/evasion of taxes/penalties/laws ... all that is referred to above is nothing but the honest enthusiastic reaction to the 'loophole' that guides and emboldens the democratic system that is all (and sundry)

I also run a badger boxing night in Cabra on the third Sunday of every month - admission 8 litres (work it out) ... all welcome - especially badgers and foxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

junkyard wrote: »
    Let me know what your looking for I have most bits for them.

hi
    came across this on boards today
    realise it's a few years back
    have u a starter motor for a 1978 xjs v12 by any chance?
    francis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

me bolly wrote: »
    hi
    francis

Probably would have been better to send a PM than excavate a prehistoric thread Francis, though im not sure what name Junkyard calls himself these days. He has disappeared into the ether again.

Probably scrapping Renaults by the dozen in the south of France.:D

Theres also a 'For sale and wanted' thread on this forum for requests like you have also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

me bolly wrote: »
    hi
    francis

I would have both type starter motors for twelve cylinders.
    PM sent.