Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old Film

• 04-05-2006 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭

I have some old undeveloped disc film from the 80s and I was wondering if its still possible to get it developed?

Disc:
    disc_2_small.jpg

Negative:
    5.jpg

Also I've an old Kodak Baby Brownie in good nick that takes 127 film. Is there anywhere in Dublin I can get this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

I'd imagine it wouldnt be too difficult to get them developed. Most labs should still have their kit for 127 film. The disc might have to be sent away. At least the last lab I worked in still had kit for developing 127 film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭jaqian

rymus wrote:
    I'd imagine it wouldnt be too difficult to get them developed. Most labs should still have their kit for 127 film. The disc might have to be sent away. At least the last lab I worked in still had kit for developing 127 film.

Really? Even though its stopped being sold back in the 70s?

[EDIT] whoops just saw Kodak stopped producing it in 1995.

Know anywhere that'll develope the disc film for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

arse, hangon.. I was thinking of something else. I'll have to engage the brain cells before the fingers in future. Chances are you'll be able to get somewhere that'll process it for you, cant give you any hints as to who unfortunately...

Right,I'll get my coat...

LOL cheers anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

If you were down south, I'd tell you to ring Spectra in Kerry, but I'm not sure if and where films like that would be sent to from Dublin... Is there someplace in Abbey Street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭peter1892

Apologies for hijacking the thread, but is there any point attempting to develop old rolls of 35mm film that are long past their 'process by' date? I've got one or two rolls knocking around from the mid 1990's that I'd like to have printed. They probably weren't stored as well as they should be though.

Have they been exposed? They should be alright, colours will be a bit off, bit less saturation if it's been exposed.

Fajitas! wrote:
    Have they been exposed? They should be alright, colours will be a bit off, bit less saturation if it's been exposed.

Yes, used them ages ago but for whatever reasons (probably lack of money when a poor student) they were forgotten about. One of them is a slide film. I'll bring them with me the next time I go into the shop & ask their advice on it, it's really for curiosity & novelty value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭ender ender

That's a coincidence, my friend showed me a Baby Brownie her dad gave her the other day, she was wondering if she could get film for it still.

Peter you may as well get it developed anyway, I've heard of people developing 15 year old film before, especially when x-processing (you know I love my x-pro!)

peter1892 wrote:
    Apologies for hijacking the thread, but is there any point attempting to develop old rolls of 35mm film that are long past their 'process by' date? I've got one or two rolls knocking around from the mid 1990's that I'd like to have printed. They probably weren't stored as well as they should be though.

I've had rolls developed from the eighties that came out grand. As long as they were stored in good conditions they will be ok.

That's a coincidence, my friend showed me a Baby Brownie her dad gave her the other day, she was wondering if she could get film for it still.

Went into The Dublin Camera Shop on Marlborough St today to try my luck and yer man said they were no longer produced. But there is a company in Germany that still makes them.

There is a pool on Flickr devoted to 127 film and one of the lads there actually got 35mm to work instead of 127. I went to try this inly to discover I'm missing a reel from the camera so can't load the film. Anyone got a spare? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Unless the content is really important to you, I wouldn't bother.

I got some old 10 year old 110 format film processed once and the prints were very very very yellow.

Peter you may as well get it developed anyway, I've heard of people developing 15 year old film before, especially when x-processing (you know I love my x-pro!)

I'll drop into Gunns & have a word with them, one roll is slide film from my first trip to the US (1995!). Why i bought it, well I really have no idea. i think I got it in the airport & was in too much of a rush to go back & change it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭slumped

I wonder what free film they will give you when you get them developed?

Will they replace like for like......? :-)

jaqian wrote:
    There is a pool on Flickr devoted to 127 film and one of the lads there actually got 35mm to work instead of 127. I went to try this inly to discover I'm missing a reel from the camera so can't load the film. Anyone got a spare? :)

Would a 120 one do you any good? I gave a friend one for a similar camera, and it worked out grand.

If you're going to convert it I'd reccommend looking at 35mm conversions for the Holga camera. Not the same, but would be very similar to what you'd have to do.

The 35mm roll turned out fine - and it was from 1995, a couplemof funny colours but generally good images. I'll get the slides next week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭FinoBlad

jaqian wrote:
    I've an old Kodak Baby Brownie in good nick that takes 127 film. Is there anywhere in Dublin I can get this?

Online for sure. Efke and Maco make 127.
    See http://www.jandcphoto.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWCATS&Category=9

Or http://www.fotoimpex.de

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭SOL

It really depends on storage conditions I think because when I worled in processing occasionally you would get films from times gone bye and some would come out really fogged with the colours totally gone to blue or yellow or somesuch, but others would be grand..

As for the 127 thing, afaik you can just put a 127 into a negprocessor same as, if you put into a temporary cartridge in the dark room first. So anywhere that is semi decent will do it...