Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Police incompetence

• 02-05-2006 2:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭

Anyone see that programme last night about the journalist who went undercover as a cop in the England? A few of the things they were doing was watching dvds for 3-4 hours on nightshift, playing cricket in the corridors, spending an hour at the chinese let alone the time they had to eat the food and playing hide-n-go-seek in squad cars in public. :eek: All whilst getting paid and supposed to be performing duties.

One copper decided to ignore a call of a male assaulting a woman late at night on the streets, for all he knew she could've been getting raped, I think it took 15 minutes for another copper to respond to the call, she could've easily been dead by then.

I can't remember the name of the programme or the channel it was on cause it was 3:00am and I was half asleep ;)

Karlitosway1978: Have you ever played hide-n-go-seek in a squad car before? :p

On a serious note, does this sort of stuff happen in Irish police stations? (Not that I expect an honest answer)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

I was under the impression that the Gardaí are so badly underfunded that they don't have cars to play hide and seek in! ;)

Seriously, that's quite shocking. Taxpayers' money at work eh? The immigration officiers in England got in trouble a while ago when they demanded sex for visas etc. (just like Ali G's proposal on how to deal with immigration coincidence?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Exon wrote:
    Anyone see that programme last night about the journalist who went undercover as a cop in the England?

Yes, it was called Dispatches and was on Ch4 on Sky and was on at 9:00pm, I watched it but I wasn't up at 3:00am :eek: What channel were you watching? She was a copper not a journalist. She only filmed for the programme for four months before leaving the Service.

TJ911...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Exon

I knew she was a copper just wanted to simplify it. :)

Ehm, it was on some channel on sky digital, I have no idea which one tbh, definitely at around 3am.

She had a miserable mug, didn't she? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Exon,
    Your very vocal against police but I see nothing in my own thread. can you only put people down?

Some pointers on this one:

A, Every single worker in the world takes time out besides their official break, be it a smoke break, coffee break, whatever.

B, Playing hide and seek in cars, what difference did this actually make? were the cars still driving around the district? Yes. Were the officers keeping their eyes open? Yes. Did they still respond to calls? Yes. Nights can be very boring, if this keeps them awake and active then so be it. We dont have enough cars for this.

C, She wasnt exactly ace-cop herself was she? I mean, the guy that ignored the assault wasnt alone in the car. She could have taken the call as well, she has a radio.

Thats it, pretty shocking overall I have to say, especially the attitudes of some officers. Personally I thought the chinest take-out was the funniest. Its 1 pound per man you cheap bastards! :p And no, Gardai dont play any of these tricks or games but we do chat, have a laugh and amuse ourselves just like any other human being.

Oh, she was a cop for 11 years and left to become a journalist but returned supposedly because she missed it but now we know why really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

When I was a traffic warden years ago, we used to play a game called snooker, object was to achieve the highest break. Scoring was as in real snooker. To start your break you needed to book a red car, followed by a colour and so on. Your break ended where a car could not be booked within 5 mins of the last one. That used break up boring days on patrol. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

in fairness they're was very little wrong with the polices behaviour in that program, for example the hide and seek game was ended when they responded to an emergency call (doing they're job)

regarding playing cricket (the though crossed my mind during that if they were the officers who were in charge of the holding cells that could be seen in the background)

the guy refusing to respond to a call was because he was on his break

had to turn it off in the end cos the clutching at straws was really starting to annoy me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

I'd prefer to meet a good humoured garda than a sour one who took his job a little too seriously!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

amen to that maidhc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I have a cap of the programme from uknova, I must watch it one of these days.

I lost a lot of faith in the Dispatches team after the Ryanair 'exposè'. I'm no fan of O'Leary, but the documentary was sensationalist.

Lastly, the WPC would have been about 6months to a year collecting footage.

What you're seeing is a highly edited, highly condensed version of all the bad bits down into 30 minutes. Just imagine what something similar would produce if she came to your place of work and did the same thing?

tbh I know half the stuff on the programme wasn't too bad, but me and Karlitosway1978 know what can go on inside Irish police stations.

I know a lad who got arrested for Drunken Disorderly and was causing a bit of a disturbance. The arresting guard who is a fairly big lump (6ft 5" easily) opened the cell door and gave him a slap of the baton on the head. He was very lucky not to be blinded and still has trouble with his right eye.

I mean fair enough, give him a slap and tell him to cop on, but that wasn't acceptable from someone who's supposed to uphold the law.

Have you anything to say about this sort of thing Karlitosway1978?

Exon wrote:
    tbh I know half the stuff on the programme wasn't too bad, but me and Karlitosway1978 know what can go on inside Irish police stations.

I know a lad who got arrested for Drunken Disorderly and was causing a bit of a disturbance. The arresting guard who is a fairly big lump (6ft 5" easily) opened the cell door and gave him a slap of the baton on the head. He was very lucky not to be blinded and still has trouble with his right eye.

I mean fair enough, give him a slap and tell him to cop on, but that wasn't acceptable from someone who's supposed to uphold the law.

Have you anything to say about this sort of thing Karlitosway1978?

Ah the classic "I know a man, who knew a man, who knew a man whos next door neighbours great uncle............." I have answered this so often its not worth it at this stage.

I also wonder how you "know what goes on" are you in custody a lot? In which case, why have you never been beaten? People like you, be it from whatever background, will look very foolish in the near future and Im sooooooo looking forward to it that I can barely keep quiet.

And wheres the comment on a new police force? Still nothing constructive too say?

Ah the classic "I know a man, who knew a man, who knew a man whos next door neighbours great uncle............." I have answered this so often its not worth it at this stage.

No, it was just someone I know, nothing to do with his neighbours or relations. Let's be serious about this now, this sort of carry-on is unacceptable and the supers don't seem to care. Anything to say?

I don't want to disclose how I know what goes on, but it's definitely not from being in custody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

It's not Karlitosway1978's job to defend the Gardaí, he's not their spokesperson, so grow up and stop bloody calling him out on everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i have lost faith in Dispatches, turned into sensationalist tabloid crap.

DaveMcG wrote:
    It's not Karlitosway1978's job to defend the Gardaí, he's not their spokesperson, so grow up and stop bloody calling him out on everything.

I never said he was their spokesperson, and where does defending the Gardaí come into this? I simply wanted to know a Garda's opinion on a few things.

This is a serious and on-going problem which needs to be spoken about.

Your attitude's not welcome in this thread btw, maybe you need to grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

DaveMcG wrote:

He assumes the role at times. :D

Exon wrote:
    No, it was just someone I know, nothing to do with his neighbours or relations. Let's be serious about this now, this sort of carry-on is unacceptable and the supers don't seem to care. Anything to say?

I don't want to disclose how I know what goes on, but it's definitely not from being in custody.

Exon,
    You expect me too answer your completely unsubstantiated claims but yet consistantly refuse to answer anything I put too you. wheres your plans for the idal police force? Still no post? Despite promising you would respond in full when you PMed me? You are like a broken record churning out the same crap.

Now have you anything to say about this actual thread?

I'll make a post on your thread tommorow or the next day when I get time.

This is what I was planning to get down to on this thread...