Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the final

• 29-04-2006 7:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭

Today was amazing, both of the last legs of the semi finals were fantastic,
    was thinking of doing a road trip for the rent of the weekend, not now, snooker is justa to exciting as it hits the final :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

dott v ebdon in the final...that excites you??? I'd much prefer to see a final with either to great break builders (e.g. O'Sullivan v Higgins) or 2 with contrasting styles (e.g. Doherty v Murphy) and not 2 boring tactical players

Brace yourself for 90 min frames.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

I imagine the final will be boring enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Glenman

There will probably be some slow frame alright but I imagine therew ill be a few big breaks espically from Ebdon.
    I hope its a close match, 17-17 would be nice, that would make it exciting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Charles Darwin

Oh dear, it's dreary stuff.

If they're not careful they'll have to come back on Tuesday to finish it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

they need to change the date of the world championship next year and not tell ebdon. he's anti-entertainment and has a repetoir of shots designed to lenghten every frame.

its a snorefest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 unreg1987

el rabitos wrote:
    they need to change the date of the world championship next year and not tell ebdon. he's anti-entertainment and has a repetoir of shots designed to lenghten every frame.

its a snorefest

Agree 100%. I REALLY wanted Fu and O'Sullivan in the final, but when O'Sullivan was down by so much I was at least hoping for Fu. I watched the whole 7 or 8 frames it took him to get back to 16-16, but then I had to go somewhere and missed final frame :(

I won't watch a second of the final, I can guarantee you that! It is/will be terrible snooker...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭djmarkus

Absolutley.. havent seen snooker this bad in a final in a loooong time..

Don't know much about Dott, but Ebdon used to be good value for money. If Ken D. was knocked out of something, I'd usually switch my support to Ebdon. He used to be exciting but now he really is too cagey for words.

At the same time, I'd still side with Ebdon against say O'Sullivan. At least with the carry on in this final you can see it means a hell of a lot to him to be world champion. O'Sullivan losing 8 frames in a row to Dott the other day just summed it up for me. He's not interested. That's not great to watch either.

Obviously BBC are finding it equally tough going....
    BBC wrote:
    Frame 13: If there are any Sheffield traffic wardens reading this, I'd volunteer for the late shift if I were you. There's a fortune to be made on the lapsed pay and display tickets of the Crucible crowd's cars tonight... It's 2335BST and there are three frames to play.

and
    BBC wrote:
    Frame 16: The marathon session is finally brought to an end as Dott goes six frames ahead.

Ebdon will want to forget the whole day - as will the crowd- but Dott can be satisfied, if not amazed, by building a huge lead in snooker's biggest match despite having a highest break of just 62.

Hopefully tomorrow will be better. It's not like Ebdon to go down without a fight. Maybe he'll change his tactics for tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Snooker is the real looser. To have a half empty crucable for the final is unbelevable. I know that it ran on late but do you honestly believe half the seats would empty if O sullivan and Murphy were playing?? (or indeed almost any two other then the two who ended up there).

I do realise that whoever wins is going to go through, its just a shame to see what is normally such an exciting showcase event reduced to a level of play that you wouldnt go to see if it was in your local snooker club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Glenman

Yeah I agree, yesterday espically was bad for snooker. There were a lot of empty seats when I began watching it at 8.30. You would have to be a very hardcore fan to watch the entire match. At least today is a bit better. At the moment it's 13-7 so I hope that Ebdon can win this mini session 3-1 to leave it 14-10 going into the last session.
    If it goes close tonight it will be a late night but at least it would be exciting

BBC wrote:
    Frame 20: Like a couple of chimps in London Zoo, Ebdon and Dott continue to scratch about as the match approaches the mid-session interval. Yet again, both men have chances. Dott breaks down after a 62 break before Ebdon misses a straight-forward yellow when overstretching. Dott then fluffs a snooker, leaving Ebdon to pot the yellow and lay a snooker of his own. Dott is unable to escape, but then flukes a snooker of his own and manages to flop over the line. A big psychological frame for Dott.

Its actually a joke, and Dott was complaining before the final about not getting the respect he deserves. Considering he has yet to win a ranking event Im struggling to understand why he thinks he should command such respect in the snooker world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Short of Hulk Hogan bursting into the crucible and clothes-lining Dott, it looks like it's in the bag already.
    Though it'd make for some great viewing if Ebdon could pull it level tonight, can't see it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

padser wrote:
    Snooker is the real looser. To have a half empty crucable for the final is unbelevable. I know that it ran on late but do you honestly believe half the seats would empty if O sullivan and Murphy were playing?? (or indeed almost any two other then the two who ended up there).

I do realise that whoever wins is going to go through, its just a shame to see what is normally such an exciting showcase event reduced to a level of play that you wouldnt go to see if it was in your local snooker club.

I think, from what I've seen, is that both players are deperate to win, entertainment thus isn't a factor. The occasion is affecting them, there have been some fluffed pots and snookers but did we really expect anythnig different frm an Ebdon Dott final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Due to work, this is the first World C'ship Final where I've haven't watched every frame, since I was old enough to know the rules. Looks like I'm not missing much. I can't believe there are empty seats (is that true of tonights session?). This definitely hasnt been the tournament world snooker were hoping for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭miketv

now its getting interesting..bit of a comeback, turning out alright now :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

lost my original post so shorter reply here

Dott should have taken greater advantage of a wasted Ebdon on the first day and killed them match if
    a. he was a better player
    b. he was a more decisive player

To scramble to victory with such poor break building tells a story.

Anyhow, fair dues to Ebdon for salvaging what would have been a much worse final, that 70'odd minute frame was great to watch IMO.

However, what I will remember from the final - indeed from the whole competition - was Ebdon's amazing full length double kiss on the red to bring the white back to the back cushion.
    That was the best shot I have seen in many years, you can have great pots/snookers/getting out of snookers etc but that shot was in a different class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

slave1 wrote:
    However, what I will remember from the final - indeed from the whole competition - was Ebdon's amazing full length double kiss on the red to bring the white back to the back cushion.
    That was the best shot I have seen in many years, you can have great pots/snookers/getting out of snookers etc but that shot was in a different class.

Yes.. best shot I have seen in a long long time. It was the shot of the tournament without a doubt.

I was hoping Ebdon would win. But I was happy he made some sort of a come back..he deserved it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

slave1 wrote:

I agree that was a class shot and i couldn't see Dott playing that shot. I think it was a shame that Dott won, the worst champion ever, his highest break was 66 thats a disgrace. Ebdons a lot better player its just a shame he couldn't concentrate in the first day.
    Snooker generally has one player dominating with two or three snapping at there heels (ie Davis, Hendry). It should be Ronnie thats dominating but hes just too unstable also the second most talented player Mark Williams isn't practicing by his own admission and gone totally of the boil. This leaves it open for players like Dott to win the world championship and Stephen Hendry still to be number one when he's well past his best.

I think the bottom line is that of the 32 players who made the first round proper, almost every one of them must have been looking at that final last night thinking, this really really could have been my year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Don't think may would've predicted that someone like Dott would've won it but well deserved and fair play...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Yeah deserved to win. It's advantageous if big players like Ronnie have off days (like the morning session Dott won against hi 8-0 or something) but it still takes a lot to "finish them off".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

The funniest part of the final was watching the lads going to the jacks are Dott went 17-14 up.

Ebdon walks into the gents and dott heads for the ladies :eek: