Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crash In Howth Tonight...

• 28-04-2006 11:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭

In Dublin visiting relations for the long weekend in Howth and came across the worst crash I ever seen in my life. ABout 4 lads from Poland or Russia or somewhere flipped and rolled a car about 5 times. They were pissed out of there heads.

Now Im sorry about this rant but can we please do something about foreign people living here and drivers licences. This person went to overtake a car at a junction out side Offington Manor where someone was killed about 3 weeks ago.

We done what we could until the emergency services arrived.

If anyone knows there condition can you please keep us up to date. Not trying to sound pesimistic but things didn't look good when we left...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,764 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

No mention on news, which is a positive sign I would have thought.

In fairness, though, we're not exaclty the most likely nation to have the fewest drink-driving related deaths/accidetns in the world ourselves.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

any idea of what time roughly this happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Macers wrote:
    In Dublin visiting relations for the long weekend in Howth and came across the worst crash I ever seen in my life. ABout 4 lads from Poland or Russia or somewhere flipped and rolled a car about 5 times. They were pissed out of there heads.

Any of the polish & latvian guys I know tend to think nothing of driving with a few beers/shots on them (I'm not making any generalisations, just stating my personal experience).

It seems that finally when we're managing to eradicate the ethos of drink driving amongst irish people, our new citizens are bringing it back to the forefront again !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

It seems that finally when we're managing to eradicate the ethos of drink driving amongst irish people...

Sadly, I don't think we're anywhere near that dude. I drove about 1000km this week mainly through the night (It's my job, I'm not just some weirdo) and saw an unbelievable amount of drunks.

Regardless of nationality, zero tolerance is the only option imo. This coupled with enforcement needless to say.

Anyway, fair play to you for 'doing what you could', there are plenty who would just drive by (probably myself included). I hope they are OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Foriegeners don't hold an monopoly on bad driving. There are what, 55,000 Irish drivers last year that didn't even have a valid license, let alone tax/insurance. Even more that drive cars without NCT.

The worst crashes I have seen was a 4 car pile up on the M50. One of the cars had disentegrated it was so badly damaged. The other was the school bus that overturned near where I worked. Very sad.

Incidently some months back there is an EU law coming in that stops people from driving if they don't have a license in thier own country which is valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

Just look outside any pub at the weekend at the number of cars parked. Go into the pub and see how many people are drinking non-alcoholic drinks- Very few or none. This applies more so to rural pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

kc66 wrote:
    Just look outside any pub at the weekend at the number of cars parked. Go into the pub and see how many people are drinking non-alcoholic drinks- Very few or none. This applies more so to rural pubs.

You would imagine that the Gardaí would notice this eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭le-dub

kc66 wrote:

The way this country on goes on about drinking driving. The garda only have to sit outside pubs and grab the ****ers coming out and arrest them.. Instead of seting up check points all over the country and they only ever do it on the bank holiday weekends and where all aware of it as wel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

le-dub wrote:
    The way this country on goes on about drinking driving. The garda only have to sit outside pubs and grab the ****ers coming out and arrest them.. Instead of seting up check points all over the country and they only ever do it on the bank holiday weekends and where all aware of it as wel

Well said - By the way they were Lithuanians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Macers

APM wrote:
    11.30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Hagar wrote:
    You would imagine that the Gardaí would notice this eventually.
    Oh and they do when it's near the end of the month/quarter and the Super sends them out to meet their quotas. But this relates to enforcement in general.

For example, across the road from my office there's a post office. Right next to my office is the local Garda station. Because there's nowhere to park, there's usually a line of cars on double-yellows while people nip in to do their post. For about 26 days of the month this goes on without incident but in the last few days you'll see the gardai out issuing tickets. It's the same reason why you see them out in (purely) revenue gathering locations issuing speeding tickets around this time of the month too.

You also have to remember that a lot of politicians are also publicans/own pubs. It's not in their financial interest to order the Gardai to just sit outside the pubs at closing time every night and get their customers as they stagger to the car - even though, as you say, this is exactly what's needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭happydaz

i agree, it's hardly limited to non nationals....
    anyway surely a measure such as a complusory additional driving class could e introduce to show people what happens to those who drink and drive. even an hour long class would do it. real life stories on video or something. i mean since the FAS safe pass (complusory to complete it to work on site) has been introduced construction site deaths have gone down dramatically for both nationals and non nationals. it's not the greatest of courses, but it seemed to do the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

APM wrote:

Well, i was on the bus up to howth and we got there at about ten to midnight, gardaí and ambulance were already there and the fire brigade got there just after us. I saw the car on it's side, but apparently there were 2 cars involved, one coming out of Offington hit another one heading towards howth. It looked particularly nasty. The whole road was covered in bits of glass and metal and there was a bumper on the other side of the road. I saw a garda sittin on the road with what i assume was one of the occupants of the vehicle. We were there for about 10 mins before we diverted through Offington and around the hill, i couldn't really see much.