Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fitz 270 report? Anyone feel like writing one?

• 28-04-2006 9:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭

It's Friday. I'm in work and looking forward to a long weekend. Help me pass the time a little more enjoyably. Your cooperation is appreciated. :)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

5starpool wrote:
    no

You can learn more from defeat than victory Dom. Do tell all so others won't repeat your mistakes :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭TimFoil

played a great freeroll to get the ticket, by the time the main event started I had peaked 30 mins earlier and sat on auto pilot watching muck till blinded down to a wiener stack. 8 hrs of play for 3 roast spuds and some dodgy peas. *sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Dominic is pissed off with me, I think!

Bohsman out in 12th or so, after playing a blinder with a short stack all night.

NorwichFanRob out in 7th, played a top class game as well, and unlucky to go out.

Pokertroll was in control with three tables to go (thought he was going to dominate it for the rest of the night), ! was surprised to see him getting up.

Me, out in 5th. Luckboxed my way to a stack just after the break with 55 in a 4-way all-in against AA(!) AK (5starpool) and 89; a beautiful 5 on the flop gave me a stack for the night. Settled down and played better after that unusual occurrance (me outdrawing someone!).

Heading to work now, so I'll write a report (possibly for blog) then. :D

Edit: When I left, Stewart had a monster chip lead after beating QQ with AT. Neil (from the cash game) was still in and playing very well, even though slightly less-chipped than the others. The two other guys I dont know, but they were mad to limp into as much money as possible, so that may have been their undoing.

Edit 2: Gholimoli was also down to the last three tables, cant remember exactly how he went out.

TimFoil wrote:
    played a great freeroll to get the ticket, by the time the main event started I had peaked 30 mins earlier and sat on auto pilot watching muck till blinded down to a wiener stack. 8 hrs of play for 3 roast spuds and some dodgy peas. *sigh*

Which table were you on in the freeroll?

ollyk1 wrote:
    You can learn more from defeat than victory Dom. Do tell all so others won't repeat your mistakes :D;)

The lesson to be learnt from my night grasshopper is that if your gut is telling you that your AK is not good preflop after an allin and a call for around the same amount as your shortish stack then don't say 'ah fcuk it might as well' and throw in your chips cause you are always going to be drawing very slim. Strangely enough I was and I lost.

This wasn't one of your 'ah fcuk it I might as well' jobs Olly, I meant this one.

55 vs AK vs AA. % on the flop was all she wrote and Lenny Leonard tripled up and the rest (another very shortstack allin that hand too).

I got rivered in the blind Omaha too. I had the nuts until the end. Damn river.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

They were still fighting it out 3 handed near 7am this morning. I think a deal of some sort was eventually done between Neil (100 game regular), Stuey and one other, although I heard Neil was very reluctant to chop it.

As for myself, I exited shortly after 1am. Mick Locke and I went in the same hand. I was all in with AK, he was all in with 88, someone else had JJ which held up. Not a good tournament for me. Oscar was knocked out just before the final table I think.

Bohsman out in 12th or so, after playing a blinder with a short stack all night.

NorwichFanRob out in 7th, played a top class game as well, and unlucky to go out.

Pokertroll was in control with three tables to go (thought he was going to dominate it for the rest of the night), ! was surprised to see him getting up.

Me, out in 5th. Luckboxed my way to a stack just after the break with 55 in a 4-way all-in against AA(!) AK (5starpool) and 89; a beautiful 5 on the flop gave me a stack for the night. Settled down and played better after that unusual occurrance (me outdrawing someone!).

Heading to work now, so I'll write a report (possibly for blog) then. :D

Nice one Lenny!! You must have loosened up your game at some stage!! ;) Did you win the ticket in the freeroll??

5starpool wrote:
    The lesson to be learnt from my night grasshopper is that if your gut is telling you that your AK is not good preflop after an allin and a call for around the same amount as your shortish stack then don't say 'ah fcuk it might as well' and throw in your chips cause you are always going to be drawing very slim. Strangely enough I was and I lost.

This wasn't one of your 'ah fcuk it I might as well' jobs Olly, I meant this one.

55 vs AK vs AA. % on the flop was all she wrote and Lenny Leonard tripled up and the rest (another very shortstack allin that hand too).

I got rivered in the blind Omaha too. I had the nuts until the end. Damn river.

Frustrating when you get a big hand you are short stacked and you "know" you should lay it down. Hard luck Dom.

Sorry to hear the blind omaha run ended too but the mistake was being ahead before the river. :rolleyes:

ollyk1 wrote:
    Nice one Lenny!! You must have loosened up your game at some stage!! ;) Did you win the ticket in the freeroll??

Won it in a 6-handed sat afterwards, had decided that if I didn't win it there I wasn't going to buy in. Just didn't feel right. Glad I stayed on!

ollyk1 wrote:

Cheers Olly.

Won it in a 6-handed sat afterwards, had decided that if I didn't win it there I wasn't going to buy in. Just didn't feel right. Glad I stayed on!

BTW, those 6-handed sats are much better value than the 10-seaters.

Not at all with you. I was calling your allin like a shot. It was the flat call immediatelty from the guy to your left that got me thinking I should have thrown away my AK. I didn't like making that call. Glad you won it as I was screwed anyways. Your 5 didn't disimprove my position.

Well done on your 5th.

Got the rust of your game in the freeroll not a bad strategy Lenny. :)
    WP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

Hi Graham,

It was an enjoyable tournament - was in great shape with about 26 players left with about 45k. Thought I played very well to get to that point - making some very well judged calls in large pots - despite being accused of being an internet player when I had the right odds to make a big call with a small pocket pair late into the game. Then I had what can only be described as a Norman moment which I am still reeling over...

I am on the button and the player 2 to my left put in a raise to 3000. I looked down at AQ, and decided to call (first mistake) Only then did I notice that this player was very well chipped and had enough to cause me serious damage so I started to regret getting involved in the hand in the first place.

The flop come 6 high and we both check. Player bets 4000 on the turn (another low card) and I try to convince myself that he has none of it and is just making a steal. So I had a brainfart moment and decided to re-raise him all in. Of course he called with his pocket sixes which had made a set on the flop!!

I was then down to 7000 and lost a race againse Kevin Farrelly when his AK made a flush against my 99!

Only for that AQ hand - I think I was in with a chance of winning it - another tournament thrown away!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

kinaldo wrote:
    As for myself, I exited shortly after 1am. Mick Locke and I went in the same hand. I was all in with AK, he was all in with 88, someone else had JJ which held up. Not a good tournament for me. Oscar was knocked out just before the final table I think.

That was me with the JJ - u were unlucky.

ollyk1 wrote:
    Which table were you on in the freeroll?

ah, i think its table 1, the one on the left..

pokertroll wrote:
    Hi Graham,

It was an enjoyable tournament - was in great shape with about 26 players left with about 45k. Thought I played very well to get to that point - making some very well judged calls in large pots - despite being accused of being an internet player when I had the right odds to make a big call with a small pocket pair late into the game. Then I had what can only be described as a Norman moment which I am still reeling over...

I am on the button and the player 2 to my left put in a raise to 3000. I looked down at AQ, and decided to call (first mistake) Only then did I notice that this player was very well chipped and had enough to cause me serious damage so I started to regret getting involved in the hand in the first place.

The flop come 6 high and we both check. Player bets 4000 on the turn (another low card) and I try to convince myself that he has none of it and is just making a steal. So I had a brainfart moment and decided to re-raise him all in. Of course he called with his pocket sixes which had made a set on the flop!!

I was then down to 7000 and lost a race againse Kevin Farrelly when his AK made a flush against my 99!

Only for that AQ hand - I think I was in with a chance of winning it - another tournament thrown away!.

hey Mark
    that move could have easily been a Superior Play had you not been so unfortunate, you know yourself the difference between a SP and a brainfart can be hairline. Look on the brightside, at least you were accused of internet play, how amusing. I assume that once I exited with my Unlucky Influence your stack mushroomed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

im shattered, got home at 5.40am.
    final table looked like it was going to go on for ever, average stack was about 60k and blinds 2/4k when i went out in 7th.

AK and i made it 20k to stuarts BB (i shoulda moved in , he has a wide range) he calls with QT and AQT board has me in trouble for a pot that was 1/3rd the chips in play.
    €800 in the end, out just as the money was getting big.

Played well in the whole, made a couple of good laydowns, and one big call with KJ on a J466 board vs a guy with a flush draw.
    Temporarily went mad with Ad3d in a pot with about 30 left, and misplayed 55 on the final table, then didnt raise enough with AK, (was shattered towards the end though) apart from that happy enough, felt like i should have won it though to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Played well in the whole, made a couple of good laydowns, and one big call with KJ on a J466 board vs a guy with a flush draw.

Well done NFR i wa sat your table for most of the night, that was a great call with the KJ he put you under some serious pressure wp. i cant remember but did the guy with the purple cuffs get any money at all? and who is lenny leonarD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

got off to a great start as i saw KK twice and a couple of AK,AQ ,AJ ,QQ.
    was up to about 14K just before the break.
    after the break i saw feck all.card deaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad.
    didnt see anything .
    got moved to a table with Stuey and Neil and all of them.
    it wasnt a though table at all exept that my 95,83,26, hands were dominating my range for the rest of the night.
    eventually i got 88 on my BB and ready to make a move where EP goes all in,button calls the all in,SB goes all in and im there ooooooooooh ****e better fold them.
    so EP has JTs, button has AKs and SB has another AKs and flop comes ...you guessed it 8 high but i wasnt in the hand so foooooock.
    few hands later i was getting short and limped with A5 and flop came A68 with two dimonds.
    i bet 2K in to the pot of 2K and Neil put me all in for another 16K .
    i made a weak fold here as i think he was on a flush draw but i folded any way.
    few hands later i went all in for 12K after Neil had made it 2.5K UTG.
    my QJ v his AT and flop of KTT saw me going home in 24th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

I knew in my bones this wasn't gonna be the night.

Firstly I played for 3 hours in a freeroll to get knocked out in third by a kid who 'felt' that his 9 7o was good. And as delighted as i was that Timfoil won it I still can't believe he called my ace jack with ace 4! :rolleyes:

Got pocket aces twice and pocket kings before the break and not a single caller. And i only doubled the blinds!

Thankfully Eric 'Mr. Gamble Gamble' gave me a few chips when we both went a bit nuts with pocket fives against pocket sevens!

Then the hand that knocked me out. Dealt pocket kings. again. mid table guy raises to 3 times the blind, good Asian players calls. I raise to 3 times his blind. Original raiser folds. Asian guy goes all in. I put him on a pocket pair. Which was correct. Unfortunately they were baby Ones. With the low flop all the money woulda went in anyway. So end of story.

So I sit into the cash game intending to play tight and get my tourney entry back. Unfortunately a well known player was raising every hand blind. He raises to 25, not on the blind. I get dealt ace queen in holdem. I reraise to 65 in 2nd position. Asian guy calls. Well known player, lets call him, oh I don't know, player Y, reraises to 200. I call, going all in. Asian guy calls for 120 all in. On the flop up pops my sweet Queen high. But also a ten and an eight suited. Anway, I win the pot with queens, player Y has pocket sevens, don't know what the Asian chap had.

I get unlucky in a few hands over the next few hours but eventually Peter Hessian and player Y kill the table with their constant raising preflop. Rather than extract the maximum value from a 50 table they see it as good for their bankrolls just to bully away and lose money constantly for their efforts. So I leave with my 400 profit, enough for a few more tourneys this week.

I'm off to enjoy the sunshine. I was hoping to make more last night as I'm going to London on Wednesday and just found out there's a 150 sterling freezeout in the Gutshot on Thursday. If I win a grand before then I'll stay on and play in it.

D.

oh the banoffi desert was excellent! :D

Goodluck2me and Lenny, nice to meet u both last night.

GL2me, that uber lunatic in the purple shirt came about 17th in the end, so no cash for him (they paid 13 out of 96 last night).

This guy was stone mad, i was only at his table for a short time, but heard he was playing mad downstairs, he brought a massive stack b4 the break, and i saw him play 3 hands as follows in the space of 15 mins b4 he was moved:

UTG all in for 2.3k, UTG+1 (Jason) all in for 7.3k, (I have 15k at this stage, and think for about 3 mins b4 folding 1010, i thought i was ahead, but didnt need to race for 1/2 my stack, and with 3 players to act inc the massive stack, it was a fold for me), but it was an easy call for looney with 98 which won vs J7 and AK.

2 hands later another guy makes it about 2k utg, looney calls, then utg leads for 2k and a call, turn utg bets about 2k again, leaving about 1,500 behind and mad guy moves in with T high on a bluff and basically 0% FE !!

2 hands after this he limps, someone goes all in and he calls with A5. A flush comes on the board and he jams a split.

This guy had 40k+ most of the night, until the inevitable donations and all of a sudden he was gone b4 the money, id love to know what he was thinking though.

Well done NFR i wa sat your table for most of the night, that was a great call with the KJ he put you under some serious pressure wp. i cant remember but did the guy with the purple cuffs get any money at all? and who is lenny leonarD?

I was at that table for Robs call, seat 6 I think. Oscar was two to my left. What seat were you in?

Gholimoli wrote:
    i bet 2K in to the pot of 2K and Neil put me all in for another 16K .
    i made a weak fold here as i think he was on a flush draw but i folded any way.

Gholi, Neil had a decent Ace that time. It was a really tough call to make, and if you had you'd be berating yourself for doing it instead of folding!

i was seat 3, GL2me was seat 4, Lenny seat 6 and Oscar seat 8 as far as i remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

I was taken out by gholi when I made my only mistake of the night. I just lost most of my stack with AK v TT before I stupidly re-raised all in with Q2 when I was short when a stop and go was clearly the best course of action. I hate it when I realise the correct play just after I make the wrong one. Was a little pissed off because of that one donkey play. Played great up until then and had to recover from losing to a one outer early on just after the break. The improved structure has definately made for a much better tourney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I pointed Lenny out to you on the bubble - he was the shortstack to the left of the very shortstack in red.

I had just got going getting my stack up to 12k when when I got half of it in with 99 against AQ and AJ - we each had one heart and 4 came out to give it to the AQ - if that had stood up I would have been comfortable for the night, as it was I pushed with 33 against Teddys JJ to double up with a 345 flop, before blinding away into to money and pushing with A9 on the cutoff but the sb had AT.

Gholi, Neil had a decent Ace that time. It was a really tough call to make, and if you had you'd be berating yourself for doing it instead of folding!
    if he had the A then it was a good fold .
    how do you know he had the A Lenny ?did he tell you?
    he didnt raise preflop and i felt he would have raised if he had a decent A.
    playing with him for a while on that table i didnt see him make an aggro move like that with out the goods,he was mostly calling his draws and not raising with them and thats why i convinced my self to lay it down.

the tourny is deffo a good one and i love the 30 min blinds .
    time of for a lot of play and nice to see alot of bordies make it deep and in to the money and FT.
    i feel like i could have done better if only i was a bit more active on the my table even though it was hard with the cards i was getting.
    fair play to Lenny ,Rob,and Boshman for making the money .

Gholimoli wrote:
    if he had the A then it was a good fold .
    how do you know he had the A Lenny ?did he tell you?
    he didnt raise preflop and i felt he would have raised if he had a decent A.
    playing with him for a while on that table i didnt see him make an aggro move like that with out the goods,he was mostly calling his draws and not raising with them and thats why i convinced my self to lay it down.

I was talking to him later, and he said he had a big Ace that time. Cant remember how big. Of course he could have been filling me with false info, but I'm almsot certain he was telling the truth.

Gholimoli wrote:
    fair play to Lenny ,Rob,and Boshman for making the money .

cough cough :)

i dont know why but i cant picture lenny at all...im sure our paths will cross again so no doubt il find out. i cant belive you were at my table for so long. were you wearing a white shirt and sunglasses for a good part of it actually??

cough cough :)

i dont know why but i cant picture lenny at all...im sure our paths will cross again so no doubt il find out. i cant belive you were at my table for so long. were you wearing a white shirt and sunglasses for a good part of it actually??

I wasn't there for too long, got moved there when there was about 50 players left. I was never in your eye line at that table, so I cant picture you either. Dont worry, we'll clash sometime! As for wearing sunglasses, not a chance. Generally only the newbies do that in that game!

If anyones interested (cue the tumbleweed across my screen:)), I've a report up on my blog (link in sig).

I'd be genuinely interested to hear opinions on the AK limp hand against Teddy Hickson, and the A9 hand.

I meant to do this much sooner, but what with discussing the rights with card player and a 5 figure sum assured i am now free to re-write my report...
    my 270 game started off with one goal in mind to get into the money. it was my first time playing it and as i qualified through the freeoll, a few (unfavourable) offers were projected but i felt now was the time ot give it a go. having played two very good tournament previous to this i was feeling quielty confident, even though i knew i would have to play at my best to do well.
    the first few levels went ratehr smoothly although i did notice one player in particular stealing my blinds everytime, (i wouldnt blame him as i wasa quiet young fellow who was probably unlikely to be making moves back at him..or so i thought he though nonetheless). anyway 4 steals after my intstincts telling me to fold i feel it is about time i call and not be so passive.
    its folded around to villain in cutoff who raises as-per-usual to 4 BB, i look down and see J9s, i point out that he had raised my blind everytime and call. the flop comes Q93, i check with the plan of C-r here but no bites. (the pot is around 1200, blinds were 100-200 and the SB folded). i bet 700 on the turn which was a 10 here and he calls. the river is a 5 which im sure didnt help his hand. i bet 1200 and i win my first 270 hand :), he shows me a nine and i tell him he was beaten which im sure he knew he was;)
    anyway its my BB again 2 orbits later and i find AA, after 4 limpers. the blinds were still 1-2, i make it 600 to play and get 2 callers. i bet the raggedy flop and noone bites. im pretty sure i have a tight image at this stage.
    A little while later an interesting hand occurs, where i have A8c. i complete in the SB after several limpers. the flop comes down 9c 4c 3h, its checked around. the turn comes a 10d, its checked to the cut off who is fairly inexperienced after seeing what he has done in earlier hands, he bet 600 into a pot of about 1000 and i call, everyone else folds. the turn is a blank, he checks out of turn and i know from watching him that this is weakness and decide to go all in with my A-high for about 6.5K he had aroun 9.5K at this stage, several people on the table begin to laugh but i try keep a straight face and he folds... my heart relocates in my chest and we play on.(comments on this maybe?, also i remember norwich fan robs comment after, you knew exaclty what was going on!)
    this hands basically changed my tournament and left me little scope to work with, and meant i had to play the role of the shortstack forthe rest of the tournament. UTG goes all in for about 2.5-3K its folded around to me with AKo, he had gone all in UTG the round previosu with A5 and got lucky so i wedged it all in and he shows me 22. im pretty guttted and get that ominus feeling that only 22 v AK can give you..needless to say i miss even after a paired board and im down to 3.5K :o
    Another hand which i was happy with at the time,by the way it turned out i thought id post. the blinds are now 200-400 down to about 50 players and UTG limps then UTG+1 who is known to makes moves (the "hero" in NFR KJ story) makes it 1500 to go, i look down and see 88, call,push or fold?? anyway i looked to my left and seen oscar what quite shortstacked, i actually asked him for a count which the raiser thought was quite funny and pointed out that it was HE who raised. anyway i decided to throw them away as i didnt think 88 was good enough here to risk a tournament on...the fellow to my left who could well be lenny-leonard but i dont know... re-raises to 6 and it is folded around again. im quietly relieved at my pass.we reach the final 2 tables and i tightened up a fair but which in hindsight i was happy to make the money but im sure if it was a lower buy-in id have made moves to try to accumulate chips. im moved to a new table after out table 3 is broken up and find AK in the first and 10th hands, both UTG and both all in, both won just the blinds.... the same with QQ on the same orbit, but it was keepign me in the game and people were steadily moving out.
    then after some deliberation i find KQ 2from the button and fold it, then follws a raise and re-raise by NFR with JJ v 44, no king no queen no jack we're all happy :). then a while later i see 99 i make it %k from my 14K stack and am re-raised, to the value of all-in, i decided to let it go as there were 15 left and 13 were paid i didnt think it was gambling time...
    im moved and one AK later im still going when the shortstack on table 2finally gets knocked out and my objective is reached.
    my sights now change and i know i need to accumulate chip but im sure ive left it too late iv 7.5K with 500-1K blinds, oscar is knocked out, 2 hands later i see 66 and move all in from SB, irene with abotu 25K just calls my raise from the BB and an early limper calls too. flop was KQ87K, irene shows me 44 :( and UTG shows K9.... and im out... a little but annoyed at how i went out as i thought irene maybe could have portected me..and K9 was a bit of a loose call but nevertheless im happy with result and most of all i never felt out my depth at all throughout the tournament... (id be happy to hear any comments on any of the above)
    GL2M

Another hand which i was happy with at the time,by the way it turned out i thought id post. the blinds are now 200-400 down to about 50 players and UTG limps then UTG+1 who is known to makes moves (the "hero" in NFR KJ story) makes it 1500 to go, i look down and see 88, call,push or fold?? anyway i looked to my left and seen oscar what quite shortstacked, i actually asked him for a count which the raiser thought was quite funny and pointed out that it was HE who raised. anyway i decided to throw them away as i didnt think 88 was good enough here to risk a tournament on...the fellow to my left who could well be lenny-leonard but i dont know... re-raises to 6 and it is folded around again. im quietly relieved at my pass.we reach the final 2 tables and i tightened up a fair but which in hindsight i was happy to make the money but im sure if it was a lower buy-in id have made moves to try to accumulate chips.

Good report! Anytime I moved at that table I had a hand, and I think I had QQ that time. Good laydown, it was either push or fold for you that time, I think.

nice report, good sensible stuff, and well done on making the money on your first go at the EOM game.