Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paranoid Visions - This Saturday

• 26-04-2006 12:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭

This was originally a BOW show but for obvious reasons they pulled it, PV now doing it!

Saturday 29th April 2006
    THE LEVELLERS
    Doors: (THE LEVELLERS) 7:30 PM
    PARANOID VISIONS

www.paranoidvisions.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Hmm... That could be good. How much is it in? And what are The Levellers like?

Also, where is it?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

TBMC...... fuck. I wanna go :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭Frank Cronin

22.50, Levellers I cant really describe well, a far cry from punk, see:

www.levellers.co.uk

**** me pink that's one bollix of a door tax :(
    It's more than half what I get paid this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

the levellers are pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

22.50 for PV!!
    Not Bloody Likely

agreed, thats a crazy price

wtf, they're playin Whelans tomorrow too?
    Is this MCD or is someone losing their mind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

And yet yis will pay 50 euro to see NOFX in the Olympia or The point. Paranoid visions are legends and have done alot better **** than any of those poxy bands down the years

Ag marbh wrote:
    And yet yis will pay 50 euro to see NOFX in the Olympia or The point. Paranoid visions are legends and have done alot better **** than any of those poxy bands down the years
    I wouldnt pay 50 euro to see NOFX

MPK PROMOTIONS PRESENTS
    THE LEVELLERS

TEMPLE BAR MUSIC CENTRE
    DOORS 7:30PM
    SAT 29-APR-2006

Whelan's show is acoustic set and does not include PV.

I only paid 25 euro to see NOFX. A band who have at least 3 albums I like. Also a band I never saw before, and am likely to see only 1 or 2 more times. I've seen PV about 4 or 5 times now, and only really enjoyed 2 of them. Every time I've seen them they've played with 2 - 4 other bands and I've never paid more than 12 euro. This is 22 euro for one other band. And I don't have a job!!!

Edit: Ah, ok. PV are supporting The Levellers? Don't know who they are, but fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShayHT

The Levellers, as the ones that were big in the early 90's, crusty, hippies....???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭damomeasa

yeah thems the ones.

i saw PV for the first time last week and while i think their music is pretty good the buzz off them is SHOCKING.

How do ya mean?

Ro: maaan! wrote:
    I only paid 25 euro to see NOFX. A band who have at least 3 albums I like. Also a band I never saw before, and am likely to see only 1 or 2 more times. I've seen PV about 4 or 5 times now, and only really enjoyed 2 of them. Every time I've seen them they've played with 2 - 4 other bands and I've never paid more than 12 euro. This is 22 euro for one other band. And I don't have a job!!!.
    well said, nofx didnt even use MCD.

it just didn't sit right with me. the two guitarists and bassist looked like they were having a decent laugh and a bit of a buzz in a reliving their youth kinda way and i don't have any problem with that... but them smiling away at each other didn't fit at all with the whole "look at me, i'm still a serious punk" frontman attitude. the worst part was the female vocalist. it was almost like the whole band ignored her for the whole gig, she tried (well, fair ****s to her) to be up front performing alongside deko but he wasn't having any of it. you could hardly even hear her vocals...

i was trying to get into the music (which was good) but just couldn't help thinking what the ****ing point was.

wish freebooters had've played that gig.. there's a real band who knows how to play, write songs, perform and have a laugh together.

Someone said she didnt know the words. You're probably right though. Apart from Deko there seems to be a bit of a feckless attitude goin on.....

**** YA. I hadn't even thought about that until now. I now hate the band and have sold my CDs to City Discs.

haha. maybe i am just agest.

nice to meet you at the gig anyway.

hehe, same here :) I was sure I'd made a bad impression on pretty much everyone I met that night :P

Deko is one of the best front men around. Ya don't feel that energy off anyone else in the Irish circuit anyway. I think the rest of the band are grand but that girl was a stand in and didn't really fit on this particular night. They're worth it for the music and Deko going mad alone if you ask me.

She's been with them since I saw them first at the outside-in launch.

You sure?

Pretty sure it isnt and wasnt the only one saying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

7:30 is a bit early,as I have some stuff on earlier in the day (www.room101.org meeting), but I'll call in if I can. Haven't been in the TBMC yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 peter jones

damomeasa wrote:
    it just didn't sit right with me. the two guitarists and bassist looked like they were having a decent laugh and a bit of a buzz in a reliving their youth kinda way and i don't have any problem with that... but them smiling away at each other didn't fit at all with the whole "look at me, i'm still a serious punk" frontman attitude. the worst part was the female vocalist. it was almost like the whole band ignored her for the whole gig, she tried (well, fair ****s to her) to be up front performing alongside deko but he wasn't having any of it. you could hardly even hear her vocals...

i was trying to get into the music (which was good) but just couldn't help thinking what the ****ing point was.

wish freebooters had've played that gig.. there's a real band who knows how to play, write songs, perform and have a laugh together.

for ****s sake, get a bleedin grip of yerself!

firstly who set the rules that a band isn't allowed to enjoy themselves on stage...playing live is what its all about and there is way too many miserable poser **** playing gigs trying to look hard and moody...

secondly .... reliving their youth...well for me and joe, yes, and whats the problem with that...at least we have a youth to re-live. kev is only 27!

sarah being ignored? what are we meant to do wrap her up in cotton wool and see if she is ok during the gig...why? is it cos you feel "she's just a girl" and isn't strong enough to stand on her own two feet...she knows whatever words she sings and does a very good job of it, especially since she is beside a bloke who loses the run of himself while performing and has been doing it for 20 odd years...getting any limelight away from deko is an achievement.

hardly hear he vocals...talk to the sound man

finally...whats the bleedin point????

i say again...who makes the rules? its all about being an individual....what do you think we should all be deko clones or that we should have a corporate meeting to discuss what way we should behave? paranoid visions were..and are..a successful punk rock band..the point is we love doing it..its not about money, its not about sales, its not about respect, its not about anything except going out there and expressing youself in the best way you can, entertaining yourself and hopefully entertaining others and if anyone gets anything else out of it the good for them.

freebooters....yes they are a good band...so are droppin bombs

finally again

i am sick to **** of **** trying to imply things about us and any other band who gets up off their arses and plays music. other people on this page have been harping on about it being 22.50 to see us in tbmc????? bollocks, its 22.50 to see the levellers...paranoid visions are getting absolutely no money whatsoever out of the gig and hope to sell some merchandise to cover the costs of renting a backline

Ag marbh wrote:
    You sure?

yeah sarah was brought in when we reformed as i reckon we always neede that extra backing vocal girl thing

she was meant to do just the one gig, but we like her and she will feature a lot on the newer stuff, you may be getting confused because she was a lot more of a shrinking violet at the earlier gigs because it was the first time she had been on stage

yeah sarah was brought in when we reformed as i reckon we always neede that extra backing vocal girl thing

she was meant to do just the one gig, but we like her and she will feature a lot on the newer stuff, you may be getting confused because she was a lot more of a shrinking violet at the earlier gigs because it was the first time she had been on stage

Ah right! Tell her to watch out for Deko's elbows next time because he nearly knocked her out once or twice!!

Hats off PJ, tell it like it is! PV never got the credit they deserved - hopefully this time round they will - n'joy!

Ag marbh wrote:
    Ah right! Tell her to watch out for Deko's elbows next time because he nearly knocked her out once or twice!!

yeah i saw that...he got me in the face too!

mind you, at the xmas gig, i bumped into sarah and she pushed me back and i tore my media ligament...was too drunk to care at bthe time, but it was strapped up for 3 months!

this punk rock lark is more dangerous on stage than in the audience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Jesus, this brings me back to the good old days of being hassled for 'any odds' outside Freebird on Grafton St.

Hats off PJ, tell it like it is! PV never got the credit they deserved - hopefully this time round they will - n'joy!

well frank, you know how it is now that your managing dgab

round every corner there is someone trying to have a go at you about things they don't understand!

mind you...the facts are that you don't know you're getting anywhere until you get negativity from people you don't know

in the 80's when we were having a pop at U2 and stuff, i was nearly in tears of joy when someone sprayed PVOD2US on a wall beside some FOAD2U2 graffitti

****in class

I think the point was that noone actually wants to see the levellers. I don't know any of their music, so they might not be that bad, but I can't afford to get to Dublin and pay that much into a gig.

Boo hooo, woe is me and all that, but what's wrong with moaning about the price? Noone said it was PV's fault to be fair.

As for the DGAB comment - world domination and wanting to be the next Greenday can go and fuck itself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Anarchist

damomeasa wrote:

I find most female vocalists u can never hear, even Clodagh in your band Damo is barely audible, ya woman from Fleas n Lice now she was ****ing AUDIBLE!

Ag marbh wrote:
    You sure?

I've seen her perform with them b4, and u couldn't hear her that time either, but sure it's nice to see some female anyway....who can remember that time Dekos band (mayhave being striknein) had a topless female dancer in the Temple pub in Dorset st lol (well she had tape on her nipples)

dregin wrote:
    As for the DGAB comment - world domination and wanting to be the next Greenday can go and fùck itself...
    Well said my friend

Aye,
    I missed out on the PV gig last week and would really like to see em this week,
    But as dregin said €22.50 really is too much for a band ive never heard of, also considering the gig last week was only €10

Anarchist wrote:
    I've seen her perform with them b4, and u couldn't hear her that time either, but sure it's nice to see some female anyway....who can remember that time Dekos band (mayhave being striknein) had a topless female dancer in the Temple pub in Dorset st lol (well she had tape on her nipples)

He cleared that up above and I don't have any problem with female vocalists or with last weeks gig plus I could hear her voice but obviously not the lyrics and I don't think anyone can work many lyrics out a gig unless they already know the song.

pj: take it easy, i wasn't having a go, just giving my personal opinion. fair play for having the laugh, i would have enjoyed it more if the whole band seemed to be on the same buzz. don't worry if pricks like me aren't into it cos clearly plenty of people are.

p.s. obviously a lot of people here didn't know that the levellers are a big touring band, that's why the price is so high.

What are the Levellers like anyway?

damomeasa wrote:
    p.s. obviously a lot of people here didn't know that the levellers are a big touring band, that's why the price is so high.
    Agreed. Pretty sure everyone thought it was PV gig and the Levellers were support. (Frank didn't make it very clear :) ) Incidently I'd like to see PV headlining another gig. Best time I saw them was the album launch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭bohspunks

have to say that i have had one dealing with paranoid visions since their reformation and they looked for not one cent for playing in the voodoo at the harry Callaghan weekend, agreed to play any slot on the bill that they were asked and deserve much credit for doing so - couldnt give a **** about the levellers meself but just wanted to point that out.

ps clodagh rocks with the measa!

Who said she didn't?
    I just wish her mic was higher cos the studio album by them has some class songs on and yes she has quite a good voice which works well in tandem with the male vocals etc

bohspunks wrote:
    have to say that i have had one dealing with paranoid visions since their reformation and they looked for not one cent for playing in the voodoo at the harry Callaghan weekend, agreed to play any slot on the bill that they were asked and deserve much credit for doing so - couldnt give a **** about the levellers meself but just wanted to point that out.

ps clodagh rocks with the measa!

well thanks for that conor!

here...can we do an all ages gig in boh's????

i keep getting asked when we will do one, and i eckon it would be a deadly.....get dgab and droppin bombs on with us...we may ask for a cent or two for that one!

you are righta bout those crusty boys...never liked the levellers meself either, hopefully we may give them a punk rock lesson that they have long since forgotten about until they look for their credibility badge and start waffling bout crass again.....then refuse to let support bands even sniff in the direction of their backline!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

Ah I've been saying I'd love to see ye in Boh's for ages, even on Myspace! That'd be ****ing animal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

Aye, I'd come make my way up from Kerry for it.

Gwan the bohs! :D