Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Series Travel & Accomodation

• 23-04-2006 7:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭

I know most allready have this sorted out by now and Im probably too late to join so is anyone travelling and hasnt sorted out there accomodation yet, if so does anyone fancy booking together?

Also where are most people staying any tips as to where to stay etc?

Im going to fly out the 19th July and come back on the 7th August, so if anyone can help me out would appreciate it.

Thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Im going to fly out the 19th July and come back on the 7th August, so if

Confident then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

well done last night great stuff,

theres a few us from galway flying out on the 26th and back on the 5th (not as confident:) ) I know nicky o d is on the same flight. As too where to stay were staying in the MGM as we have a few comp rooms (due to accumalated losses on previous trips:( )

last year we stayed in the orleans the rooms are nice and big and it is very reasonable and also has a good poker room, I also noticed a few people are open to organising a house if you pm nicky and flipper they seemed interested in that

best of luck in the main event and see you out there.

pat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I'm not coming back until the 11th. (confident :) even though I haven't qualified yet!) I haven't organised a place to stay yet. I was hoping enough of a second group from the forum might be interested in organising somewhere together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

flying out on the 26th Eoin and staying till the 7th, I've book with Aerlingus and staying in MGM also. I know Robbie from here is still looking for accommodation, so maybe you two could share a room in the MGM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

NickyOD wrote:
    I'm not coming back until the 11th. (confident :) even though I haven't qualified yet!) I haven't organised a place to stay yet. I was hoping enough of a second group from the forum might be interested in organising somewhere together.

Im up for a group organising something together allthough I would like to get it sorted this week if at all possible.

If theres a few staying in the mgm I might book there anyone need to share a room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

nicky, i still have nothing sorted either but am interested. totally flexible on dates. Anyone else interested?

Shortstack wrote:
    Confident then?

Allways :D

Where are you lads staying Mike?

Flipper wrote:
    nicky, i still have nothing sorted either but am interested. totally flexible on dates. Anyone else interested?

Thats 3 anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭kickintheteeth

just qualified for the WSOP freeroll on Sat night on PP, so come this sat, with alot of luck, i'll be looking forward to all this aswell. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭loosecannon

i'll be looking to book some something for both accomodation and flights fairly shortly, i have a few mates coming with so won't be looking to share but i would like to know what

A) everyone thinks are the best options for flights - i saw the post on the aer lingus flights to LA, but i've been getting some quotes of around €800 all in return from dublin via london for the dates i want, which i thought was ok

B) does anyone know what the best resource for getting good rates for the hotels on the strip in vegas? i stayed in the rio + the stratosphere last year which were both very nice but both off the strip which i didn't enjoy, i'd ideally be looking for a large room for about $100 a night, ideally somewhere pretty central on the strip although those two places up by the rio (gold coast and palms might be tempting too!)

looking forward to it a lot!

i'll be looking to book some something for both accomodation and flights fairly shortly, i have a few mates coming with so won't be looking to share but i would like to know what

A) everyone thinks are the best options for flights - i saw the post on the aer lingus flights to LA, but i've been getting some quotes of around €800 all in return from dublin via london for the dates i want, which i thought was ok

B) does anyone know what the best resource for getting good rates for the hotels on the strip in vegas? i stayed in the rio + the stratosphere last year which were both very nice but both off the strip which i didn't enjoy, i'd ideally be looking for a large room for about $100 a night, ideally somewhere pretty central on the strip although those two places up by the rio (gold coast and palms might be tempting too!)

looking forward to it a lot!

Firstly, $800 is a good price, better to fly from Dublin direct, but if you dont mind going through London fair play.

2. $100 a night, you must be joking. Its the WSOP Vegas is book out baby. Try the following links, you might get lucky for a hotel if thats what you want.

http://www.lasvegashotels-online.com/

www.vegas.com

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I booked the Tropicana last night from the 28th July to 11th August on their site. Worked out about €850. Reasonable, on the strip and recommended by a friend so I went with it. I'll be there a week before that but probably be seeing the sights so I'm not tying myself to anywhere until the 28th. If anyone fancies seeing the usual crap like Grand Canyon etc. myself and a mate will probably be driving to a few spots and will welcome anyone else who wants to come along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Doctor Fell

I was there 2 years ago, booked everything through Thomas Cook travel agency. I stayed off-strip in the Lady Luck, just around corner from Binions so it was perfect. They can check all hotels, flights etc for you and it worked out very cheap. I got a suite with jacuzzi, large fridge, 2 couches etc for less than $30 per night ($510 for 21 nights). Delta flight from Dublin - Atlanta - LV for €650. I'd definitely recommend them.

Sorry, forgot to mention - the room didn't include the girls, they're extra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Hi put me down I'll be heading over and I'm interesting in sharing accommodation, there might be one or 2 more with me, not entirely sure yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭fixer

has anyone got the scoop on European players who win cash and the tax withholding that happens at the casino? reading a roy brindley interview, he hints that some were able to get around it (by bribing the guys)...

you just need to get a tax number before leaving, or you can get it when your over there. The locals wouldn't help any of the players last year fill out the forms, so some of the players had to pay them to help them with the administration etc. Its not a big deal, but the house can withhold 30% of your winnings on anything over 30k I think, but you can reclaim it when you get back to Ireland.

Think I'll wait till I win before I worry about it.lol

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

From talking to Kevin Fitzpatrick about this last year, there is either a form or some sort of tax exemption reference number you can get from the tax office before you go that should allow you to keep all your earnings. Apparantly last year Harrah's were real tw ats about this and tried to tax all non Americans like they did the Americans.

There is an official way around it though, but my advice to anyone who has not thought about this is to talk to someone who has experience in cashing in events in the states and talk to the tax office.

any cash transactions over $10k need to be declared. I think this is the same threshold that Harrah's used (I seem to remember Mick O'Sullivan getting caught for 30% of his $16k win - so it's also not just profit that has witholding)

Remember, it's not Harrah's taxing the money, it's Harrah's witholding money for US tax, like employers do. I am sure there is also a form to fill out come tax time (Aoril 15 in USA) for a refund if you owe no tax.

I just wanted to remind guys to be aware of it, and avoid the witholding if there was a way to do so with some preparation.

Might also want to think of using Neteller to hold your funds, so you're not travelling internationally with more than $10k in cash/cash equivalent (travellers checks, bearer bonds, diamonds, gold bullion). Is there a daily withdrawal limit on a Neteller Debit Card? I wonder if the WSOP/Harrah's/any casino will let you buy cash chips with Neteller?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Well for the sake of that, certain credit cards (Bank of Ireland Visa for one) do not charge cash advance fee at an ATM when you have a positive balance. Thats what I use when travelling everywhere, even though a lot of the US ATM's charge their own fee or 1 or 2 dollars.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I found the ideal hotel for a bunch of Irish lads. The Nevada Hotel sounds like it would provide a real Vegas experience for much less cash than a big Casino on the strip.

Some reviews:-

"Tip: Sleep in the Greyhound bus station across the street, its cleaner."

"After three seconds in my room at the Nevada I was looking for used needles, dead bodies and cigarette butts in every corner of the room. I expected to find all three. To housekeeping's credit, I found none."

"as we were getting off the elevator, my wife pointed out a room with crime scene tape across it"

How can we turn down this opportunity?

LMAO - sounds like a classic!!!

"
    the door to the patio?? wouldnt lock. Burn holes in the shower curtain, filthy carpets, dimly lit hallways. Room looked like a porno scene out of the 1970's. We checked out early, didnt stay the extra night. Was told by the person at the desk they couldnt refund my money for the night i didnt stay becouse the "machine was down". "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Hey, if you want to live vicariously for a while through lucky people spending time in Vegas, check out www.lasvegastripreport.com ... I was pretty addicted to this site when I lived over in the States, I even posted a report or two up on it back in the day! When I was a blackjack junkie...fado fado :)

That is a good link Paul but there is an almost carbon copy of it where poker players post trip reports so you can avoid reading the stories of those slot jockeys - http://www.allvegaspoker.com/ - also has reviews of most poker rooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Great stuff, thanks Muso...but if I start reading these, I know I'm gonna have to head over this summer! :) What a dilemma.

I've booked a room in the Orleans www.orleanscasino.com from the 20th July - 6th August.

Theres a spare bed going if anyone still needs accomodation and wants to split the bill you can pm me.

works out quite cheap and seems an ok place.

i like your choice, looks good quality and for a decent price, it's ranked No.2 out of all the hotels in Vegas with the independently chosen visitor's guides

http://las-vegas-hotels.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g45963-d91907-Reviews-The_Orleans_Hotel_Casino-Las_Vegas_Nevada.html

may well be staying there for the week before the start of the main event, i plan to move down to the strip for the actual week of that, so i might run into you there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

I stayed there last year for the wsop. Its the best value for a hotel in that price range , the rooms are big and the poker room is very good it is also near the rio. No safes in the room but they have safety deposit boxes at the cashiers desk so that is fine.

p

I was just browsing the WSOP website and i came across what looks like it could be a reasonable deal.

http://www.worldseriesofpoker.com/reservations.asp

it basically offers the Flamingo, Harrah's, Paris, Rio, Bally's and Caeser's all at discounted rates

just one question for anyone who's stayed in any of these

i'd basically narrowed my choices down to the monte carlo or the aladdin which were working out around $115 a night per room

but with these new rates i could get any of The Flamingo, Harrah's, Paris, Bally's or the Rio for roughly the same rate as the Monte Carlo and The Aladdin

i stayed at the Rio last year and thought it was very good but would maybe like a change of scene this year, anyone got any idea which would give the best stay as they're all so close in price, Big rooms would be a major plus as i'll be having a fair few mates bum in with me

Many thanks for any advice in advance

ps let's hope a few more boardies get there this weekend!!