Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking and antidepressants?

• 23-04-2006 12:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭

My best friend is taking antidepressants after advice from a counsellor she went to who believes she's clinically depressed. The counsellor referred her to a doctor who gave her a prescription for 20mg of a drug that I think is called Ciprager, I couldn't read the prescription properly.

My friend is 18, and still drinks a lot since she started taking it. She probably started taking it maybe 2 or 3 weeks ago, and has been drinking at least 4 times. As far as I knew you weren't supposed to drink on antidepressants, and even after just a naggin of vodka (which isn't a lot to her) she seems really out of it, has no short term memory and keeps repeating the same questions over and over again every two minutes. She seems really confused while under the influence and is prone to just wandering off, particularly with strangers trying to take her home (I had to leg it into the city centre to save her from a very weird one last night).

I tell her that she shouldn't be drinking, and when I said it to her on her own last night she told me that with this antidepressant it's OK to drink, or so she read on the net. So I googled this Ciprager thing and all I get is two pages of results, mostly just an address of an Irish manufacturer. Maybe I'm spelling it wrong but that just makes me uneasy. Two pages of results about a drug on the net. It also makes me think she was making it up about being able to drink while you're on this drug.

I'm worried that she might be a guinea pig for a drug with unknown long term effects and I'm really worried about her drinking in general. Has anyone ever heard of this drug before? Am I spelling it correctly and is it a more common drug than the internet tells me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭wheresthebeef

the drug you are referring to is most likely, Cipramil (Escitalopram). Its a Selective Serotonin Re-uptake Inhibitor. According to the British National Formulary, I can't see any cautions regarding alcohol or contraindications.

However i did find this on a site called PsyMed
    Alcohol and SSRI's

Drinking alcohol when taking an SSRI is not a good idea for several reasons. Alcohol is a central nervous system depressant, and since the SSRI's can cause sedation, the combination can be dangerous if driving or operating heavy equipment. Many people report that when taking an SSRI, even if they do not feel sedated, alcohol effects them more strongly than usual, and one drink may feel like two to four. In addition, alcohol can depress mood. I would argue that it makes little sense to be taking both a depressant and an antidepressant, particularly if you are having problems being depressed.

Given all this, alcohol is not absolutely contraindicated when taking an SSRI, and some people are able to continue social use of alcohol cautiously and responsibly without ill effect. Moderation, meaning no more than one or two drinks once or twice a week, is certainly recommended.

This would probably be better discussed if moved to the Biology/Medicine forum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭skye

Don't matter what it's called - never drink and take anti-depressants. Lethal combination - your friend shouldn't believe all that she reads on the net.....The alcohol is cancelling out any good the drugs are doing her - she seriously needs to stop. Try talking to her again - Is she not concerned about the effects of this - being really out of it etc...Maybe suggest she goes back to her doctor and tell them she's drinking on these drugs - know exactly what he/she will say....Don't do it.

Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭jellycopter

I've been on Cipramil several times, for periods of about 6 months each time. I used to drink whilst taking it and 99.9% of the time it didn't seem to effect me in any bad way. If anything I felt it helped me avoid hangovers...!

However, as ya know - this isn't a medial board and I'm only speaking from my experience. Perhaps it effects different people in a different ways (much like alcohol does). But to be honest, it doesn't matter what the net says, what her doctor says, what instructions that come with the pills say... if she is acting in a fashion that puts her or others at risk then she HAS TO STOP DRINKING. You won't be around all the time to stop her going off with nutters. Doesn't matter what medical science says about the potential effects, it's clearly having an effect on her and a very bad one at that.

I've got a few Cipramil stories actually, so if you want to PM me for some more info, then by all means do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

I went into the chemist and asked if they had any info on it, she told me it was just a brand name for citalopram.

Yeah that's the one, supposedly Cipramil is the same thing so I can do some research now.

Yeah she is acting differently, I don't think she was really that drunk but that it all went to her head or something like that. I told her I was worried and she just avoids the topic so I suppose I'll just have to leave it, what else can I do. You're right, I can't be around all the time when she's out and can't protect her all the time but judging by last night she is a bit of danger to herself. And nobody else can really see that because I'm the only one who knows she's on the antidepressants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I took Cipramil for a few months and was advised by my doctor to never have more than one or two drinks at a time while on it and if possible to stay off alcohol completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Drag her to nearest doctor / pharmacist to have them explain what alcohol does to other drugs and specificly to her drug.

With many drugs, the alcohol can block the receptors used by the drugs, depriving them of their effect and when the alcohol wears off the drug kicks in again suddenly, resulting in extremities of dosage as opposed to a constant dosage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭Villaricos

I dont know about the drug you mentioned but in general with anti depressants what I was adviced when on them was that while drinking wasnt the best thing to be doing it wasnt going to have dire effects.
    The main reason for not drinking while on anti depressants is that alcohol is a depressant and so will cancel out any good that the anti depressant is doing.
    I did have a few drinks every so often while on antidepressants and it did no harm tbh. but if this drug is causing bad side effects on you friend then they should probably take it easy. Unfortunatly you can do no more than advise them,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭jellycopter

Another thing about anti-depressants is that they can take a while to get used to. In the beginning you can feel nauseous, groggy or even behave differently. I remember first time around, I have zero concentration for a week or two and I said a few things to people I knew that I would never have said ordinarily...! Perhaps she will settle down after a while, but should defo lay off the drinking, or at least drink in a safer environment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Everyone is different when it comes to stuff like this. I was on anti depressants for a year and a half. I didnt drink at all for the first while as I was scared to. But when I did, I was grand. Sometimes overly happy the odd time but that was it.

It sounds like its not working out too well for her though. Is she seeing a counsellor aswell? Try and be patient with her too though. Imagine someone telling you you couldnt have a few drinks for the foreseeable future because of the meds your on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Tri wrote:
    Everyone is different when it comes to stuff like this.

Which is why we do not give madical advice on this forum or contradict the best pratice for taking perscribed medication.

Alcohol is a depressant to begin with and should not be taken if she is on antidepressants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

Drinking while on anti-depressants is bad news. It effect's alcohol tolerance in a huge way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 In Greedy Ants

Thaedydal wrote:
    Alcohol is a depressant to begin with and should not be taken if she is on antidepressants.

When people say alcohol is a depressant, it means CNS depressant - a GABA receptor agonist - not it's got anything to do with depression. That said, SSRIs can make you feel a little light on your feet, and cutting back on alcohol is probably a good idea.

I'm aware that this is not a medical board, my problem is getting her to listen to me. She told me (while drunk) that it was OK to drink because she read on the net that "there have been no conclusive long-term studies with Cipramil with regards to the effects of alcohol" or something along those lines in general. She wouldn't listen when I told her that this it doesn't mean there are no problems, it means they don't know for certain. Selective listening or whatever... I don't know....

The antidepressants take a few weeks to kick in, so maybe it's difficult for her to wait it out in a sober state of mind all the time, she can kind of bottle it all up.

Thanks for all the help

grasshopa wrote:
    I'm aware that this is not a medical board, my problem is getting her to listen to me. She told me (while drunk) that it was OK to drink because she read on the net that "there have been no conclusive long-term studies with Cipramil with regards to the effects of alcohol" or something along those lines in general. She wouldn't listen when I told her that this it doesn't mean there are no problems, it means they don't know for certain. Selective listening or whatever... I don't know....

The antidepressants take a few weeks to kick in, so maybe it's difficult for her to wait it out in a sober state of mind all the time, she can kind of bottle it all up.

Thanks for all the help

She deffinetly didn't read that anywhere. Although drinking with Cipramil is alot less dangerous than say Seroxat it still lowers your tolerance and can make you aggressive/forgetful and lose friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭wheresthebeef

The best person to ask about this, is your pharmacist who can give your friend proper medical advice and caution her. I would've thought that if there had been a problem with this drug, and alcohol that the prescribing GP would have warned your friend, knowing that she consumes alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Going Demented

I take 30mg Zispin and on the rare occasion i drank i become a total and utter lunatic. I have no memory of anything and i end up crying like a jackass and sometimes very bloody contrary. Hense i dont drink anymore, mostly out of fear of being out of control. I dunno how you will get her to stop. No one got me to stop, after two times i realised myself.

Took me months and lost friendships to stop mine :eek:

We were out again last night, watched her throw down 5 shots in the space of about 15 minutes! Didn't seem to affect her much. I suppose the brain is just such a complex thing that there are individual reactions to everything.

I'll see what I can do. Thanks for the replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Please don't post like this. Please contact me or another moderator.
    amob wrote:
    Drinking while taking Ciprager is not a good idea. 1 or 2 beers is ok for me but the danger of having 1 or two is knowing to stop at that, especially if you are out partying. Red wine reacts badly with Ciprager for me. I take the medication for Panic Attacks. 2 or 3 glasses of red wine while on the medication gave me a full brown attack in the middle of the night about a month ago.

[spam removed - Victor]

So choose between the drugs and the drink. It's all about wanting to get better and the future. If you don't make the effort the problem will continue. Life with minimal alcohol is good. No hangovers for starters.

Regards,
    A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

grasshopa wrote:
    As far as I knew you weren't supposed to drink on antidepressants, and even after just a naggin of vodka (which isn't a lot to her) she seems really out of it, has no short term memory and keeps repeating the same questions over and over again every two minutes. She seems really confused while under the influence and is prone to just wandering off, particularly with strangers trying to take her home (I had to leg it into the city centre to save her from a very weird one last night).

I tell her that she shouldn't be drinking, and when I said it to her on her own last night she told me that with this antidepressant it's OK to drink, or so she read on the net.

Yikes!:eek: Try to get her to mention her drinking with antidepressants to her GP. Not rely on some web-based source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Its a lot easier said that done to expect this friend to just give up alcohol. The poor thing has just been diagonosed with depression for god sake, a condition she didnt choose to have by the way. She is probably drinking a lot so she doesnt have to face up to the road of recovery ahead of her. Which is understandable. I understand your concerns but if you were really concerned - how about reassuring her what a great person she is etc. Or organise activities outside of drinking for the two of you to enjoy.

This is an incredibly difficult time for your friend. Try not to be a nag (not saying you ever were) because it may have an adverse effect.

For the record (not doling out medical advice, condoning or otherwise, just speaking from [personal experience) when I did my stint on anti depressants, I drank as much as I would drink now off them and it never did me any harm. Its different for everyone and their capabilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

My mom used to drink and take anti- depressants and trust me it's not a good combination :eek: don't go there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 darth insidiari

grasshopa wrote:
    We were out again last night, watched her throw down 5 shots in the space of about 15 minutes!

It sounds like your friend has a drinking problem. A naggin(sp?) of vodka should be a lot for anyone. There's a big difference between one or two drinks and the volume she is drinking. I would say this is risky behaviour in itself, regardless of the medication she is taking. Is this behaviour linked with her depression?

I hope you have pointed out that, no matter what it says on the net, she has put herself in dangerous situations repeatedly, and that you wont always be there to bail her out.

Drinking on any medication is risky. Drinking the amount your friend drinks is risky in and of itself, without even mixing this with drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

grasshopa wrote:
    I'm worried that she might be a guinea pig for a drug with unknown long term effects and I'm really worried about her drinking in general. Has anyone ever heard of this drug before? Am I spelling it correctly and is it a more common drug than the internet tells me?

I have been on ciprager. it is a commonly prescribed SSRI antidpressant

The answer to the question on drink is dont mix with prescribed drugs even if it says one or two is ok.. your judgement might go

get her to see her GP is she doesnt believe you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 skuld_in_tape

I tried posting this before but it didn't show up....if it's showing up twice on anyone else's page, my apologies.

Your friend is not being used as a guinea pig. Ciprager has been widely available and much studied for a very long time. It is recommended not to drink with ciprager because it can make you drowsy, and hence with drink, moreso drowsy. There are no dangerous physiological effects, e.g. liver damage etc, as such, apart from those associated with excessive alcohol consumpotion, if this is what your at. For some, it is also recommended not to drink with anti-depressents because they can aggrevate whatever is going on in your head at that time. Hence, while I don't get drowsy and/or aggresive etc when I drink with my ciprager, other people may experience different effects, as everyone's body and mind is different. So basically, it's a judgement call. Motives for drinking etc, should also be considered.