Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the closest martial art to krav maga?

• 21-04-2006 5:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭

Was wondering what martial art is the closest to krav maga?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Michael O Leary

Hi Freedomfighter,

I don't know about the closest but I feel that Wing Tsun is pretty close to Krav Maga in principles and techniques. I had a look at a KM book a few months ago written by someone called David Kahn. Millionaire (Gerry) trained with him in Israel and said he is a good guy. Anyway David Kahn at the start of the book listed KM principles for fighting which were similar if not identical to WT. Also a lot of the movements/techniques were very similar also. However I have a very limited knowledge of KM so anyone is free to correct me.

Regards,

Michael O'Leary
    www.wingtsun-escrima.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Im2Lazy

Hi Freedomfighter,

Micheal is right alot of the techniques are similar to Wing Tsun.

Alot of the techniques you'll see in Krav Maga will be very fimiliar as it does appear the Krav Maga has "Borrowed" alot of techniques from different systems. I think they are just taking a Jeet Kune Do approach & takes what works & disgards the rest.

This is demonstraed by the Krav Maga logo which consists of the Hebrew letters K and M surrounded by an open circle because the system is open to improvement by adding techniques, exercises, and training methods.

The main differences in technique from most systems would be with it's weapons defences & the break holds as they are based on your body's natrual instincts.

The main difference overall Krav Maga has to any other style I've trained is the training method as alot of it is scenario based & would concentrate on the pre-combat stages of self defences ie. Awareness, Boundaries & verbals.

So it depends what you're looking to learn, when you ask which style is the closest to Krav Maga.

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Any common martial art should have the staple techniques of KM (palm-strikes, elbows, knees, etc) - what I found different about KM was the way these basic techniques were taught. When I was taught KM by Patrick Cumiskey anyway, I felt it was all about the mindset rather than the technique - everyone already knows how to elbow someone in the face or knee them in the ribs.

I'd say the closest martial art to KM would be dirty knacker street-fighting ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

KM (and there are actually a few different "styles" of KM, and variations) does borrow very heavily from many styles.

I have always thought of KM as sort of a street orientated
    Kickboxing systems withn Muay Thai, and combatives mixed in.

Isreali KM Association where I trained, do a serious amount
    of ground fighitng, locks, arm bars etc etc. 40% of their training
    is ground stuff.

Thats where I trained with David Kahn, who is a skilled teacher,
    and a nice guy too.

Its very similar to Jeet Kune Do.

What I have experienced as KM in Ireland, to me
    is a very watered down version of KM, as compared
    to the proper way it is trained in Israel.

In fact, the Isreali were horrifed that KM was being
    though as learn to defend yourself in 24 hours over
    a weekend.

They recgonise that it takes years of hard work and dedicated
    training to get good.

In fact the Instructors I trained under usually trained 4 - 5 nights
    a week, anywhere from 3 - 6 hours a time!!! Now Thats Dedication!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭TapouT

In fact, the Isreali were horrifed that KM was being
    though as learn to defend yourself in 24 hours over
    a weekend.

Yes, I thought that was abit of a joke, and the prices they charge!.

I've seen KM demo's a few times when I was in Israel. I got a great demo from the IDF in Wingate university (Natanya).

Btw, the Irish Defence Forces are bringing in a new (I won't call it unarmed combat) fighting system based on KM. Its going to be a European standard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Out of interest, why not Krav maga itself?

Most systems that preach self defence as one of their benefits will have some variation of what KM has in it's arsenal. There's only a few ways to kick and punch, elbow and knee. It's training methods that divide them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Freedomfighter

Elytron wrote:
    Systema.

Anybody know much about this martial art. Is it being practiced in dublin. if it is where.

Don't know about Systema. But there's a whole bunch of lads who train in combatives which afaik is in the same vein as what systema stands for. maybe they can help you out.

I take it you're looking for a primarily self defence oriented system?

Roper wrote:
    Don't know about Systema. But there's a whole bunch of lads who train in combatives which afaik is in the same vein as what systema stands for. maybe they can help you out.

I take it you're looking for a primarily self defence oriented system?

Where can i find these lads in dublin. north dublin.

I take it you're looking for a primarily self defence oriented system?[/QUOTE
    Not really im looking for more of an attacking style. Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Michael O Leary

I had a few Russian guys training with me for a while and they loaned me a video tape of Systema. Actually a lot of it was very similar to Wing Tsun, primarily in the way the body is used. A lot of it was very good but also some, what I would feel to be dodgy stuff also. There is a poster for it is my sports centre. I will try and get contact details for anyone who is interested.

Freedomfighter, when Roper was talking about self-defence he was just using a term to describe martial arts for the street which would describe attacking systems also as opposed to martial arts for fitness, sport, etc. He is a cool guy who challanges my ability to form a coherent argument. :)

Regards,

Michael O'Leary
    www.wingtsun-escrima.ie

Where can i find these lads in dublin. north dublin.

I take it you're looking for a primarily self defence oriented system?[/QUOTE
    Not really im looking for more of an attacking style. Any ideas?
    Hmm, not 100% sure what you mean by attacking style, but I'll take it you mean more aggressive (ie. pre-emptive striking etc.) as opposed to say Aikido. Maybe my question should have been more specific. What do you want to gain out of training?

Best striking style I've ever trained in is Muay Thai, beating even the hallowed boxing IMO! There's one of the best Thai Gyms in the country in Blessington Lane, North City www.bridgestonemuaythai.com you will not get a better "attacking style" than Muay Thai. There's also my gym where we do Kickboxing and BJJ as a part of our curriculum www.ko-martialarts.com and you're welcome down any time.

What I've seen of Systema, I've got a couple of DVD's & the handbook.

I wouldn't recommend it ! No one does it here anyway...thank god !

The knife defense would get you killed its all flow redirecting simlilar to Aikido....it has to be seen to be believed & even then you'll be waiting for Jeremy Beadle to pop up on the screen to tell you this was just a joke :D

Some of the stuff in the handbook it nuts, eg. the Author/Instructor Vladimir Vasilev tells how every morning he pour a bucket of cold water over himself to help his immune system :confused: ....but he goes on to say that he also does it to his child & he started when they were ust a few months old:eek:

If he wants to do it to himself fine but doing it to a child that young is abuse !!!

If you're looking for an attacking style, I'd recommend Thai Boxing like Roper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Yeah Thai Boxing is the best striking style.

Mix Thai with some Combatives training and ideas, and you got an even better street style.

Most of KM punches kicks elbows are borrowed from Thai, with boxing, kickboxing, other strikes, and also stuff borrowed from Judo, wrestling, and BJJ for the grappling and ground training.

Yeah Thai Boxing is the best striking style.

Mix Thai with some Combatives training and ideas, and you got an even better street style.

Most of KM punches kicks elbows are borrowed from Thai, with boxing, kickboxing, other strikes, and also stuff borrowed from Judo, wrestling, and BJJ for the grappling and ground training.

Is it wise to mix martial arts like this. Would someone become mixed up with the different styles. I have always had a fasination with Thai boxing but i had a very bad car accident three years ago and cannot spar. Would this hinder me in any way?

Depending on the actual injury, it might if you wanted to train to fight but I don't think it would if you're just looking to get to know the techniques.

In my experience (only in the beginners class) with the way Bridgestone train the bulk of the training would be pad work, light clinch work & leg sparring.

All there training is done under the safest possible conditions & I'm sure if you mentioned the injury to the instructor there shouldn't be a problem.

If you want you could go along to a class & observe if you wanted & see if you'd be up to it......I've been at a few classes where people have done this it'd be no problem.

hope this helps.

What is the average age in the beginner classes. I just dont want to be training with kids.
    Can you give me a basic run down of the class training.

The average age would probably be around 24-27 or so I'd say but there would be quite a large range from 18-40+

Don't worry you wouldn't be out of place, it's a very friendly club.
    You don't need to flexible or in good physical shape (obviously they help) but they'll come with the more training you do. All you'll need to bring is shorts & t-shirts.

A typical class would usually consist of 3 rounds of shawowboxing to warmup, then half the class would do pad work for about 5 or so rounds working on technique & conditioning & then they alternate. There would usually be about 10-15 minutes left then which would usually be clinch work or focusing in more detail on a specific technique eg. elbows.

Come along & check it out & even just check it out, you haven't got anything to lose.

If you do look for the guy with the weirdest shorts, it's usually me.

I've sent you a PM