Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How the hell do ya get into the PIT?!!!!

• 18-04-2006 2:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭

Meself n me mate can't feckin wait 2 see Metallica this summer.

We really wanna get into the PIT this time, but we dont really know where to start!!!

Can any of you guys help us out??!!!! PLEASE!!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Get there really really really early.. go in, get wrist band for pit off security guys at entrance to pit and you're away!! Haven't been to the RDS before but thats what happens at most gigs. Or what they do now at the Point is they give you wrist bands at security before you get in the door. First 500 or whatever.

Metallica do a great gig, you'll enjoy it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭SlipknotBitch9

yeh ye have to be there at like 7 or 8am, they give out the wrist bands at about 2 or 3, i'm never doin it again tho, too tired to enjoy the bands later, and too tired to go for a drink later too, i'm sick of gettin up at 5am to these gigs lol. but i hope ye get one good luck anywayz :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

cash bribes to security staff usually work, did at eminem anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭pants on fire

Yeah i kinda thought as much. The only thing is, i'm not really sure which entrance I should queue at. Im thinkin the one beside the river?

Do many people do it?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Make your own out of a fedex parcel... same material, just take a 12 pack of markers so you can colour it in whatever it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

We walked into the gig for U2 at about 4 during the summer at Croke Park, and got straight into the pit.

Also it might not always be a band, could be a stamp of some sort of elephant that we had, so bring a variety of animal stamps with you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

make your own pit, iis always better - to much regulation in the real pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Have someone who knows someone. I went to Metallica with boardsies three years ago. Met a boardsie working at the gig, and got some pit passes. Metallica rock when you're actually standing like 20 feet from James Hetfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

yeh have to say i never bother going for the pit, always had way more fun outside the pit where the security has way more trouble trying to get to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Last time for metallica we just went really early, got our pit passes by about 10 and then fecked off and came back at 4. Don't really want to bother going so early again this year but i'm sure i'll be goaded into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 clickclick

grab the most scantily clad girl you can find and make a bee line for the security MEN (this is usually hit and miss with the women;) ) the cash thing also does wonders too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

When do they hand out the armbands in the RDS is it when doors open at 2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭xIsabelx

Meself n me mate can't feckin wait 2 see Metallica this summer.

We really wanna get into the PIT this time, but we dont really know where to start!!!

Can any of you guys help us out??!!!! PLEASE!!!! :(

QUEUE

or, make fake pitt passes and like to a security guard, like I did at green day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭LittleKitty

do what I have done lots of times, go over, on your own to a bouncer (usualy female) and say "hi, I was wondering If I could go nearer to the front. I came to the gig on my own, becouse Im such a big fan, but Im tiny so I cant see anything here. Its just me, thats all. sure look at me, what harm would I do"
    usualy helps if your a 5ft 2' little girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

When do they hand out the armbands in the RDS is it when doors open at 2?
    It's completely random, as they know how many people will be doing the same thing (ie. turning up at the crack of dawn in the hope of getting a pass). Getting there five hours early isn't going to guarantee you a pit pass, so don't waste your time. And they don't give them all out at once, it's usually staggered over the course of a few hours.

If after turning up early and queuing for hours you still fail to get one, your best bet is to go hunting for somebody who has a spare (there are always people who'll grab as many as possible and then try to sell them on). If you're lucky (and gorgeous, with huge breasts), you might also be able to talk a security guard into giving you one if there are any left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

Do many people do it?!!!
    Hundreds! You just have to stay calm (they won't give them to anyone who shoves) and hope for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭randomname

There are always other smaller pits dotted around so if you dont get pass into main mosh pit you'll find another, dont worry!