Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pat short

• 15-04-2006 9:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭

this guys on turbirdy tonight,am i the only one who thinks he's not very funny ? a lot of people think he's hillarious but i have never found anything he did funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

never found either of the duo funny, but know plenty who do.
    Each to their own I guess.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭kc66

I saw his stand up show from a few years ago and thought it was terrible. He was playing some character going around talking to people in the audience and it was so repetitive. I think some of the other stuff he did was good though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Phew thought it was just me, his character based sketches remind me of that drunk uncle we all have that staggers aroung a family wedding/event. Not funny just cringeable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Some of his stuff is good, but some of it does get a bit repetitive. I cant forgive the D'unbelieveables for the whole "thats rooigght" thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

The odd bit is funny enough but the majority is crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Thank God I'm not the only one!! Occasionally he can be funny...but only the odd time..the rest of the time its cringeworthy imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Thats Right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

Hallelujah, I thought I was the only one. He is not a comedian end of story.

Willem D wrote:
    Hallelujah, I thought I was the only one. He is not a comedian end of story.

Oh yes he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Not funny.

All he is a fool or jester for the public to "laugh at".

His comedy consists of making country folk look thick and also badly portraying the traveling community.

Willem D wrote:

His comedy consists of making country folk look thick and also badly portraying the traveling community.

Correct!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Correct!
    was it him who did the breakfast roll song? that's all I've heard of him, and it was funny... sin é.

DaveMcG wrote:
    was it him who did the breakfast roll song? that's all I've heard of him, and it was funny... sin é.

Thats Right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Morrissey

he is not funny at all.. well, he is funny to auld people and people who like that cod culchie type nonsense. he's no comedian anyway. more like a pub entertainer that's making big bucks doin the same old ****e impresions and dated humour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

I always thought he was quite amusing.

That ended with 'Killinaskully'. Everyone involved in the writing of that show deserves to be brutally murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I always thought he was quite amusing.

That ended with 'Killinaskully'. Everyone involved in the writing of that show deserves to be brutally murdered.

dam right.

he is not funny at all.. well, he is funny to auld people and people who like that cod culchie type nonsense. he's no comedian anyway. more like a pub entertainer that's making big bucks doin the same old ****e impresions and dated humour

My sentiments exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

I really dislike Pat Short. He puts on a country accent and then talks sh*te :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Dublin folk regard Shortt as a thick, unfunny culchie

Country folk regard Brendan O`Carroll as a cheeky Dublin bollix

Both are loved in their respective target markets.

Ive never been mad into either tbh. Mind you, Shortt was very good in Man About Dog, but I just never got the stand up/Dunbelieveables stuff. Never seen O`Carrolls DVDs, i think I saw him doing stand up with jokes robbed from other comedians once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Can't stand the guy or the tripe that passes for prime time comedy on RTE - Kilnaskully.

Course, backing up what Tha Gopher said, I share a house with lads from Cavan and they think its fantastic and that the guy is some sort of comedy genius :rolleyes:

That said I'm not a fan of Brendan O'Carroll either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Im a fan of Pat Shortt, and I'm a born and bred Dub. Hate Brendan O' Carroll though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭talking_walnut

Not a fan I must say. Used to like him but there's absolutely no variety in his act. Got old a looonnnggg time ago.

Can't stand Brendan O'Carroll. Don't know how anybody can find him remotely enteraining. And don't get me started on Brendan Grace!!!

Oh Brendan Grace is even worse, but I wont say anymore in fear of talking walnut getting started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

And what's with that extra head?
    Although I like the Roll song...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

As a general rule of thumb I hate any comedian that smiles/laughs at more than 98% of his own jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

i think he and brendan o'knobend shot be publically hung, for crimes against good taste.
    Im a Dub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

I find him funny at times but like what was said before its more laughing at him than with him.I dont particularly think he portrays country folk or the travelling community in any worse light than any other Irish comics,they all take the piss out of Irish stereotypes..Tommy Tiernan is what i cant understand,i just find him to be absolute ****e.I have gone to see his show twice and both shows consisted of him ranting and raving and making stupid noises for laughs.His material sucks and when he gets heckled he does not have the quick wit for a comeback.Although she is an absolute idiot i found the time Jordan ripped into him on national TV to be hilarious,he had no reply at all.