Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warning to Bike Sellers

• 14-04-2006 11:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭

Well folks the unimaginable happened, my boyf got his bike nicked while he was trying to sell it...

Duh! I hear you all cry out in unison but I'm posting this to potentially save at least one person from doing the same.

He had the bike in Buy and Sell and got a call about it so he went to meet yer man, youngish bloke, early twenties or so, he had mentioned on the phone he'd got a claim and wanted to buy his first bike with the money.

They met in a car park, bloke seemed ok, stripy jumper, snickers (workman) pants and he was very enthusiastic, said the bike looked good and wasn't too pushed that the fairing was cracked (as that was a big concern of my boyfs, poor bike had a few knocks!)

Well anyhoo stripy jumper guy asks to see it running, so boyfy gives it a lil rip around the car park, stripy jumper guy then asks for a test run...well I'm sure you all know what happens next...stripy jumper guy gives it a rip round the car park and out a pedestrian walkway and doesn’t come back.

Know I don't need anyone telling me how much of an eegit my fella is, no one can make him feel more like a pr!ck than he already does. I'm only posting this so that hopefully it won't happen again to some other poor unfortunate.

Oh yeah its his birthday next week, anyone giving away a bike I'd be delighted to take it off your hands and cheer up a very miserable individual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

I wouldn't say giving away, but i do have one for cheap. mind you its only a 125cc

Sorry to hear about that. Guess you can't trust anyone these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭jimmidy_cricket

Ah thanks very much Doodee. I doubt he'll get another bike as we're going travelling in a few months and this has already put a spanner in the works, actually I offered to postpone the travels and I'd buy him a bike for his b-day (jokingly) and the lil bolix thought about it before I gave him a dig! Some cheek wha?!:rolleyes:

Well if its a case we're not going until the end of the year I might take you up on the offer for myself, I was looking at NSR's last year but my sis got a bros 400 so I decided I'd borrow that on her, unfortunately that was robbed two months ago and if I'm not leaving this country in the near future I'll be dammed if I have to drive in it! So I'll let you know, we'll be looking at our financials and budget etc. over the next week or so and if he decides to get another bike then I will too and I'll PM you if thats ok?

Cheers very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

Sorry to hear about the bike. Just if people dont know. If you are going to let someone else drive your bike when selling. Get a deposit first and/or the keys to their working mode of transport. If neather are there. Then dont let them near it.

I have knowen that to happen to a few people. As well as one lad buying a bike, taking it out and it wasn't road worthy and he ended up droping it on a turn (tires where bauld and brakes worn out)

Best of luck to him/you getting a new bike.

sutty wrote:
    taking it out and it wasn't road worthy and he ended up droping it on a turn (tires where bauld and brakes worn out)

Oh Sh!t, thats the kind of thing that'd happen to me!

First thing I asked him was 'why didn't you get a deposit off him?' and he sorrily replied that he just didn't think...bless:rolleyes: His reasoning was that theres no way in hell he'd buy a bike without test driving it and I guess he was giving yer man the benefit of the doubt, seeing as (most) bikers look out for each other when on the road (the acknowledgeing nod etc) he included this little bollix under the same ethos that most NORMAL bikers would behave.

Lesson learned, hope the little fecker wraps himself round a tree though!

And hey, best of luck with your applications for a hot chick for the summer months;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

Sure you never know. If it was reported to the gards he might get it back. Sure the theif might have even been from the same area as where they met up. Often here of places getting raided and stolen bikes being recoved. Mightent be a compleat washout just yet.

hehe and cheers ;)

ps... got any hot female friends? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Another scam to watch out for is the potential buyer turns up on an old bike and when it comes to the test drive time he tells you to take his vehicle and follow him while he test drives the bike just for some piece of mind. The only problem is when you are half way down the road the his bike you are on cuts out and he's off and gone with the your high powered bike.

What was being done in this case by the thief is they use an old bike and just before the turn the corner onto your street they disconnect the fuel line to the carbs so the vehicle starts moves off and then dies when the carbs run dry. :eek:

I believe this happened in Dublin a couple of times last year.

What I usually do when letting people test drive is get them to pay for it first and then let them test it. If they're not happy give them the money back. If they don't like that then no test drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Get a deposit first and/or the keys to their working mode of transport

Be wary of this. Reading the English bike mags a trick is to leave a stolen bike as security or they may leave a fake bank draft. Always insist on cash and also take their drivers license off them as security and if possible some form of utility letter. Can't be too careful with your money and a genuine buyer shouldn't be upset if you explain why you want these

Thanks everyone for your replies, still no joy.
    sutty wrote:
    Sure you never know. If it was reported to the gards he might get it back. Sure the theif might have even been from the same area as where they met up. Often here of places getting raided and stolen bikes being recoved. Mightent be a compleat washout just yet.

He did report to the guards, although he said he was in the shop and when he came out it was gone. He's got every bousy and punk he knows (not personally) out looking for it, or at least keeping an eye out for it.

sutty wrote:
    ps... got any hot female friends? lol.

I've loads but the straight ones wouldn't get up on the back of a bike and the girls that would..they're not straight so that's no good to ye and my sis (who's straight) she'll have her own bike soon so thats no good to ye either..haha sorry..but keep the campaign goin ye never know, a boardsie might apply!

K-TRIC wrote:
    What was being done in this case by the thief is they use an old bike and just before the turn the corner onto your street they disconnect the fuel line to the carbs so the vehicle starts moves off and then dies when the carbs run dry.

Feck sake, is there nothing they'll lower themselves to?!

A friend of mine pointed out that the bloke that nicked the bike could've had a knife on him or whatever and could've been more forceful had my fella not obliged so easily, so I suppose it could've been worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I was reading in BIKE about test drives, they said to take a picture of the guy who's taking the test drive. Al least you'll be able to give that to the cops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Elfish

What make of bike / year was it?

Where was it taken from?

Post up details and there will be more people keeping an eye out.