Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting to fairyhouse Racecourse

• 13-04-2006 9:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭

I managed to get a couple of tickets for the Irish Grand National on Monday :)

Anyway, I will be travelling from Dublin, and I'm just wondering if there are any busses that go to it from the city on racedays? I have never been before, so im not sure what the set up is. The website only gives driving directions, but does not mention public transport.
    If not, the wife can drive the car, but that means she cant drink.

Anyone been before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fr wishy washy

wbailey wrote:
    I managed to get a couple of tickets for the Irish Grand National on Monday :)

Anyway, I will be travelling from Dublin, and I'm just wondering if there are any busses that go to it from the city on racedays? I have never been before, so im not sure what the set up is. The website only gives driving directions, but does not mention public transport.
    If not, the wife can drive the car, but that means she cant drink.

Anyone been before?

Usually there is a Bus service to any Race meeting in the greater Dublin area at the weekends which I'm sure will operate for this meeting, so either a phone call or try their website?(Dublin Bus)'.I think the bus goes from Busarus in Store St

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

I dont think the wrebsite is that good as last timne I was going to leopardstown I couldnt find anything on it, but you could still give it a go. I can tell you that dublin bus do run busses to leopardstown on race meetings so I would be surprised if there was no busses going to fairyhouse,but the only thing that might put me off anybit is just that it's in Meath(but that probably wont make a difference)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Spupotter

Bus Eireann provides a special bus service from Busaras for racemeetings. Tel: 00 353 1 8366111.

Taken from http://www.hri.ie/racing_info/racecourses.asp?CourseID=9

You owe us a good tip!!!

PS if I was you I would get blotto and let her drive - she will get so pissed off listening to you when you are drunk she will let you feck off where ever you want later, just to get you out of her hair - always works for me. If you let her get drunk she will probably want to leave before the thrid last race to "beat the traffic" and "get a taxi" and then you will have to listen to her moan all night about how she went to your stupid racing so you should spend the next day shopping (and spending) to pay her back.....sorry, I'm also married!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭red_bairn

Usually the bus companies stick on services for musical events at either Connolly Station/Tara Station/Heuston station I think so perhaps its the same for the races:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Spupotter wrote:
    PS if I was you I would get blotto and let her drive - she will get so pissed off listening to you when you are drunk she will let you feck off where ever you want later, just to get you out of her hair - always works for me. If you let her get drunk she will probably want to leave before the thrid last race to "beat the traffic" and "get a taxi" and then you will have to listen to her moan all night about how she went to your stupid racing so you should spend the next day shopping (and spending) to pay her back.....sorry, I'm also married!!!!!!

Good advice. I'm writing that down! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

If you decide to drive, use the N2 -take the turning for Ratoath before you hit Ashbourne.

jimmyboy wrote:
    ,but the only thing that might put me off anybit is just that it's in Meath(but that probably wont make a difference)

No it won't make a difference as they go to Naas,Punchestown,Curragh etc in Kildare.:)

yea I thought so

Spupotter wrote:
    Heres an idea DON'T BRING THE WIFE:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

Spupotter wrote:
    Bus Eireann provides a special bus service from Busaras for racemeetings. Tel: 00 353 1 8366111.

Taken from http://www.hri.ie/racing_info/racecourses.asp?CourseID=9

You owe us a good tip!!!

:D:D:D

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭decies

i think we should have a poll is it a good idea to bring the wife - girlfriend to race meetings who has only a passing interest in horseracing??
    You feel you should ask them to come along but you end up having to entertain them when you get there and then after the fourth race " how many races left:o :o:o

decies wrote:
    i think we should have a poll is it a good idea to bring the wife - girlfriend to race meetings who has only a passing interest in horseracing??
    You feel you should ask them to come along but you end up having to entertain them when you get there and then after the fourth race " how many races left:o :o:o

Hehe, it's never a good idea if they are not a racing fan themselves. If you lose, they'll see how much you lose. And if you win, they'll see how much you win and want some of your cash.

My wife happens to be Canadian, so knows absolutley F all about racing. The last time we were going to Leopardstown, I got up early all excited, got my racing post, and spent ages studying form and picking my bets. I made a total profit of €5.50 that day.

She backed a load of horses becuase she liked the silks or something silly and made around €70.... and.. she told everyone in the pub about it

Grrrrr.... I hate when that happens :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Guy I know had the same problem. His wife picked the winner in the last race because she liked the silks but he wouldn't put €20 as she suggested. :rolleyes:

wbailey how did you do getting to fairyhouse. I drove there and I think that must have been the worst traffic in years. I must have been waiting at least an hour and a half. It was terribly organised:mad:

jimmyboy wrote:
    wbailey how did you do getting to fairyhouse. I drove there and I think that must have been the worst traffic in years. I must have been waiting at least an hour and a half. It was terribly organised:mad:

To be honest with you jimmy, the day was a bit of a let down.

I rang bus éireann, and found out that they had busses leaving bus áras at 12.30, which we got on. By the time we got to rathoath, the traffic was unbelieveable. we ended up missing the first 2 races, and I was not a happy camper, as I had PUBLICAN picked out. Then, eventually the driver let us off, and we walked the last 10 or 15 minutes to the track. The traffic was all over the gaff.
    When we got in, the crowd was so big it was actually uncomfortable. I almost lost the wife a few times (not on purpose :p ) I could not get a pint either. Thankfully, we both enjoy a whiskey, so the powers stand came to the resuce. It was very difficult to get bets on, which gave little time to read form, look at the parade ring etc. When the National was on, it was so packed that we could not see a thing, and ended up watching it on the tele. Afterwards the crowd died down a bit and we started to enjoy ourselves a bit more.... I only had one winner in the 2nd last so was down money for the day, where I would have broke even if not for the trafic.

To be honest, I'd rather go to a middle of the road meeting at Leopardstown any day. It was nice to say that I went to the grand national, but I think there were WAY too many people there for to have an enjoyable day. (unless you were loaded, and could pay your way into the quieter areas)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

I feel your pain wbailey, I was offered free tickets but turned them down this year. Last year it took us over 2 hours to get in to the racecourse, we were literally stuck on the one stretch of road for most of that time. I said never again and after hearing that things were much the same this year am glad I didn't go.

If you want a nice relaxed days racing where you can have a drink or two and easily get bets on the Curragh's summer meetings are the way to go, you can't beat a nice hot summers day having a beer and placing a few bets without the crowds, you will usually find at least 1 group race on each Sunday card so the quality of racing is pretty good.

Got to be the worst (major) track for access in the Country.
    I happened to be going to "Witness" there a few years back and was caught on that approach road for over an hour.:(

I get free tickets every year to the paddy power day at Christmas and I thought the crowds were bad. I have gone to every leopardstown meeting since (except last week)and you can't even compare the crowds. I thought I WAS LEAVING EARLY AT !! O'CLOCK BUT i DIDNT GET IN TILL 1:45. It nearly took me about 5 minutes just to get into the tote and then I realised how big the lines were. I have to agree with Masterk when he said the smaller race meeting are better

I've been to Listowel on the Thursday and Friday of the festival in September and it was never too busy. Infact, the crowd was just perfect, and I've been to it for the last three years. It was never too busy, very easy to get a bet on, and very easy to get a drink. It was also very easy to see the race. I'm constantly impressed with the setup at the Listowel racing festival in September. The only thing is, it's well out of the way for you Dublin / Wicklow heads :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Travelled down to Listowel myself last year (from North County Dublin) and have to say it was a great festival. Everything 'sjones' says is true. Will be making the trip again this years.