Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanna beat traffic? Here's how

• 11-04-2006 8:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

Was walking home today around 5:45. An ambulance was overtaking traffic and went through two red lights. All the traffic pulled over and made it easier for the ambulance.

I was suprised to see a boy racer in a Civic driving inches behind the ambulance. My first reaction was cheeky b**stard as he was obviously taking advantage of the situation.

However, as I thought about it, it seemed like a great way to beat traffic.

Any boards members want to admit filtering traffic by following emergency vehicles?
    I'd be interested to know if this an offence. Would a traffic corps guard do anything in this situation?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Course its an offence how could it not... Its dangerous driving, but ambulance obviously can do this

• Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭5500

Maby he was with the injured party and following suit,Ive seen it a few times.

If not he was a cheeky git!

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭Cerdito

Bruce Willis does this in Die Hard 3. He needs to get across New York real quick to defuse a bomb or something, so calls an ambulance, then follows it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

i have seen it a few times like eireal said, but it is defo an offence an the person could be done for careless driving or something like that.and who ever does would be some cheeky a$$hole, as someone could be dying and they think its a joke:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

A few years back I saw a fella try (and fail) to do this:
    Gandhi wrote:
    One day I was sitting in a line of cars stopped at a red light. The sound of sirens is coming from behind us so everyone pulls over to the side to let a fire engine go past.

This one genius at the back of the line decides he'll be a rock star and pull out right after the fire engine, and follow it past the line of pulled-over traffic, thus leapfrogging to the front of the queue.

Problem was, he forgot to look to make sure there was not another fire engine responding to the same fire right behind the first one. There's this almighty whack as the forty-ton fire engine rips the side panels off his car. Then the fire engine had to stop as the cops were called and the mess sorted out. I passed by the same junction again twenty minutes later and the whole melee was still going on.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=50651351&postcount=5

• Registered Users Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I would hope that he was with the people in the ambulance......other wise he someone should have called the guards on him........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

Gandhi wrote:
    A few years back I saw a fella try (and fail) to do this:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=50651351&postcount=5

so the lesson is never think you are superman, like this guy he thought he would be cool but it didnot work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭comanche

micmclo wrote:
    Was walking home today around 5:45. An ambulance was overtaking traffic and went through two red lights. All the traffic pulled over and made it easier for the ambulance.

I was suprised to see a boy racer in a Civic driving inches behind the ambulance. My first reaction was cheeky b**stard as he was obviously taking advantage of the situation.

However, as I thought about it, it seemed like a great way to beat traffic.

Any boards members want to admit filtering traffic by following emergency vehicles?
    I'd be interested to know if this an offence. Would a traffic corps guard do anything in this situation?

Done quiet regularly in the states – called ambulance chasing (does exactly what it says on the tin)

quiet illegal also!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

eireal wrote:
    Maby he was with the injured party and following suit,Ive seen it a few times.

I followed an ambulance at high speeds & through dublin city centre, but only as the injured party was a close relative. Other than that I'd never dream of doing it and it is a criminal offence, AFAIK the driver of the ambulance would generally report it back to base by radio and the Garda are called.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭prospect

comanche wrote:
    called ambulance chasing

I thought this is where lawyers pursue injured people in hospitals, and at accident scenes, so they can make a few bob from potential lawsuits?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

prospect wrote:
    I thought this is where lawyers pursue injured people in hospitals, and at accident scenes, so they can make a few bob from potential lawsuits?

Yeah, so did I

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭comanche

prospect wrote:

yeah you're right - do'h

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 RedBelly

I’ve seen it in limerick. The ambulance was going away from the hospital. so I’d guess the person was doing it to beat the traffic.

It’s a two fingers to people who are doing their duty to get out of the way of an ambulance to help someone who is seriously ill. You’d want to be shamless to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

Lads & Lassies,
    As a serving paramedic with the HSE, I can tell ye that it is an offence to follow an ambulance like this. We always tell relatives not to follow us if we're transporting their relative on blue lights. It's dangerous enough for us let alone civvie drivers. Also bearing in mind the consequences if ye were to crash whilst following us. Ye wouldn't have a leg to stand on. I would, like my colleagues report someone if we noticed that they were doing this. Most people will listen to the advice we give them but you will always get the smart arse who's not related see us pass by & try & duck around the traffic.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,020 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Was escorted to the Coombe recently by a garda car in rush hour traffic. Read here...
    Heading down the Naas Rd from the red cow in rush hour @ >80mph - happiest day of my life!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

kbannon wrote:
    happiest day of my life!!!

For the 'new baby' reasons, of course Kbannon :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

could it have been a relative in the car behind??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I've seen on two occasions a driver stay in FRONT of an ambulance on the M11/M50 to take advantage of the traffic clearing a path!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

I've seen on two occasions a driver stay in FRONT of an ambulance on the M11/M50 to take advantage of the traffic clearing a path!

I've overtaken ambulances on blue lights on the M1 a couple of times. They don't seem to go faster than 65-70mph.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

oh, I'm sorry, I picked up this wrong, this is what I use....

DSCF0286.JPG

or, occasionally, this....

Dscf0287_1.jpg

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

galwaytt wrote:
    oh, I'm sorry, I picked up this wrong, this is what I use....

DSCF0286.JPG

or, occasionally, this....

Dscf0287_1.jpg

:D Exactly, the only real way to beat traffic