Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Something to do May Bank Holiday weekend

• 10-04-2006 11:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

I've got friends coming from England on the May bank hol weekend and I'm trying to think of something fun and different to do with them. I was kinda hoping to stick to the eastern side of the country but could be persuaded to leave the pale and its surroundings (easily enough!). Anyone got any ideas? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

There's the Field... well, it's not a really a field, it's just got less rocks than everywhere else!

Ah no, i kid!

Are they young or old?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 CMF

We are all in mid 20s... female. there will be four of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Got someplace to stay?.... ah no, i kid again! :D

Not too sure - fun and different... paintball? I'm really bad at this! :D

Clubbing..? (not exactly different..)

Ice-skating..? (there's probably still an ice-rink open somewhere right)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Wexford is great at Easter, always something on. Try www.gulliver.ie for somewhere to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Guru Maith Agut

CMF wrote:
    I've got friends coming from England on the May bank hol weekend and I'm trying to think of something fun and different to do with them. I was kinda hoping to stick to the eastern side of the country but could be persuaded to leave the pale and its surroundings (easily enough!). Anyone got any ideas? ;)

Well considering this is your first post, if you are prepared to put in the time it takes to post regularly and add your valued opinion as often as you can to topics from Jesus LOL to the darker regions of our neighbourhood thgen I'm sure we'll all give you some cracking suggestions! ;)

Hmmm never stayed in Wexford before - could be interesting thanks Kiera...

Basquille thanks as well, do have somewhere to stay (live IN ireland) paint balling could be fun - ice-skating a no-no, last and only time i went broke my ankle... lack the co-ordination necessary for such activities...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭ciaran76

I have a job which allows me access to internet all day, i am never particulary busy so if guys turn out to be fun i could become a regular post-er... it really is up to ye!

Like horses? This is always a good day out and its really different if you haven't done it before.. :D

yeah was thinking of that but they don't have any fixtures on the bank hol weekend... pity cos I went to the dog races in dundalk friends recently, was on antibiotics so couldn't even have a pint but had the best night have had in a long time... recommend it...

CMF wrote:
    yeah was thinking of that but they don't have any fixtures on the bank hol weekend...

So what's this? Scotch mist... :rolleyes:

Event Title: Easter Festival at Fairyhouse Racecourse
    Description: Featuring The Powers Gold Label Irish Grand National on Easter Monday 17th April 2006. Fairyhouse is the home of Ireland’s premier National Hunt race, the Powers Gold Label Irish Grand National, held every year on Easter Monday.

Venue: Fairyhouse Racecourse
    Date Start: 16 April, 2006
    Date End: 18 April, 2006
    Recurrence: Annually

Hmmm yeah - but my friends are coming over the May Bank hol weekend which is different from Easter... 28th april - 1st may.

So what's this? Scotch mist... :rolleyes:
    Guess so :D

CMF wrote:
    Hmmm yeah - but my friends are coming over the May Bank hol weekend which is different from Easter... 28th april - 1st may.

Ah yes sorry, my mistake... Guess I didn't read to well :o

I'm sure I'll think of something else soon. ;)

Kiera wrote:
    Guess so :D

Ah I'm just trying to get her Post count up :p

Aw arent you kind! Try being less of a smartass and you might get some facts right ;)

What exactly is a "post count" and why would i want it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭DamoKen

CMF wrote:
    yeah was thinking of that but they don't have any fixtures on the bank hol weekend... pity cos I went to the dog races in dundalk friends recently, was on antibiotics so couldn't even have a pint but had the best night have had in a long time... recommend it...

are you based in Dundalk or Dublin? reason I ask is that a good night out is the dog races down at Shelborne Park, great on a nice weekend, races are from 7pm (I think, anyone correct me if I'm wrong), think the last is 10pm, 10 races in all, or it was at least up until last year, haven't been there since last summer. Be a good way anyway to start your Saturday night, something different and fun, head up into town afterwards and show them around a few bars etc. Have you got a car to bring them out anywhere?

Hmmm am based in dublin - but have a car... so might look up shelbourne. Thanks DamoKen.

CMF wrote:
    What exactly is a "post count" and why would i want it up?

Your post count is the amount of times you have replied to a thread (what your typing about now) and the more times you post the less of a noob (new user) you become and so you become part of the community.

does it take long to learn this new language?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭DamoKen

CMF wrote:
    Hmmm am based in dublin - but have a car... so might look up shelbourne. Thanks DamoKen.
    no worries, few other things you could do as you have a car, and depending or whether they'd be interested in history, places of interest etc. You could do a trip up the Boyne Valley, easy to take in New Grange, Hill of Tara and stop off at Trim for lunch as well as check out the castle. Alternatively go the other way, on a nice day the Dublin/Wicklow mountains make for a great drive, stopping of places like Glendalough etc, up the Blue Light for a pint and great views of the city. If you'd more time I'd say go for broke and head out west, can't go wrong starting from West Cork on ;)

CMF wrote:

Ah no. You'll be fluent in no time. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

CMF wrote:
    C4n y0u r34d 7h15 ?
    Can you read this ?

edit
    No worries, you'll get it in no time.
    By the way, Galway is always nice if you decide on a few hours journey.
    More info here -> http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=475

Yeah love galway - went to college there... I've brought these girls there before (many times) so i don't want to be accused of being unimaginative (even though I am hence the post)....

Well, I like this place, but it's out of your way (outside Enniskillen). Or the Ring of Kerry? Both a bit of a drive but if you have several days a road trip could be fun? Go counter clockwise, Belfast, Enniskillen, Donegal, Galway, Kerry..

Not out of my way at all actually! will be in the cavan region for some of the weekend! very good idea biko - was there years ago and loved it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

War of the Worlds: The Musical is playing in the Point that weekend.

Just check that the caves are open. Close to Ennniskillen is also Bushmills whiskey distillery, Derry and Giant's Causeway. I was in Derry a week ago, got myself a new pair of hillwalking boots for £10, good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

Yea, I love the Marble Arch Caves too. Been a few times & can't wait to go back.

Been in quite a few caves in different countries & these caves are up there with the best of them.

Also (though not sure if you're into this sort of thing, but:- I also love the Ulster-American Folk Park in Omagh:- all the old houses of the famine, old schools, churches, old coffin ship, then the new world of America & the houses they built over there. All the guides are dressed in typical clothing & they make products of that time.
    I really love that sort of stuff so I've been there 5 or 6 times, but maybe it's not everyones cup of tea.

Think you can also do this, but not sure:-
    Hire a boat for a day, get training & then navigate youself along the Erne Waterways (Enniskillen). could be fun, never done it myself though.
    Think I saw it on telly before, but don't know any details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭deedee lepoopoo

[

Also (though not sure if you're into this sort of thing, but:- I also love the Ulster-American Folk Park in Omagh:- all the old houses of the famine, old schools, churches, old coffin ship, then the new world of America & the houses they built over there. All the guides are dressed in typical clothing & they make products of that time.
    I really love that sort of stuff so I've been there 5 or 6 times, but maybe it's not everyones cup of tea.

The Ulster-American Folk Park is brillo and the actors in the house REALLY get into their parts. When I was there my niece asked 'what is that sack in the corner?' and I said 'that's where the people used to sleep' and the woman in the house said, 'no, that's where we DO sleep'....:eek:

Brilliant! yeah was there on a school tour once years ago...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

If you're looking for someone to do over the may bank holiday weekend I'm available. If not, you could always go karting, it's great craic. I'm on the west of the country so I've no idea where you'd go to do it, there is a great track in Galway though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

[
    The Ulster-American Folk Park is brillo and the actors in the house REALLY get into their parts. When I was there my niece asked 'what is that sack in the corner?' and I said 'that's where the people used to sleep' and the woman in the house said, 'no, that's where we DO sleep'....:eek:
    Oh that sounds interesting. There used to be something similiar in Dublin many years ago showing how the Vikings lived.

I was there with friends and one of them kept asking the locals "where in the crib the magic happened?" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭deedee lepoopoo

Oh that sounds interesting. There used to be something similiar in Dublin many years ago showing how the Vikings lived.

Yeah, St .Audeons Church, went there on a school tour once. Great Craic. You went down a 'time machine' (a lift) and came out in 'Vikingland'. There was what I thought was a mannequin man and I tweeked the nosehair sticking out of his nose and he jumped up and frightened the bejayseus of out all the 5th class students. He then took us around his 'village' and we were talking to all the locals.

One of the actors had 20 carrolls hanging out of his britches - didn't know they had carrolls in viking times!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

Limerick Riverfest

...and "Streetstyle"

Depends what your into I suppose but that'll be good craic lots of people .........mad, young ,students ,clubs ,old etc........... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

Limerick Riverfest

...and "Streetstyle"

Depends what your into I suppose but that'll be good craic lots of people .........mad, young ,students ,clubs ,old etc........... :D