Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A tip for qualiying for the WSOP.

• 10-04-2006 1:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭

DO Play the €16 Double shootouts on PokeStars. Win one and get into the $650 qualifier on Sunday, but even if you do keep playing them. A lot of the time the payouts at the final table are enough for atlaest 4-5 more entries to double shootouts, and the players are really really ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

do you mean the $160 ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

robinlacey wrote:
    do you mean the $160 ones?

No. $15+1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

NickyOD wrote:
    No. $15+1

That's how moneymaker got there with a grand total of $36 to his name at the time. He wanted to do a deal for the money instead of taking his seat at the wsop since he was so skint but his mate convinced him otherwise, good job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jacQues

NickyOD wrote:
    DO Play the €16 Double shootouts on PokeStars. Win one and get into the $650 qualifier on Sunday, but even if you do keep playing them. A lot of the time the payouts at the final table are enough for atlaest 4-5 more entries to double shootouts, and the players are really really ****e.
    What did you do to me?

I just played one. It started heads-up...which I won. Then a 10 player freeze-out, where I ended up being the chip-leader heads-up and agreed to split the money. But instead of $350 I got W$350?!? Now what do I do with that?

The support staff Matt was very kind and friendly and explained it to me. But it seems W$350.00 is only worth $297.50! :eek:

Anyone here who gives me a better rate? Or can I maybe use it to pay for the team event?

jacQues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

jacQues wrote:
    What did you do to me?

I just played one. It started heads-up...which I won. Then a 10 player freeze-out, where I ended up being the chip-leader heads-up and agreed to split the money. But instead of $350 I got W$350?!? Now what do I do with that?

The support staff Matt was very kind and friendly and explained it to me. But it seems W$350.00 is only worth $297.50! :eek:

Anyone here who gives me a better rate? Or can I maybe use it to pay for the team event?

jacQues

You can use them to but into any satellite event for face value. Otherwise you can sell them $297.50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭loosecannon

nicky thanks for the head's up, always appreciate advice on where player's think that the best value games/satellite's are

trawling through 20 different online sites trying to see the best method to get there can be very very frustrating, (as there are so many different type's of feeder's/satellite's/step's etc that get u there) but i agree with you about those double shootout's on stars, very nice format

also Full Tilt's Monday night qualifier is brilliant, $1,000, so 1 in 12 go with an average of 5 seats each week, not suggesting u pay the $1,000 but they run very soft $24+$2 and $69+$6 satellites to the $1,000 satellite, i reckon it's prob one of the best on the net

anyway thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Read this post yesterday so I decided to play one last night.
    67 runners came 3rd overall :(

I assume I made a ****x of this hand that put out me out?
    3 left, was in 2nd place (SB) with 5,800 chips (table 15,000)
    holding A,3 suited.
    Blinds 200/400 and so I raised to 1,200.
    BB (chip leader, steady player with 7,500 chips) flat called, dealer folded.
    Flop 3,4,4 and I raised 1,200, BB called.
    Turn 8 (no possible flush) and I bet 1,800.
    BB raises all in and I call.
    He turns over K,K and I'm out :(
    (no money difference between finishing 5th to 2nd).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

always appreciate advice on where player's think that the best value games/satellite's are

trawling through 20 different online sites trying to see the best method to get there can be very very frustrating

I haven't seen an easier way to get there than following my signature.... and that's good advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Culchie wrote:
    I haven't seen an easier way to get there than following my signature.... and that's good advice.

Culchie,

Haven't been on the site but meaning to try it for a while. What kind of numbers are playing these qualifiers. Would you be waiting for a while to get in or do they fill up fairly quick ?

Ta.

Go on after 10pm Irish time and you won't be waiting too long.

The players are truly truly atrocious, and it would be quite easy for a boardster (imo) to get there. Look at jumping in at the $7 level, there's plenty of second chances for your money (see sig).

There's plenty play with a nice blind structure.

The lobby interface isn't great I know.:o .... but when you get used to the playing interface, I think it's very good.....but I would say that wouldn't I?:)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Culchie wrote:
    The players are truly truly atrocious, and it would be quite easy for a boardster (imo) to get there. Look at jumping in at the $7 level, there's plenty of second chances for your money (see sig).

When did you win your ticket to the WSOP then Mick? :p

If you are not allowed to play on your own skin then I have wasted a very pointed question on you. Sorry for that.

5starpool wrote:
    When did you win your ticket to the WSOP then Mick? :p

If you are not allowed to play on your own skin then I have wasted a very pointed question on you. Sorry for that.

Yeh Hard Luck Dom, alas, it was wasted .... I'll probably see you in the Fitz later, so you've about another 2 hours idea to think of another question.... I know that since your samsonsesque #1 haircut, thinking on the spot isn't your strong point:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

Culchie wrote:
    Yeh Hard Luck Dom, alas, it was wasted .... I'll probably see you in the Fitz later, so you've about another 2 hours idea to think of another question.... I know that since your samsonsesque #1 haircut, thinking on the spot isn't your strong point:p

*cough*

*cough*

*couBLUFFERgh*

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Culchie wrote:

Unfortunately you will have to do without my razor sharp wit this evening.