Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running a commercial business from home?

• 09-04-2006 8:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭

Just wondering who I contact in relation to my neighbour....basically to cut a long story short he has four hi-Ace vans parked outside both his and my house as well as his car.......his staff are also leaving their vehicles outside the house whilst they go off in one of the vans.....having checked the vans for tax and insurance he only has one set which he swaps over pending on what vehicle he is driving.....the outside of our home looks like a knackers yard :(:( and I am getting tired of having to ask his staff to move their cars from outside my home so that my husband can park up his car too! I do not know what he is transporting as the vehicles are always empty so God knows it doesnt seem legal!
    To add more fuel to the fire this neighbour is a non national claiming benefit!
    I am again just wondering who do i contact to report this annoymously.....the department of transport??
    I do not wish to report him for benefit fraud as my issue lies only with his quantity of vehicles parked idle outside my home and on our green area?

Thanks in advance for any advice/answers you can offer as I realise this is not for legal purposes.....my question is purely from a personal stance...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

If tax is out of date, it's an offence to have a vehicle with no tax on a public highway (whether driving it or not) so report to gardai and they could impound said vehicles.

Also changing use of premises (i.e. from a house to business) is in contravention of the planning and development act so you can get an enforcement notice served by council.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

thanks Gabhain!
    But could i supposedly do either without actual proof and without giving my name? Would it be a special deparment in Fingal County Council I contact?No offence to the gardai but i have not a lot of confidence in them at the moment Id say they would find my complaint miniscule......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

having checked the vans for tax and insurance he only has one set which he swaps over pending on what vehicle he is driving

This is fraud of the highest order. The Gardai would be very interested in this. BTW reporting him for no tax on the vans is one of the most effective ways of getting rid of the problem, this came form a very reputable Garda. :D

thanks again for all the advice on the matter.......may take down the registrations and phone up gardai then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭TempestSabre

Good luck with that. I rang the guards about a car with no tax, NCT or insurance that was parked dangerously at the corner of our road (blocking sightlines of traffic exiting our road). They never did anything about it. It still appears from time to time, and over a period of 2yrs its never been taxed, insured or had an NCT. I suspect the owner drives to our road, then hops on a bus somewhere. As it never stays overnight.

You ring the customs and excise to get them to dip the vans for green diesel. Always a winner too.

Whats green diesel?I know he has a tank at the back of his house where he stores "red" diesel-again I have no actual proof.....what a seemingly crooked character I live beside!!!!:eek:

TempestSabre I would have to say that your experience with gardai is one I would anticipate:( ....we will see if 4 vans are of more interest to them:rolleyes:

Red Diesel/Green Diesel much the same thing. It can't be used in road vehicles. Comes under the remit of the Customs and Excise. They have the power to seize vehicles. They don't need any proof from the to come out and have a look.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Back on topic please. If you want to discuss illegal petroleum by-production, do so in another thread. Thanks. By the way, watch that you don't defame anyone bohsboy. I wouldn't like to have to explain that one to DeVore.