Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heads Up Tournament

• 07-04-2006 10:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭

Can we do this again, it was great fun last time around.... The Boards Heads Up Tournament

Pokerstars?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'll go for it if it is played on stars....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

im in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Actually, I shouldn't have even mentioned Stars as it doesn't matter, as long as the two opponents agree.

It was great stuff last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

Im up for it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Go on then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Ye sounds like a great idea, it was the only event I missed at last years BCOOP, so I'd love to have a go..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

Sounds great I'd be up for it.

May I suggest a format: I think the recent NBC heads up championship was great where there was 64 players alotted into four groups clubs,diamonds,hearts and spades. This way there will be a bit more banter between players on which group is better and people can take bets on which group the winner comes from. It will also work well with 32 players.
    Maybe the first 2-3 rounds can be online and than as we get closer to the winner have them live somewhere.

Something like this.

Hawk Eye wrote:
    Sounds great I'd be up for it.

May I suggest a format: I think the recent NBC heads up championship was great where there was 64 players alotted into four groups clubs,diamonds,hearts and spades. This way there will be a bit more banter between players on which group is better and people can take bets on which group the winner comes from. It will also work well with 32 players.
    Maybe the first 2-3 rounds can be online and than as we get closer to the winner have them live somewhere.

Something like this.

Sounds great.
    It would have to be a fully online tournament so that all the boardsters can play, not just the Jackeens:)

banter won't be a problem round here:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

i'm in!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Can we have a 'blind omaha' tournament? I would be a strong favourite in that, but who knows, luck may play a small part and deny me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

Im In. I've never played in one of the boards events, so would you let me know what to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Please, I would only play live though.. :)

Im In. I've never played in one of the boards events, so would you let me know what to do.

Ok,but first you will have to transfer me $500,I take netteller.Its kind of like a insinuation test.

Do not jeopardize this test by listing to other members telling you..

A)Not to give me money

B)Telling you to give them money.

Samba wrote:
    Please, I would only play live though.. :)

No, that would give you an unfair advantage:D

You can nominate your teddy to play online in your place if you wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I'm in - like Pee Flynn.

Paul, what is the story with the boards poker World Cup sweepstakes? I think we need to get cracking with this, I want the Czechs!

ionapaul wrote:
    Paul, what is the story with the boards poker World Cup sweepstakes? I think we need to get cracking with this, I want the Czechs!

I was going to bump it up over the weekend,I may do it today.

Ionapaul - serial thread hijacker :D

OK, let's do the World Cup thingy first, and then after Easter do a Heads Up Championship again.

Muso might do up one of his sign up pages? :o

Whats the story with the world cup sweepstakes? What way are the teams to be decided. Are we going to play an online tourney with the winner having first choice and so on or what way is it going to be sorted out.

In relation to the heads up, im sure we can play the semis and final live as it bound to be only the Dubs left at this stage!!!!!!!!

Let's keep this thread on topic people, here's the latest Sweep thread:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054914429

Iceman78 wrote:
    Whats the story with the world cup sweepstakes? What way are the teams to be decided. Are we going to play an online tourney with the winner having first choice and so on or what way is it going to be sorted out.

We are going to have a MTT with the winner getting first pick and so on,if you don't play we will do a draw for your team.It should be a good MTT some very good players and a lot of bragging rights,not that anybody on this site likes to brag.

Dub13 wrote:
    We are going to have a MTT with the winner getting first pick and so on,if you don't play we will do a draw for your team.It should be a good MTT some very good players and a lot of bragging rights,not that anybody on this site likes to brag.

I have noticed that everyone on here is very shy and unassuming. Am sure there wont be any bragging from the winner at all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Lads count me in should be good fun missed out last year but defo this year fancy my chances!!haha:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I'm in for this, and I nominate Culchie to do all the donkey work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

What am I replying to here? If it's the heads-up game, then I'm in.

lafortezza wrote:
    Seconded :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭The Ace Face

i'm in

Ray

lafortezza wrote:

Yes good idea,if you need a hand mick just drop me a line.

I'll put up a signup sticky here in the Tournaments forum. Maybe use this thread for sorting out the dates, how it'll work and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I'm game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 hoolamoppa

i'm in culchie, let me know the craic:D

make sure you 've signed up in the sticky thread, not this one! This is just for decding structures and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Legend_DIT

Any idea when registration for the tourny will end and the 1st round draw be made....?

When we get 64 perhaps?

Legend_DIT wrote:
    Any idea when registration for the tourny will end and the 1st round draw be made....?

When we get 64 perhaps?

I'll leave that up to Lafort.....whenever he closes the thread. I guess if we gave it until Fridayweek, whoever hasn't signed up by then has no excuses.

We'll do a draw then and have a 'finish by' date for each round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭tap28

if you still need numbers, i'm your man or atleast your fish.

if the two players agree can you play on any site?

Culchie wrote:
    I'll leave that up to Lafort.....whenever he closes the thread. I guess if we gave it until Fridayweek, whoever hasn't signed up by then has no excuses.

We'll do a draw then and have a 'finish by' date for each round
    Friday 21st seems fair, I'll update the stickied thread.
    I don't think we can limit the numbers that would be a bit unfair to anyone who forgot/missed sticking their name down.
    If we have an odd number of players we can just give byes to later rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

It would be nice to get 64 so some jammy b'stards dont get bye's into the second round. Think we are touching up on 50 now so hopefully we'll get it

tap28 wrote:
    if you still need numbers, i'm your man or atleast your fish.

if the two players agree can you play on any site?

Any site at all, as long as you both agree

gerire wrote:
    It would be nice to get 64 so some jammy b'stards dont get bye's into the second round. Think we are touching up on 50 now so hopefully we'll get it

I predict we'll be nearer to 100 than 64 by the time Friday week comes along.

Culchie wrote:
    I predict we'll be nearer to 100 than 64 by the time Friday week comes along.
    If we got a nice round 64/100/128 number it would make doing the structure and matchups much easier.

We'll get the mathematicians on the job if we don't get 64 or 138 :)

Them fancy interweb machines that throw out all them percentages will do the job methinks.